Dore, Derbyshire Genealogy
Guide to Dore, Derbyshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
Dore Christ Church Sheffield
|Poor Law Union||Ecclesall Bierlow|
|Registration District||Ecclesall Bierlow|
|Parish registers: 1738|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1809|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop of Lichfield (Episcopal Consistory)|
|Location of Archive|
|Derbyshire Record Office|
Parish History[edit | edit source]
Dore Christ Church is an Ecclesiastical Parish in the county of Derbyshire, created in 1720 from chapelry in Dronfield, Derbyshire Ancient Parish. Other places in the parish include: Totley.
DORE, a chapelry, in the parish of Dronfield, union of Ecclesall-Bierlow, hundred of Scarsdale, N. division of the county of Derby, 5 miles (S. W.) from Sheffield.
Resources[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Church records[edit | edit source]
Dore Chapelry and parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials have online indexes by the following groups:
|FS PR's =FamilySearch Parish Registers|
|Dore Chalpelry and Parish Online Records|
|FS PR's|| NONE
To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes
Dore includes the township of Totley and was originally a chapelry within Dronfield, Derbyshire but was formed as a parish in 1844.
Transferred to the city of Sheffield in 1928 and 1933 and became a part of Sheffield Diocese in 1975
Derbyshire Record Office reference D2441 has deposited registers Bap 1738-1814 Subsequent registers were deposited at Sheffield Archives
Non-Conformist Churches[edit | edit source]
Census records[edit | edit source]
Probate records[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Derbyshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]
Contributor: Add information about the pertinent poor law unions in the area.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Websites[edit | edit source]
Dore on GENUKI
References[edit | edit source]
- Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848), pp. 69-78. Date accessed: 30 June 2013.