To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Dorchester St Peter, Dorset Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Dorchester St Peter

Guide to Dorchester St Peter, Dorset ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Dorchester St Peter, Dorset
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Dorchester Borough
County Dorset
Poor Law Union Dorchester
Registration District Dorchester
Records begin
Parish registers: 1559
Bishop's Transcripts: 1739
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Dorchester
Diocese Salisbury
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Dorset
Location of Archive
Dorset Record Office

Parish History[edit | edit source]

Dorcester (St Peter): The town of Dorchester is divided into three parishes, viz., All Saints, commonly called All Hallows, St. Peter's, and the Holy Trinity,[1].

Dorchester.-- capital of county, municipal borough, and market town, Dorset, on river Frome, 8 miles N. of Weymouth and 138 miles SW. of London by rail, 635 ac., pop. 7567; P.O., T.O., 4 Banks, 3 newspapers.[2]

Resources[edit | edit source]

Civil Registration[edit | edit source]

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records[edit | edit source]

Dorchester St Peter parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FS PRs = England, Dorset, Parish Registers, 1538-2001 (FamilySearch) - free
FS = FamilySearch - free
OPC = Dorset Online Parish Clerks - free
ANC 1 = Dorset, England, Church of England Baptisms, Marriages and Burials, 1538-1812 (Ancestry) - ($)
ANC 2 = Dorset, England, Church of England Records (Ancestry) - ($)
FMP = Dorset Baptisms, Marriages, Burials (FindMyPast) - ($)
MyH PRs = England, Dorset, Parish Registers, 1538-1936 (MyHeritage) - ($)
JOIN = The Joiner Marriage Index - ($)
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[3]
FS Catalog PRs = FamilySearch Catalog Parish registers - free
FS Catalog BTs = FamilySearch Catalog Bishop's transcripts - free
Dorchester St Peter Online Parish Records
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS PRs 1538-2001
1538-2001
1538-2001
FS 1538-1975
1538-1973
1538-1991
OPC 1653-1885
1653-1890
1436-1882
ANC 1 1538-1812
1538-1812
1538-1812
ANC 2 1813-1906
1813-1921
1813-2010
FMP 1653-1723
1653-1937
1653-1812
MyH PRs 1538-1936
1538-1936
1538-1936
JOIN

1730-1837


IGI



FS Catalog PRs


FS Catalog BTs


To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Census records[edit | edit source]

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.


Probate records[edit | edit source]

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Dorset Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., Topographical Dictionary of England, publ. London: 1848. Date accessed: 06 July 2103.
  2. John Bartholomew., Gazetteer of the British Isles, publ. London and Edinburgh: 1887. Date accessed: 06 July 2103.
  3. ArcherSoftware.co.uk