Dorchester, Oxfordshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Dorchester, Oxfordshire)
Jump to: navigation, search
England
Oxfordshire
Oxfordshire Parishes
Dorchester


Guide to Dorchester, Oxfordshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
Dorchester, Oxfordshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Dorchester
County Oxfordshire
Poor Law Union Wallingford
Registration District Abingdon; Wallingford
Records begin
Parish registers: 1638
Bishop's Transcripts: 1602; 1624; 1661
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Cuddesdon
Diocese Oxford
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Peculiar of Dorchester; Court of the Peculiar of Banbury
Location of Archive
Oxfordshire Record Office

Parish History

DORCHESTER (St. Peter and St. Paul), a parish, and formerly a market-town, in the union of Wallingford, hundred of Dorchester, county of Oxford, 4 miles (N. W. by N.) from Wallingford. [1] Includes Burcott.

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Dorchester, Oxfordshire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[2]
OFHS = Oxfordshire Family History Society - (£). Results delivered by email.[3]
Dorchester, Oxfordshire Genealogy Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
IGI 1742-1814 1742-1816
OFHS 1638-1961
1639-1955
1638-1999

Burcott registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

Burcott Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
IGI 1660-1737 1660-1737


Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Oxfordshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Reference

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 69-78. Date accessed: 18 September 2012.
  2. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Oxford, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 16 January 2014.
  3. 'OFHS Parish Records Date Finder,', Oxfordshire Family History Society, accessed 24 January 2014.