To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Donley County, Texas Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Donley County Texas ancestry, family history, and genealogy research page. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.


TX ORP.png



Donley County, Texas
Map
Map of Texas highlighting Donley County
Location in the state of Texas
Map of the U.S. highlighting Texas
Location of Texas in the U.S.
Facts
Founded 21 August, 1876
County Seat Clarendon
Courthouse
TexasDonleyCourthouse.jpg
Address Donley County Courthouse
300 S Sally
Clarendon, TX 79226
Adopt-a-wiki page
Hiddenancestorslogo.JPG This page adopted by:
Hidden Ancestors
who welcome you to contribute.
User:Evancol
Adopt a page today


County Information[edit | edit source]


County Courthouse[edit | edit source]

Donley County Courthouse
300 S Sally
Clarendon, TX 79226
Phone: 806.874.3436

County Clerk has birth records from 1877,
marriage and land recordsfrom 1882,
death records from 1903, probate records from
1923 and military discharge records from 1919[1]


The current Donley County courthouse, a Romanesque Revival design building,  was opened in November 1891. The courthouse was restored in 2003. It is the oldest functioning courthouse in the Texas Panhandle and is a recorded Texas Historic Landmark. [2]

Donley County Courthouse
300 S. Sully
Clarendon, TX 79226


County Clerk
PO Drawer U
Courthouse Annex
Clarendon, TX 79226
(806) 874-3436
FAX (806) 874-3351
Donley County Government website

Donley County, Texas Record Dates[edit | edit source]

Known Beginning Dates for Major County Records[3]
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1877 1882 1903 1882 1882 1923 1829
Statewide registration for births and deaths began in 1903. General compliance by the 1930s.


History[edit | edit source]

1882--Originally named Wegefarth County and organized in 1882, the county was renamed Donley.

Parent County[edit | edit source]

1876--Donley County was created 21 August 1876 from Bexar Land District, but was not organized until 1882. [4]

  • County seat: Clarendon [5]

Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]

Record Loss[edit | edit source]

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Places/Localities[edit | edit source]

Populated Places[edit | edit source]

For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit Hometown Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:[6]

Cities
Unincorporated communities


Neighboring Counties[edit | edit source]

Armstrong  • Briscoe  • Carson  • Collingsworth  • Gray  • Hall  • Wheeler

Resources[edit | edit source]

African American[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries[edit | edit source]

Cemetery records often reveal birth, marriage, death, relationship, military, and religious information.

Tombstone Transcriptions Online Tombstone Transcriptions in Print List of Cemeteries in the county
FindAGrave Family History Library FindAGrave
Linkpendium WorldCat Tombstone Project
BillionGraves (name) Cemeteries of TX
GenWeb Archives Texas Cemeteries
BillionGraves TX Gravestones
TXGenWeb Epodunk
Names in Stone Interment
See Texas Cemeteries for more information.

Census[edit | edit source]

Historical populations
Census Pop.
1880160
18901,056560.0%
19002,756161.0%
19105,28491.7%
19208,03552.1%
193010,26227.7%
19407,487−27.0%
19506,216−17.0%
19604,449−28.4%
19703,641−18.2%
19804,07511.9%
19903,696−9.3%
20003,8283.6%
20103,677−3.9%



Church[edit | edit source]

Baptist[edit | edit source]

Calvary Baptist Church 806-874-3156
Highway 287, Clarendon TX 79226

First Baptist Church 806-874-3833
300 South Bugbee, Clarendon TX 79226

First Baptist Church 806-874-3326
222 Sherwood Blvd, Clarendon TX 79226

First Baptist Church 806-856-5370
Main Street, Hedley TX 79237


Christian[edit | edit source]

First Christian Church 806-874-3212
120 East 3rd, Clarendon TX 79226


Church Of Christ[edit | edit source]

Church of Christ 806-874-2495
300 South Carhart, Clarendon, TX y79226


Methodist[edit | edit source]

First United Methodist Church 806-874-3367
420 South Jefferson, Clarendon TX 79226

Court[edit | edit source]

Land[edit | edit source]

After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions, including deeds and mortgages, have been recorded by the county. You can obtain copies of these land records by writing to the county clerk at the county courthouse. For more information, see Texas Land and Property.

The FamilySearch Catalog lists microfilm copies of deeds, trust deeds, and mortgages of many counties.


Naturalization and Citizenship[edit | edit source]

Local Histories[edit | edit source]

Local histories are available for Donley County, Texas Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Texas Local Histories.

  • Donley County: Land O' Promise, 1975, by Virginia Browder.
  • Donley County History from the Handbook of Texas Online.

Maps[edit | edit source]

Carson CountyGray CountyWheeler CountyArmstrong CountyCollingsworth CountyBriscoe CountyHall CountyChildress CountyTX DONLEY.PNG
About this image
Click a neighboring county
for more resources

Texas Counties Map.TXGenWeb site.

Military[edit | edit source]

Mexican-American War[edit | edit source]
Civil War[edit | edit source]

Online Records

World War I[edit | edit source]

Newspapers[edit | edit source]

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Donley County, Texas Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:

TX Newspaper Abstracts (For instructions see WorldCat Online Catalog).

Probate[edit | edit source]

Probate records of Texas have been kept by the probate clerk in each county courthouse. You can obtain copies of the records from the clerk's office. In most counties, all information pertaining to a probate case is recorded in the "probate minutes."

Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their places of residence.

Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, marriage, adoption, and birth and death records.

See the Wiki page Texas Probate Records for information about how to use probate records.

Online Probate Records

Taxation[edit | edit source]

Texas tax records complement land records and can be used in place of censuses or to supplement the years between censuses. Because only persons who owned taxable property were listed, many residents were not included in tax lists. There may also be gaps of several years in the tax records of some counties. For more information, see the wiki page Texas Taxation.

1846-1910 Texas County Tax Rolls lists FHL films with county tax lists. The lists vary by county and year. Most records are between the years of 1846 - 1910.

Vital Records[edit | edit source]

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents.

Certified birth and death certificates or birth and death verifications can be ordered online or by mail at the Texas Vital Records State Department of Health. Copies can also be obtained from the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred and are often less expensive. You can also order them online through a third party company.

Marriages records can be obtained from the county the marriage occurred. Only marriage verifications can be obtained from the Texas Vital Records State Department of Health.

See Texas Vital Records for more information about Vital records in Texas.

Birth[edit | edit source]

Online Birth Indexes and Records

Marriage[edit | edit source]

Online Marriage Indexes and Records

Death[edit | edit source]

Online Death Indexes and Records

Divorce[edit | edit source]

Societies and Libraries[edit | edit source]

Donley County Genealogical Society
PO Box 116
Clarendon 79226
website

Family History Centers[edit | edit source]

Family history centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See family history center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.

Websites[edit | edit source]

  • USGenWeb project -  May have maps, name indexes, history or other information for this county. Select the state, then the county.
  • USGenWeb Archives Project - transcriptions and photographs
  • TXGenWeb Donley County
  • FamilySearch Catalog The catalog is genealogical materials (including books, online materials, microfilm, microfiche, and publications) This catalog is different than the indexed Historical Records.

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Donley County, Texas. Page 663 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. HistoricTexas.net: Donley County http://www3.historictexas.net/donley-county-texas
  3. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Donley County, Texas . Page 658-677 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 655-665.
  4. Handbook of Texas Online: Donley County http://www.tshaonline.org/handbook/online/articles/hcd10
  5. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  6. Wikipedia contributors, "Donley County, Texas," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Donley_County,_Texas, accessed 3 April 2019.