Doniphan County, Kansas Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
United States
Kansas
Doniphan County

Guide to Doniphan County, Kansas ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

{{{link}}}
County Facts
County seat: Troy
Organized: February 20, 1855
Parent County(s): Original county [1]
Neighboring Counties
Andrew (MO)  • Atchison  • Brown  • Buchanan (MO)  • Holt (MO)  • Richardson (NE)
See County Maps
Courthouse
KansasDoniphanCourthouse.jpg
Location Map
200px-Map of Kansas highlighting Doniphan County svg.bmp
Adoption

County Information

Description

Named for Col. Alexander W. Doniphan, of Missouri. He commanded a regiment of cavalry during the Mexican War, marching across the plains, and taking a very prominent part in the conquest of New Mexico. He was a zealous partisan in the effort made to extend slavery into Kansas.[2] The County has Troy as its seat and the County was created August 25, 1855. The County is located in the northeast area of the state.[3]

County Courthouse

Doniphan County Courthouse
Main Street
Troy, Kansas 66087
Phone: 785.985.3513
Doniphan County Website

Clerk District Court has birth and death reords1898-1910, marriage, divorce, probate and court records from 1856.
Register of Deeds has land records from 1858.
A yearly county census is taken. [1]

County Clerk
Mailing Address – P.O. Box 278 - Troy, Kansas 66087
Physical Address – 120 East Chestnut - South Side 1st Floor - County Courthouse - Troy, Kansas
Telephone: (785) 985- 3513
Fax: (785) 985-3723
Office Hours: Monday-Friday 8:00 A.M. - 5:00 P.M.

District Court
Mailing Address - P.O. Box 295 - Troy, Kansas 66087
Physical Address - 120 East Chestnut - 2nd Floor County Courthouse -Troy, Kansas
Telephone: (785) 985-3582 & (785) 985-3583
Fax: (785) 985-2402

Register of Deeds
Mailing Address - P.O. Box 73 - Troy, Kansas 66087
Physical Address - 120 E Chestnut Troy, Kansas 66087
Telephone: (785) 985-3932

Doniphan County, Kansas Record Dates

Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.

Known Beginning Dates for Major Records[4]
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1898 1886 1898 1856 1858 1856 1855
Statewide registration for births and deaths started in 1911. General compliance by 1917.[5]

Record Loss

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Boundary Changes

Populated Places

The following are locations in Doniphan County, Kansas:[6]

Cities
Unincorporated communites
Census-designated places
Townships
  • Burr Oak
  • Center
  • Independence
  • Iowa
  • Marion
  • Union
  • Washington
  • Wayne
  • Wolf River

Note: The wandering Missouri River forms Dohiphan's northern and eastern borders separating it from the Missouri counties of Holt, Andrew, and Buchanan. The main population center for the area is St Joseph, Buchanan, Missouri which, because of the meander of the river, almost surrounds the Doniphan town of Elwood. Doniphan's larger towns; Elwood, Wathena, and Troy; all lay in the vicinity of St Joseph, Missouri.  It is important to look for records of residence of Doniphan in these surrounding Nebraska and Missouri counties especially Buchanan, Missouri.

History Timeline

Resources

Bible Records

Biographies

Business, Commerce, and Occupations

Cemeteries

Cemeteries of Doniphan County, Kansas online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
Tombstone Transcriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See Kansas Cemeteries for more information

Kansas State Historical Society holds these titles on microfilm.  They may be available through interlibrary loan:

  • Cemetery record, Mt. Olive Cemetery, Troy, KS, 1871-1913 [AR 6783]

List of Doniphan cemeteries in 1906 according to  Transactions of the Kansas State Horticultural Society, vol. XXVIII (1906), pp. 325-377.[7] With additions from Doniphan County, Kansas, GenWeb and Doniphan County Cemeteries.  A surname index to many of these cemeteries, "Cemetery Readings of Doniphan Co., KS" by Speedy & Gail Stewart,  can be found at Doniphan County Cemeteries.

Andersons - Denton
Belleview
Bellemont - Wathena
Bitner - Bendena
Burrell
Carters - Blair
Chapple (Abbett)
Charleston - Troy
Collins
Columbus - Wathena
Courter-Ritchey - Troy
Cowger
Denton - Denton
Dittemore
Doniphan - Doniphan
Edwards (Buzard)
France (family)
Fanning (St James) - Sparks
Fanning (Prot) - Sparks
German Reform C
Gladden
Hedrick (Jenkins)
Highland - Highland
Iola - Sparks
Iowa Point - Oregon
Jackson - Wathena
Jordan Creek Baptist Church - Bendena
King Hill - Doniphan
Lafayette Cemetery and Others - Sparks
Lutheran
Martin - Oregon
McClelland
McHamner
Moskau - Wathena
Moray
Mosquito Creek
Mt. Calvary - Oneida
Mt. Olive - Troy
New Hope
Oak Hill - Highland
Old Home - Troy
Olive Branch (White Cloud) - White Cloud
Palermo
Pennell
Pleasant Hill
Robertsons - Bendena
Rosedale (Cordonier) - Gear City
Smith
Smithon
Sollars
Springer
St. Benedict - Bendena
St. Charles (Catholic Cemetery) - Troy
St. Mary's - Denton
Steanson
Syracuse - Fanning
Tambor (Hartman) - Wathena
Tesson
Victory - Bendena
Walnut Grove
Wolf River
Woods
Zion (Smith Creek)

 

Census Records

Historical populations
Census Pop.  %±
1860 8,083
1870 13,969 72.8%
1880 14,257 2.1%
1890 13,535 −5.1%
1900 15,079 11.4%
1910 14,422 −4.4%
1920 13,438 −6.8%
1930 14,063 4.7%
1940 12,936 −8.0%
1950 10,499 −18.8%
1960 9,574 −8.8%
1970 9,107 −4.9%
1980 9,268 1.8%
1990 8,134 −12.2%
2000 8,249 1.4%
2010 7,945 −3.7%
Source: "Wikipedia.org".

Kansas became a territory in 1854 and the first territory census taken was in 1855. It was also enumerated as Kansas Territory in the 1860 Federal Census, although there were 15 counties that were marked with "no population" in them. The state continued to take state censuses after it was admitted to the Union in 1861.[8] See links listed below.

State and Territorial Census Records

Federal Census Records

The 1870 Census was the first Federal Census taken for Kansas after it became a state in 1861.[9] For links to Federal Census indexes, see Kansas Census.

Church Records

Most church records are held by individual churches. For contact information, check a phone directory, such as SearchBug or Dex Knows. Some denominations are gathering their records into a central repository. For more information about these major repositories, see Kansas Church Records.


LDS Ward and Branch Records

  • Wathena

Court Records

Kansas State Historical Society holds these titles on microfilm.  They may be available through interlibrary loan:

  • Civil appearance dockets, 1858-1923 [AR 6751-6755]
  • District court journals, 1858-1918 [AR 6755-6762]
  • Judgement docket and record book, 1858-1926 [AR 6762-6763]
  • Marriage records, 1856-1921 [AR 6746-6749]
  • Naturalization index, 1881-1942 [AR 6750]
  • Naturalization certificate stubs, 1925-1928 [AR 6750]
  • Naturalization declaration of intention, petitions, and record, 1906-1934 [AR 6750]
  • Naturalization final record, 1859-1910 [AR 6763-6766]
  • Naturalization miscellaneous citizenship papers, 1905-1934 [AR 6750]
  • Probate court index and abstracts, 1855-1938 [AR 6767, AR 6778]
  • Probate court journals, 1858-1923 [AR 6778-6783]
  • Probate case files, 1857-1917 [AR 6796-6797, AR 6784-6793, AR 6798, AR 7066-7067, AR 11934]
  • Will records, 1882-1915 [AR 6767-6769]
  • Other probate records, 1858-1935 [AR 6766-6778, AR 6784-6798, AR 7066-7067]

Directories

Emigration and Immigration

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups

Funeral Homes

Genealogies

Guardianship

Land and Property Records

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Kansas Land and Property for additional information about early Kansas land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse, where records are currently housed.

Register of Deeds:
Phone: (785) 985-3932
Mailing Address - P.O. Box 73 - Troy, Kansas 66087
Physical Address - 120 E Chestnut Troy, Kansas 66087

Kansas State Historical Society holds these titles on microfilm. They may be available through interlibrary loan:

  • Indexes, 1856-1908 [AR 6651-6652, AR 6681-6683]
  • Deed and mortgage records, 1856-1919 [AR 6649, AR 6652-6683, AR 6698]
  • Troy City Cemetery record, Mt. Olive Cemetery, 1871-1913 [AR 6783]


Online Land Records

For more information see Kansas Land and Property

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Doniphan County, Kansas Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Kansas Local Histories.


  • Bendena, Kansas, Centennial, 1887-1987. 1988. By Bendena Centennial Committee. N.p.: n.p. (K978.1/-D71/B432).
  • Doniphan County Clippings, 1858-1988. (4 vols.). Kansas State Historical Society. Topeka, KS: KSHS, n.d. (K978.1/-D71/Clipp.).
  • Doniphan Village Twice Site of Once-Thriving Community. 1949. Atchison Daily Globe (2nd). Dec. 11, 1949. [1 p.]. (Reel: A1859).
  • History of Leona, 1885. Kercher, Delno. N.p.: n.d. (K978.1/-D71/Mss/no. 1).
  • History of Wathena, Kansas. By Ralph Brazelton. 1978. N.p.: n.p. (K978.1/-D71/ Pam.v.1/no. 4).
  • Index to Gray's Doniphan County History. Topeka, KS: KSHS, 1974. (Reel: MF 295, no. 8).
  • Makers of Kansas History: A Series of Sketches of Characters & Events. Lynn, C.P. Ness County News & Ness City Times. May 26-June 30, 1906. [6 pp.]. (Reel: N497).
  • Records of the Squatter Association of Whitehead District, Doniphan County. Kansas Historical Quarterly 13 (Feb. 1944): 16-35. Edited by Martha B. Caldwell. (SP 906/K13q). Available online.
  • A Sketch of Doniphan County, Kansas. 1878. By C. G. Bridges. Troy, KS: Bulletin Office, 1878. (K978.1/-D71/ Pam.v.1/no. 2).


Online County Histories

Maps and Gazetteers

Richardson CountyHolt CountyAndrew CountyBuchanan CountyJefferson CountyLeavenworth CountyAtchison CountyBrown CountyDoniphan, Kansas.JPG
About this image
Click a neighboring county
for more resources


Plat Book of Doniphan County Kansas. (1904) (Digitized) This atlas includes plats of the townships and largest towns of Doniphan County with the names of landholders. It also includes a patrons' directory.

Historical Plat Book of Doniphan County, Kansas with illistrations. (1882) Chicogo, IL: J S Bird. (Digitized)

Migration

Early migration routes to and from Doniphan County, Kansas Genealogy for European and African American settlers included:

Military Records

Civil War

Men from this County enlisted in 1st Infantry Regiment, Company A.

Online Collections

These collections are unique to Kansas. You will find nationwide databases for military records on U.S. Military Online Genealogy Records and Kansas Military Records.

Collections Covering Multiple Wars

Civil War

Spanish-American War (1898)

World War I

World War II

Korean War

Vietnam War

For further information see Kansas Military Records.

Naturalization and Citizenship

Newspapers

For more information, see Kansas Newspapers.

Kansas Newspapers Online

Kansas Newspaper Catalogs

Obituaries

Other Records

Voter Records

Periodicals

Probate Records

In most counties in Kansas, probate records have been kept by the county judge. They include wills, inventories, claim registers, legacy records, inheritance records, and dockets. The records are available at the county courthouse.

The FamilySearch Catalog lists films of probate records. To find the records for this county, use the Place Search for Kansas, Doniphan and click Probate records.


Online Records

School Records

Kansas State Historical Society holds these titles on microfilm. They may be available through interlibrary loan:

  • Scholastic census, 1892-1916 [AR 6683-6685, AR 6699-6701]

Tax Records

Kansas tax records complement land records and can be used to supplement the years between censuses. Tax lists were usually made every year, however, there may be gaps of several years. For more information, see the wiki page Kansas Taxation.


Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents.

A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Kansas Office of Vital Statistics or the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred. See also Kansas Vital Records. For information about restrictions and costs for certificates, see the CDC Where to Write for Vital Records site.


Kansas State Historical Society holds these titles on microfilm. They may be available through interlibrary loan:

  • Marriage records, 1856-1921 [AR 6746-6749]
  • Vital statistics, 1898-1916 [AR 6749]

Birth

Marriage

Death

Divorce

Research Facilities

Archives

Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes.

Libraries

Doniphan County Library District
Central Library
105 N. Main
P. O. Box 458
Troy, KS 66087
Telephone: (785) 985-2597
Website

Branches:
  • Elwood Branch Library (913) 365-2409;  410 N. 9th / Elwood, Kansas 66024
  • Highland Branch Library (785) 442-3078;  306 W. Main / Highland, Kansas 66035
  • Wathena Branch Library (785) 989-4834;  206 St. Joseph / Wathena, KS 66090

Highland Community College Library
505 West Main St.
Highland, Kansas 66035
Telephone: (785) 442-6000
Website

Museums

Societies

Doniphan County Historical Society
105 North Main
Troy

Ma Hush Kah Historical Society
Route 2, Box 16
White Cloud, KS 66094

Websites

Research Guides

References

  1. 1.0 1.1 1.2 Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Doniphan County, Kansas. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. Genealogy Trails History Group, “Doniphan, Kansas Genealogy and History”, "http://genealogytrails.com/kan/doniphan/ 8/10/2017."
  3. Wikipedia contributors, "Doniphan, Kansas," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, "https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Doniphan_County,_Kansas" 8/10/2017.
  4. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Doniphan County, Kansas. Page 249 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  5. “Kansas Research Outline”, (Salt Lake City, Utah: Family History Department, 2000), 40.
  6. Wikipedia contributors, "Doniphan County, Kansas," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Doniphan_County,_Kansas#Communities, accessed 14 September 2017.
  7. Kansas State Historical Society Cemeteries in Kansas, 1906.
  8. William Thorndale and William Dollarhide, Map Guide to the U.S. Federal Censuses (Bountiful, UT: American Genealogical Lending Library, 1985), page 118-119.
  9. William Thorndale and William Dollarhide, Map Guide to the U.S. Federal Censuses (Bountiful, UT: American Genealogical Lending Library, 1985), page 119.
  10. National Park Service, "(Auto Tour Route) Maps" in Oregon National Historic Trail at http://www.nps.gov/oreg/planyourvisit/maps.htm (accessed 18 July 2011).
  11. National Park Service, "(Auto Tour Route) Maps" in California National Historic Trail at http://www.nps.gov/cali/planyourvisit/maps.htm (accessed 18 July 2011).
  12. National Park Service, "Auto Tour Route Maps" in Mormon Pioneer National Historic Trail at http://www.nps.gov/mopi/planyourvisit/maps.htm (accessed 18 July 2011).