Donington, Lincolnshire Genealogy
Guide to Donington, Lincolnshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
St Mary and the Holy Rood Donington Lincolnshire
|Poor Law Union||Spalding|
|Parish registers: 1642|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1561|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop of Lincoln (Episcopal Consistory)|
|Location of Archive|
|Lincolnshire Record Office|
Parish History[edit | edit source]
DONINGTON (St. Mary and the Holy Rood), a market-town and parish, in the union of Spalding, wapentake of Kirton, parts of Holland, county of Lincoln, 32 miles (S. E. by S.) from Lincoln, and 108 (N.) from London. It contains the hamlet of Northorpe. There are places of worship for Particular Baptists and Wesleyans. 
The church of St Mary and the Holy Rood dates from the 13th century with subsequent additions and restorations in 1868 and 1896 and has been listed as a grade I listed building by English Heritage. Search listed building
Resources[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
This parish was in the Donington sub-district of Spalding registration district Search registration district
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Church Records[edit | edit source]
Donington parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|Donington Online Parish Records|
|FMP Marr Index||1700-1837|
|FS Catalog PRs|
|FS Catalog BTs|
To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.
Records are also available at the Lincolnshire Archives.
Material deposited at Lincolnshire Archives,
St Rumbold Street
Enquiries: email@example.com The website enables you to view a PDF file for all records held for each parish as part of continuing efforts to provide an online catalogue.
The digitisation of parish records for the county now offers images via the Lincs to the past website (July 2011). Use advanced search terms at Search Lincs to the past to search for available images for parish registers and other records for this parish with images. Advance search terms Donington in Holland Par 1 will identify available images.
Search FamilySearch CatalogueDonington
Census records[edit | edit source]
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]
Probate records[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Lincolnshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Websites[edit | edit source]
References[edit | edit source]
- Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 63-69. Date accessed: 15 August 2013.