Dinwiddie County, Virginia Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

RegistrationOpen.png

Guide to Dinwiddie County, Virginia ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

County Facts
County seat: Dinwiddie
Organized: 01 May 1752[1]
Parent County(s): Prince George
Neighboring Counties
Amelia  • Brunswick  • Chesterfield  • Greensville  • Nottoway  • Petersburg (Independent City)  • Prince George  • Sussex
See County Maps
Courthouse
VirginiaDinwiddieCourthouse.jpg
Location Map
Location of Dinwiddie County, Virginia.png
Adoption

County Information[edit | edit source]

Description[edit | edit source]

Dinwiddie County is located in the Central portion of the Commonwealth of Virginia and was named for Robert Dinwiddie, Lieutenant Governor of Virginia, 1751-1758[2].

County Courthouse[edit | edit source]

Dinwiddie County Courthouse
14008 Boydton Plank Road
Dinwiddie, VA 23841-0063
Phone: 804-469-4540
Dinwiddie County Website

Clerk Circuit Court has birth and death records 1865-1896, marriage, probate and land records from 1833 and divorce records from 1870[3]

Dinwiddie County, Virginia Record Dates[edit | edit source]

Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.

Known Beginning Dates for Major County Records[4]
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1865 1833 1865 1833 1833 1833 1810
* Statewide registration for births and deaths began in 1912.
General compliance year is unknown.

Record Loss[edit | edit source]

  • Lost censuses: 1790, 1800, 1890
  • Visit the Library of Virginia's website to determine exactly what records have been lost and their Lost Records Localities Database to find additional resources.
  • For suggestions about research in places that suffered historic record losses, see:
  • Jackson, B. Darrell. Jackson Family History: Descendants of Robert Jackson of Dinwiddie County, Virginia, to Nine Generations, ca. 1760-2008: with Ancestry of Allied Families -- Johnson, Blakely, Shields, Cooper, Stiles, Kitchell, Pierson, Bruen, Ogden, Swaine, and Owsley. Baltimore, Md.: Gateway Press, 2009. FHL Book 929.273 J137j

Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]

Populated Places[edit | edit source]

For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit HomeTown Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:[7]

Towns
Unincorporated communities


History Timeline[edit | edit source]

Robert Dinwiddle.JPG


The county is named after Virginia Lieutenant-Governor Robert Dinwiddie (1693-1770).

Resources[edit | edit source]

Bible Records[edit | edit source]

For databases and indexes, see Virginia Bible Records.

Biographies[edit | edit source]

Business, Commerce, and Occupations[edit | edit source]

  • Cutten, George Barton. The Silversmiths of Virginia (together with Watchmakers and Jewelers) from 1694 to 1850. Richmond, Va.: The Dietz Press, Incorporated, 1952. Available at FHL - Includes a section on Petersburg silversmiths.

Cemeteries[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries of Dinwiddie County, Virginia online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
Tombstone Transcriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See Virginia Cemeteries for more information.

 

Census Records[edit | edit source]

For databases, indexes, and information online, see Virginia Census.

Historical populations
Census Pop.
1790 13,934
1800 15,374 10.3%
1810 18,190 18.3%
1820 20,482 12.6%
1830 21,901 6.9%
1840 22,558 3.0%
1850 25,118 11.3%
1860 30,198 20.2%
1870 30,702 1.7%
1880 32,870 7.1%
1890 13,515 −58.9%
1900 15,374 13.8%
1910 15,442 0.4%
1920 17,949 16.2%
1930 18,492 3.0%
1940 18,166 −1.8%
1950 18,839 3.7%
1960 22,183 17.8%
1970 25,046 12.9%
1980 22,602 −9.8%
1990 20,960 −7.3%
2000 24,533 17.0%
2010 28,001 14.1%
Source: "Wikipedia.org".

Church Records[edit | edit source]

Baptist
Early Baptist churches (with years constituted):

  1. Cutbanks (1789)[8]
  2. Harper's (1773)[8]
  3. Rowanty (1775)[8]
  • 1776 Petition of Baptists (10,000 names!) and sympathizers from all over Virginia, dated 16 October 1776, asking for an end to persecution of Baptists by the established church. After locating your ancestor, view the digital copies.
    – Digital copies at Library of Congress; also at Library of Virginia using the code word "000606093"
    – Hall, Jean Pickett. "Legislative Petitions: the 10,000 name petition" transcription in the Magazine of Virginia Genealogy, Vols. 35-38, with annotations in Vol. 39, (Richmond, Virginia: Virginia Genealogical Society, 1983-) online at Ancestry ($) and in book form at various libraries.

Dinwiddie County fell within the bounds of the Meherrin Association and the Portsmouth Association.

Church of England
Gotoarrow.png See also Bath Parish
Gotoarrow.png See also Bristol Parish

Bristol Parish was established in 1643, including all the Appomattox River valley. When Didwiddie Couny was partitioned from Prince George county 1752, Bristol Parish became the parish for Dinwiddie County.[9] The original Register 1685-1798 and the Vestry Book 1720-1789 are available at the Library of Virginia and the FHL: FHL 30625.

Meade's 1861 history of parishes in Dinwiddie County is available online.[10]

Blandford Church has served Petersburg's residents.

  • Chamberlayne, Churchill Gibson. Births from the Bristol Parish Register of Henrico, Prince George and Dinwiddie Counties, Virginia, 1720-1798. Richmond, Virginia: C.G. Chamberlayne, 1898. Two published transcripts available at FHL here[low quality link] and here[low quality link]; digital book at Ancestry ($); and World Vital Records ($).
  • Chamberlayne, Churchill Gibson. The Vestry Book and Register of Bristol Parish, Virginia, 1720 - 1789. Richmond, VA: [s.n.] 1898. Available at FHL US/CAN Film 1036590 Item 2. Digital versions at Google Books; and World Vital Records ($).
  • Jarratt, Devereux and John Coleman. The Life of the Reverend Devereux Jarratt: Rector of Bath Parish, Dinwiddie County, Virginia. Printed by Warner & Hanna, 1806. Digital version at Google Books.
  • Mason, George Carrington. "The Colonial Churches of Prince George and Dinwiddie Counties, Virginia," The William and Mary Quarterly, Second Series, Vol. 23, No. 3 (Jul. 1943):249-271. Available at JSTOR ($).
  • Mason, George Carrington. Colonial Churches of Tidewater Virginia. Richmond, Virginia: Whittet & Shepperson, 1945. Available at FHL; digital version at FamilySearch Digital Library.
Blandford Church, Petersburg

The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints

  • Petersburg Ward and Branch Records of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints

Quaker
Early monthly meetings (with years of existence):

  • Butler's Monthly Meeting (1698-1800)[11]
  • Gravelly Run Monthly Meeting (1767-1830)[11]
  • Langley's Monthly Meeting (1755-1767) aka Whippanock[11]

Friends from Dinwiddie County, Virginia also attended the Chuckatuck Monthly Meeting in Nansemond County, Virginia and the Blackwater Monthly Meeting in Surry County, Virginia.[12]

  • Brown, Jane Douglas Summers and Jones Memorial Library. Jane Douglas Summers Brown (1903-) Quaker Records: Jones Memorial Library (Lynchburg, Virginia); MS 1515. MSS, Jones Memorial Library, Lynchburg, Va. Available on 26 microfilms at FHL. [Includes records of Dinwiddie County Quakers; Brown assisted "William Wade Hinshaw in the writing of the Virginia volume of the Encyclopedia of American Quaker Genealogy."]

Court Records[edit | edit source]

Online Court Indexes and Records

Chancery Court

  • 1844-1954 Indexes (1844-1954) and images (1844-1932) to Dinwiddie County, Virginia Chancery Records are available online through Virginia Memory: Chancery Records Index. These records, often concerned with inheritance disputes, contain a wealth of genealogical information.[13]
  • 1950-1984 Dinwiddie County Chancery Index 1950-1984. Online at Dinwiddie County Government Site - free.

County Court

  • 1789-1791, 1842-1846, 1855-1909 Order Books of Dinwiddie County. Online at Dinwiddie County Government Site - free.
  • 1789-1790 "Records of Dinwiddie County," The William and Mary Quarterly, Vol. 23, No. 3 (Jan. 1915):214-218. Available at JSTOR ($).

Crime

Board of Supervisors

Directories[edit | edit source]

Emigration and Immigration[edit | edit source]

For databases and immigrant groups, see Virginia Emigration and Immigration

  • Coldham, Peter Wilson. North American Wills Registered in London 1611-1857. Baltimore: Genealogical Publishing Co., Inc., 2007. [Includes will of a resident of Bristol Parish proved in London. These records often help establish an immigrant's place of origin.]
  • List of imported servants and transported convicts from Europe who served labor terms in Colonial Virginia are online at: Immigrant Servants Database.

During the War of 1812, American officials reported finding a total of 51 British aliens, many of whom had families, living in Petersburg (50) and Dinwiddie County (1).[14]

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups[edit | edit source]

African American
From 1790 to 1860, Dinwiddie County had one of the largest enslaved populations in the state (7334 in 1790; 12,774 in 1860). It also had one of the largest free colored populations (561 in 1790; 3746 in 1860). Ten years later in 1870, Dinwiddie County had one of the largest African American populations in Virginia (17,664) - the town of Petersburg in particular.[15]

Funeral Homes[edit | edit source]

Genealogies[edit | edit source]

A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z

Guardianship[edit | edit source]

Land and Property Records[edit | edit source]

For land indexes, records, and databases, see Virginia Land and Property, including Colonial and State Land Grants.

Online Land Indexes and Records

Grants and Patents
Land patents (pre-1779), land grants (after 1779) and surveys are available online at the Library of Virginia website. For step-by-step instructions on retrieving these records, read the Virginia Land and Property article.*Hudgins. 884 patents dated 1653-1785 in what is now Dinwiddie County, Virginia placed on a map. DeedMapper, 2003. [Names of those who received land patents, dates, land descriptions, and references may be viewed free of charge (click "Index" next to the county listing); however, in order to view the maps, it is necessary to purchase Direct Line Software's DeedMapper product.]

Local Histories[edit | edit source]

  • Dinwiddie County: The Countrey of Apamatica. Richmond, Virginia: Whittet & Shepperson, 1942. Available at FHL; digital version at Ancestry ($). Reviewed by Chas. Edgar Gilliam in The William and Mary Quarterly, Second Series, Vol. 23, No. 2 (Apr. 1943):228-230. Review available at JSTOR ($).

Historic Residences

  • [Pride's Tavern] "Inventory of Halcott Pride's Estate in Dinwiddie County," The William and Mary Quarterly, Second Series, Vol. 18, No. 2 (Apr. 1938):219-226. Available at JSTOR ($).
  • Lancaster, Robert A. "Wales, Dinwiddie County, Virginia," The Virginia Magazine of History and Biography, Vol. 44, No. 3 (Jul. 1936):232-237. Available at JSTOR ($). [Residence of the Briggs family.]

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

County and state maps, historical and more current, are valuable research tools. For map collections, online and in libraries, see Virginia Maps.

Petersburg (Independent City)Prince George CountySussex CountyGreensville CountyBrunswick CountyNottoway CountyAmelia CountyChesterfield CountyVA DINWIDDIE.PNG
Click a neighboring county
for more resources

Migration[edit | edit source]

  • Elliott, Katherine B. Emigration to Other States from Southside Virginia. 2 vols. South Hill, Virginia: K.B. Elliott, 1966. Vol. 1 of original edition available at FHL; 1983 reprints (both volumes) available at FHL; 1990-1992 reprints (both volumes) also available at FHL. [Includes individuals who migrated out of Dinwiddie County to other parts of the country.]

Military Records[edit | edit source]

French and Indian War

  • Bockstruck, Lloyd DeWitt. Virginia's Colonial Soldiers. Baltimore: Genealogical Publishing Co., 1988. Available at FHL. [Identifies some Dinwiddie County militia officers, soldier enlistments, and veterans; see place name index.]
  • King, George H.S. "Dinwiddie County, Virginia, Militia Officers, 1752," The Virginia Genealogist, Vol. 7, No. 4 (Oct.-Dec. 1963):173. Available at FHL; digital version at American Ancestors ($).
  • 1752 Dinwiddie Militia. Virginia Pioneers ($)

Revolutionary War

  • A Census of Pensioners for Revolutionary or Military Services: With their Names, Ages, and Places of Residence, as Returned by the Marshalls of the Several Judicial Districts, Under the Act for Taking the Sixth Census]. 1841. Digital version at Google Books et. al. 1967 reprint: FHL Collection 973 X2pc 1840. [See Virginia, Eastern District, Dinwiddie County on page 130.]
  • Rejected or Suspended Applications for Revolutionary War Pensions. Washington, D.C., 1852. Reprinted by Genealogical Publishing Co., Inc., 1969, and 1991. Reprints include "an Added Index to States." FHL Book 973 M24ur; digital version at Ancestry ($). Includes veterans. Virginia section begins on page 238.
  • Virginia Militia in the Revolutionary War. By J.T. McAllister. 1913. Hot Springs, Va.: McAllister Pub. Co. Online at: Internet Archive

Regiments. Service men in Dinwiddie County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Dinwiddie County supplied soldiers for the:

- 6th Virginia Regiment
- 14th Virginia Regiment

War of 1812
Dinwiddie County men served in the 83rd Regiment and Petersburg men served in the 39th Regiment.[16]

  • Douthat, James L. Roster of War of 1812, Southside, Virginia. Signal Mountain, Tenn.: Mountain Press, 2007. Free online surname index and purchase details at Mountain Press website. FHL Collection 975.5 M2djL. [Includes Dinwiddie County.]
  • List of Pensioners on the Roll, January 1, 1883; Giving the Name of Each Pensioner, the Cause for Why Pensioned, the Post-Office Address, the Rate of Pension Per Month, and the Date of Original Allowance... Washington, D.C.: Government Printing Office, 1883. FHL Collection 973 M2Lp v. 5; digital versions at Google Books and Internet Archive. [See Vol. 5, Virginia, Dinwiddie County, pp. 69-70.]

Civil War

Regiments. Civil War service men in Dinwiddie County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed here:

- 3rd Regiment, Virginia Cavalry (Confederate). Company I (2nd) (Dinwiddie Cavalry).[17]
- 3rd Regiment, Virginia Infantry (Confederate). Company C (Dinwiddie Greys) and Company E (Cockade Rifles).[18]
- 5th Battalion, Virginia Infantry (Wilson's)(Archer's)(Confederate).
- 5th Regiment, Virginia Cavalry (Confederate).
- 5th Regiment, Virginia Cavalry (12 months, 1861-62) (Mullins') (Confederate). Company D (Petersburg Rangers or Letcher Mounted Guards), Company K (Captain Charles Pannill's Company).[19]
- 12th Regiment, Virginia Infantry (Confederate).
  • Company A (Petersburg City Guard)
  • Company B (Petersburg Old Grays)
  • Company C (Petersburg New Grays)
  • Company D (Lafayette Guards)
  • Company E (Petersburg Riflemen)
  • Company K (Archer Rifles).[20]
- 13th Regiment, Virginia Cavalry (12th Months, 1861-62) (Confederate). Company B (The Petersburg Light Dragoons) and Company E (The Cockade Cavalry).[21]

Civil War Battles
The following Civil War battles were fought in Dinwiddie County.

Maps of Civil War battles in Virginia: 1861 and 1862, 1863, 1864, 1865

Naturalization and Citizenship[edit | edit source]

Online Naturalization Indexes and Records

Newspapers[edit | edit source]

For online newspaper resources, see the Virginia Newspapers page.

Indexed images of the Virginia Gazette (1736-1780) are available online through the Colonial Williamsburg website. In addition, Professor Tom Costa and The Rector and Visitors of the University of Virginia have created a database of all runaway advertisements for slaves, indentured servants, transported convicts, and ship deserters listed in this source and other Virginia newspapers (1736-1803), see: The Geography of Slavery in Virginia. These newspapers are valuable resources for all regions of Virginia.

Obituaries[edit | edit source]

Other Records[edit | edit source]

Private Papers

Periodicals[edit | edit source]

Probate Records[edit | edit source]

For probate records, indexes, and databases, see Virginia Probate Records.

Online Probate Indexes and Records

Local Court

  • 1700-1805 Images of Loose Wills and Estates Virginia Pioneers ($)
  • 1758-1869 Digital Images of Dinwiddie County (surviving) Wills 1758-1799; 1801-1869. See names of testators. Virginia Pioneers
  • 1830-2007 Dinwiddie County Wills and Fiduciaries Index 1830 to 2007. Online at Dinwiddie County Government Site - free.
  • Hopkins, William Lindsay. Some Wills from the Burned Counties of Virginia and Other Wills Not Listed in Virginia Wills and Administrations 1632-1800. Richmond, Virginia: W.L. Hopkins, 1987. Available at FHL. [Includes Dinwiddie County.]
  • Johnson, William Perry. "Wills of Philip and John Burrow, Dinwiddie County, Virginia, 1778," The Virginia Genealogist, Vol. 14, No. 4 (Oct.-Dec. 1970):150-153. Available at FHL; digital version at American Ancestors($).
  • Short, Sallie E.H. "Unrecorded Wills of Dinwiddie County, Virginia," The Virginia Genealogist, Vol. 16, No. 3 (Jul.-Sep. 1972):163-172; Vol. 16, No. 4 (Oct.-Dec. 1972):255-260. Available at FHL; digital version at American Ancestors($).
  • Steffens, Mary W. "Wills of Rawleigh Porteus Downman and his Wife Anne (Downman) Downman Muir, Dinwiddie County, Virginia," The Virginia Genealogist, Vol. 19, No. 2 (Apr.-Jun. 1975):83-92. Available at FHL; digital version at American Ancestors($).
  • 1929-2003 Dinwiddie County Devisees and Heir Index 1929 to 2003. Online at Dinwiddie County Government Site - free.

London Courts

  • Coldham, Peter Wilson. North American Wills Registered in London 1611-1857. Baltimore: Genealogical Publishing Co., Inc., 2007. [Includes will of a resident of Bristol Parish proved in London. These records often help establish an immigrant's place of origin.]

North Carolina Courts

  • Livingston, Virginia Pope. "Some Virginia Wills Recorded in North Carolina," The Virginia Genealogist, Vol. 11, No. 1 (Jan.-Mar. 1967):30-34. Available at FHL; digital version at American Ancestors($). [Includes the abstract of the will of John Southerland, Mariner, of Donwoody County [sic], dated 1771.]

Sussex County, Virginia Court

School Records[edit | edit source]

Social Security Records[edit | edit source]

Tax Records[edit | edit source]

For additional online collections and the value and use of Virginia's tax lists in your research, see Virginia Taxation.

Online Tax Indexes and Records

  • 1752-1820 Hughes, Thomas P. and Jewel B. Standefer, Dinwiddie County Land Records Compiled 1752-1820. Online at Dinwiddie County Government Site - free.
  • 1782-1819 Dinwiddie County Personal Property Tax Lists 1782-1819 (images); digital version in Tax List Club at Binns Genealogy ($).
  • 1782-1875 Dinwiddie County, Virginia Land Tax Books. Images at Dinwiddie County Government Site - free.
  • 1782-1820 Hughes, Thomas P. Dinwiddie County Data from Records 1752-1865. Includes Personal Property Tax Lists 1782-1820. Online at Dinwiddie County Government Site - free.
  • 1782 "Personal Property List Dinwiddie County, 1782," The William and Mary Quarterly, Vol. 26, No. 2 (Oct. 1917):96-106; Vol. 26, No. 3 (Jan. 1918):196-201; Vol. 26, No. 4 (Apr. 1918):250-258. Available at FHL; reprinted in Virginia Tax Records. Baltimore: Genealogical Publishing Co., Inc., 1983, which is also available at FHL; digital version at JSTOR($).
  • 1782 Fothergill, Augusta B. and John Mark Naugle. Virginia Tax Payers, 1782-87, Other Than Those Published by the United States Census Bureau. 1940; reprint, Baltimore: Genealogical Publishing Co., Inc., 1978. Online at FamilySearch - free; FHL. [1782 personal property tax list of Dinwiddie County.]
  • 1782-1799 Heinegg, Paul. "Dinwiddie County Personal Property Tax List 1782-1799,"Free African Americans.com, available online. [Heinegg abstracted free blacks listed in these records.]
  • 1783 - Personal Property (or Land) Tax List, 1783; index online at Revolutionary War Service website - free.
  • 1787 Schreiner-Yantis, Netti and Florene Speakman Love. The 1787 Census of Virginia: An Accounting of the Name of Every White Male Tithable Over 21 Years, the Number of White Males Between 16 & 21 Years, the Number of Slaves over 16 & Those Under 16 Years, Together with a Listing of Their Horses, Cattle & Carriages, and Also the Names of All Persons to Whom Ordinary Licenses and Physician's Licenses Were Issued. 3 vols. Springfield, Va.: Genealogical Books in Print, 1987. Available at FHL. [The source of this publication is the 1787 personal property tax list. Dinwiddie County and the portion of Petersburg in Dinwiddie County are included in Vol. 1.]
  • 1790, 1800 Indexed images of the 1790 and 1800 Personal Property Tax Lists of Dinwiddie County, Virginia are available online, courtesy: Binns Genealogy.
  • 1790, 1799 Indexed images of the 1790 and 1799 Land Tax Lists of Dinwiddie County, Virginia are available online, courtesy: Binns Genealogy.
  • 1800 "Dinwiddie County, Virginia, 1800 Tax List," The Virginia Genealogist, Vol. 18, No. 1 (Jan.-Mar. 1974):30-34; Vol. 18, No. 2 (Apr.-Jun. 1974):92-96; Vol. 18, No. 3 (Jul.-Sep. 1974):183-186; Vol. 18, No. 4 (Oct.-Dec. 1974):251-256. Available at FHL; digital version at American Ancestors($).
  • 1815 Ward, Roger D. 1815 Directory of Virginia Landowners (and Gazetteer). 6 vols. Athens, Georgia: Iberian Pub. Co., 1997-2000. Available at FHL. [The source for this publication is the 1815 land tax. Dinwiddie County is included in Vol. 1.]
  • 1886-1931 Chappell, J. Barrett. Real Estate Tax Sales 1886 to 1931. Online at Dinwiddie County Government Site - free.

Vital Records[edit | edit source]

For additional indexes, databases, and details, see Virginia Vital Records.

Birth[edit | edit source]

Marriage[edit | edit source]

Death[edit | edit source]

Divorce[edit | edit source]

Research Facilities[edit | edit source]

Archives[edit | edit source]

Listed below are archives in Dinwiddie County. For state-wide facilities, see Virginia Archives and Libraries.

Family History Centers[edit | edit source]

Family History Center and Affiliate Library Locator map - search for local Family History Centers or Affiliate Libraries

  • Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance, free access to center-only databases, and to premium genealogical websites.
  • FamilySearch Affiliate Libraries have access to most center-only databases, but may not always have full services normally provided by a family history center.

Local Centers and Affiliate Libraries

Libraries[edit | edit source]

Listed below are libraries in Dinwiddie County. For state-wide library facilities, see Virginia Archives and Libraries.

Museums[edit | edit source]

Societies[edit | edit source]

Listed below are societies in Dinwiddie County. For state-wide genealogical and historical societies, see Virginia Societies.

Websites[edit | edit source]

  • FamilySearch Catalog – The FamilySearch catalog contains descriptions and access information for all genealogical materials (including books, online materials, microfilm, microfiche, and publications) in their collection.  Use Historical Records to search for specific individuals in genealogical records.

Research Guides[edit | edit source]

The Library of Virginia's website includes the following guide:

John Frederick Dorman has written an excellent guide:

  • "A Guide to the Counties of Virginia: Dinwiddie County," The Virginia Genealogist, Vol. 8, No. 4 (Oct.-Dec. 1964):170-173. Available at FHL; digital version at American Ancestors ($).

The Works Progress Administration's Historical Inventory is online at the Dinwiddie County Government Site - free.

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Newberry
  2. http://www.dinwiddiehistory.org/
  3. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Iowa.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  4. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Iowa.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  5. Lost Records Localities: Counties and Cities with Missing Records, 2, in Library of Virginia (accessed 4 April 2014).
  6. Newberry
  7. Wikipedia contributors, "Dinwiddie_ County,_Virginia," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia,https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Dinwiddie_County,_Virginia#Communities accessed 10 January 2020.
  8. 8.08.18.2 Robert Baylor Semple and George William Beale, A History of the Rise and Progress of the Baptists in Virginia (Pitt and Dickinson, 1894), 287. Digital version at Google Books.
  9. Edith F. Axelson, A Guide to Episcopal Church Records in Virginia (Athens, Ga.: Iberian Publishing Co., 1988), 37
  10. William Meade, Old Churches, Ministers and Families of Virginia, 2 vols. (Philadelphia: J.B. Lippincott and Co., 1861). Digital versions at Internet Archive: Vol. I and Vol. II.
  11. 11.011.111.2 Jay Worrall, The Friendly Virginians: America's First Quakers (Athens, Ga.: Iberian Publishing Company, 1994), 537-539. FHL Book 975.5 K2wj.
  12. Martha A. Putnam, Quaker Records of Southeast Virginia (Westminster, Md.: Family Line Publications, 1996). FHL Book 975.5 K2qu.
  13. "Virginia Memory: Chancery Records Index Availability," Library of Virginia (accessed 26 January 2010).
  14. Kenneth Scott, British Aliens in the United States During the War of 1812 (Baltimore, Md.: Genealogical Publishing Co., 1979), 320-333. FHL Book 973 W4s; digital version at Ancestry ($).
  15. Ninth Census of the United States: Statistics of Population, Tables I to VIII Inclusive (Washington, D.C.: Government Printing Office, 1872), 69-70. Digital version at Internet Archive; FHL Book 973 X2pcu.
  16. Stuart Lee Butler, A Guide to Virginia Militia Units in the War of 1812 (Athens, Ga.: Iberian Pub. Co., 1988), 74, 168. FHL Book 975.5 M2bs.
  17. Thomas P. Nanzig, 3rd Virginia Cavalry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, c1989). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 61.
  18. Lee A. Wallace, 3rd Virginia Infantry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, c1986). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 22.
  19. Robert J. Driver, 5th Virginia Cavalry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, 1997). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 127.
  20. William D. Henderson, 12th Virginia Infantry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, c1984). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 8.
  21. Daniel T. Balfour, 13th Virginia Cavalry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, c1986). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 26.
  22. Heritage Preservation Services, Civil War Battle Summaries by State, (accessed 17 August, 2012)
  23. Heritage Preservation Services, Civil War Battle Summaries by State, (accessed 2 August 2012).
  24. Heritage Preservation Services, Civil War Battle Summaries by State, (accessed 17 August, 2012)
  25. Heritage Preservation Services, Civil War Battle Summaries by State, (accessed 2 August 2012).
  26. Heritage Preservation Services, Civil War Battle Summaries by State, (accessed 2 August 2012).
  27. Heritage Preservation Services, Civil War Battle Summaries by State, (accessed 16 August 2012).
  28. Heritage Preservation Services, Civil War Battle Summaries by State, (accessed 17 August, 2012)
  29. Heritage Preservation Services, Civil War Battle Summaries by State, (accessed 17 August, 2012)
  30. Heritage Preservation Services, Civil War Battle Summaries by State, (accessed 16 August, 2012)
  31. Heritage Preservation Services, Civil War Battle Summaries by State, (accessed 7 August 2012).
  32. Heritage Preservation Services, Civil War Battle Summaries by State, (accessed 16 August 2012).
  33. Heritage Preservation Services, Civil War Battle Summaries by State, (accessed 7 August 2012).