Dillingham Census Area, Alaska Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Dillingham Census Area, Alaska Genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Dillingham Census Area, Alaska
Map
Map of Alaska highlighting Dillingham Census Area
Location in the state of Alaska
Map of the U.S. highlighting Alaska
Location of Alaska in the U.S.
Facts
Founded 1980
County Seat No borough seat
Courthouse
Address Dillingham Borough Alaska
P O box 889, Dillingham,
AK 99576
Phone: 907-842-5211[1]


Description[edit | edit source]

The census area was created in 1980 as part of Alaska's Unorganized Borough. It has no borough seat. This census area is located in the southwestern part of the state.[2]

Historical Facts[edit | edit source]

Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]

Record Loss[edit | edit source]

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this census area.

Places/Localities[edit | edit source]

Neighboring Boroughs and Census Areas[edit | edit source]

Populated Places[edit | edit source]

For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit Hometown Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this census area:[3]

Cities
Unincorporated communities
Census-designated places


Resources[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries of Dillingham, Alaska online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
TombstoneTranscriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the Census Area
See Alaska Cemeteries for more information

Census[edit | edit source]

Historical populations
Census Pop.
1960 4,024
1970 3,485 −13.4%
1980 4,616 32.5%
1990 4,012 −13.1%
2000 4,922 22.7%
2010 4,847 −1.5%
Source: "Wikipedia.org".

Church Records[edit | edit source]


List of Churches and Church Parishes

Court Records[edit | edit source]

Land and Property[edit | edit source]

Local Histories[edit | edit source]

Maps[edit | edit source]

Bristol Bay BoroughLake and Peninsula BoroughBethel Census AreaAK DILLINGHAM CENSUS AREA.PNG
Click a neighboring county
for more resources

Military[edit | edit source]

Naturalization and Citizenship[edit | edit source]

Newspapers[edit | edit source]

Other Records[edit | edit source]

Probate[edit | edit source]

Repositories[edit | edit source]

Taxation[edit | edit source]

Vital Records[edit | edit source]

Websites[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Dillingham Borough p. 48. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. Wikipedia contributors, "Dillingham Census Area, Alaska," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Dillingham_Census_Area,_Alaska 18 June 2018.
  3. Wikipedia contributors, "Dillingham Census Area, Alaska," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Dillingham_Census_Area,_Alaska, accessed 25 February 2019.