Dilham, Norfolk Genealogy
Guide to Dilham, Norfolk ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Poor Law Union||Tunstead and Happing|
|Parish registers: 1563|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1698|
|Probate Court||Court of the Archdeaconry of Norfolk|
|Location of Archive|
|Norfolk Record Office|
Parish History[edit | edit source]
DILHAM (St. Nicholas), a parish, in the incorporation of Tunstead and Happing, hundred of Tunstead, E. division of Norfolk, 5 miles (S. E.) from North Walsham. 
Dilham St Nicholas is an Ancient parish in the Waxham deanery of the Diocese of Norwich.
One of the 124 surviving round tower churches of Norfolk.
Four or five churches have stood on the site of St Nicholas Church. The first recorded church (it is thought there was an earlier religious building there)was built by William de Glanville c1125. The second larger edifice with a tower was built by Sir Roger Gyney c1370. After falling into disrepair this church was demolished in 1835. Another church was built shortly after but in turn this was found unsound and the present church was built by Cornish & Gaymer in 1931.
Resources[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
- Tunstead 1837-1869
- Smallburgh 1870-1938
- North Walsham 1939-1974
Church records[edit | edit source]
Dilham, Norfolk Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|DILHAM PARISH (1563) Online Records|
|NTA||1725-1864 (gaps)||1725-1901 (gaps)||1725-1920 (gaps)|
Norfolk Record Office reference PD 188 /1-8
Census records[edit | edit source]
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
http://www.btinternet.com/~e.c.apling/1891Census/Dilham.htm transcript of 1891 census
Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]
For Tunstead and Happing see http://www.institutions.org.uk/workhouses/england/norf/smallburgh_workhouse.htm
Probate records[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Norfolk Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Websites[edit | edit source]
- Dilham on GenUKI
- http://www.achurchnearyou.com/dilham-st-nicholas/ History of Church and Parish]
- British History online
- Norfolk Churches website
References[edit | edit source]
- Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England(1848), pp. 46-55. Date accessed: 19 September 2013.
- Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists, 1987).
- 'Norfolk Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 24 February 2014.
- 'England, Norfolk Archdeacon's Transcripts, 1600-1812,' FamilySearch, accessed 31 March 2014.
- 'England, Norfolk, Bishop's Transcripts, 1685-1941', FamilySearch, accessed 31 March 2014.
- 'England, Norfolk, Parish Registers (County Record Office), 1538-1900', FamilySearch, accessed 17 March 2014.
- Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Norfolk, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 20 March 2014.
- 'Norfolk Coverage,' The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 11 February 2014.
- Norfolk Transcription Archive, accessed 15 April 2014.
- 'Parish Records - Coverage', The Parish Register Transcription Society, accessed 7 October 2013.