Dickey County, North Dakota Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
United States
North Dakota
Dickey County

Guide to Dickey County, North Dakota ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.


{{{link}}}

County Facts
County seat: Ellendale
Organized: March 5, 1881
Parent County(s): LaMoure and Ransom , and unorganized territory[1]
Neighboring Counties
LaMoure  • McIntosh  • Ransom  • Sargent  • Brown (SD)  • McPherson (SD)
See County Maps
Courthouse
NorthDakotaDickeyCourthouse.jpg
Location Map
North Dakota Dickey Map.png
Adoption

County Information

Description

The county was formally organized in 1882 and the county seat located at Ellendale. There are those who claim it was named for Alfred Dickey, a prominent resident of Jamestown and the first Lieutenant Governor of North Dakota. He was a man well worthy of having a county named for him, but there is also a persistent belief that the county was named for a Mr. Dickey who was connected with the engineering staff of the Milwaukee Railroad.[2]

County Courthouse

Dickey County Courthouse
309 N 2nd Street
PO Box 215
Ellendale, ND 58436
Phone: 701.349.3560
Dickey County Website

Clerk District Court has marriage, burial, divorce, probate,
military and court records;  Register of Deeds has land
records; State Historical Society has naturalization records[3]

Dickey County, North Dakota Record Dates

Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.

Known Beginning Dates for Major Records[4]
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1894-1900 1883 1894-1900 1881 1881 1881 1836
*State Dept. of Vital Records started births and deaths in 1923.
Full compliance by 1924.[5]

Record Loss

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Boundary Changes

Populated Places

The following are locations in the county[7]

Cities
Unincorporated communites
  • Merricourt
Townships
  • Ada
  • Albertha
  • Albion
  • Bear Creek
  • Clement
  • Divide
  • Elden
  • Ellendale
  • Elm
  • German
  • Grand Valley
  • Hamburg
  • Hudson
  • James River Valley
  • Kent
  • Kentner
  • Keystone
  • Lorraine
  • Lovell
  • Maple
  • Northwest
  • Port Emma


Resources

Bible Records

Biographies

Business, Commerce, and Occupations

Cemeteries

Cemeteries of Adams County, North Dakota online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
Tombstone Transcriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See North Dakota Cemeteries for more information

Census Records

Historical populations
Census Pop.  %±
1890 5,573
1900 6,061 8.8%
1910 9,839 62.3%
1920 10,499 6.7%
1930 10,877 3.6%
1940 9,696 −10.9%
1950 9,121 −5.9%
1960 8,147 −10.7%
1970 6,976 −14.4%
1980 7,207 3.3%
1990 6,107 −15.3%
2000 5,757 −5.7%
2010 5,289 −8.1%
Source: "Wikipedia.org".

Before North Dakota was a state in 1889, parts of North Dakota were included in the 1836 Iowa Territory census (also known as Wisconsin Territory), 1840 Iowa Territory census, 1850 Minnesota Territory census, and the 1860-1880 Dakota Territory censuses.[8] See links listed below.

Territory and State Census Records

Federal Census Records

Federal Censuses were taken for the state of North Dakota starting in 1890, although no records survived. The 1900 Census is the next Federal Census available. For links to Federal census indexes, see North Dakota Census.

Church Records

Church records can be found online, kept onsite at the church, or housed in a church archive or library. See North Dakota Church Records for more information on how to locate the records.

Online Church Records
Lutheran Church

Court Records

Directories

Emigration and Immigration

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups

Funeral Homes

Genealogies

Guardianship

Land and Property Records

When the United States acquired North Dakota, most of the land became available for homesteading or purchase from the federal government. After land was transferred from the government to private owners, the registrar of deeds in each county recorded the land transactions in the form of deeds and mortgages. For more information, see North Dakota Land and Property.

Online Land Records

For more information see North Dakota Land and Property

Local Histories

Local histories, including those of the county, are available for Dickey County. These histories can include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information.

Maps and Gazetteers

Logan CountyLaMoure CountyRansom CountyMcIntosh CountySargent CountyMcPherson County, South DakotaBrown County, South DakotaMarshall County, South DakotaND DICKEY.JPG
About this image
Click a neighboring county
for more resources

Migration

Military Records

Civil War Battle

The following Civil War battle was fought in Dickey County.

Map showing Civil War battles in North Dakota.

Online Collections

These collections are unique to North Dakota. You will find nationwide databases for military records on U.S. Military Online Genealogy Records and North Dakota Military Records.

Civil War

World War I

World War II

Korean War

Vietnam War

For further information see North Dakota Military Records.

Naturalization and Citizenship

Online Naturalization Indexes and Records

Newspapers

For more information, see North Dakota Newspapers.

North Dakota Newspapers Online

North Dakota Newspaper Catalogs

Obituaries

Other Records

Periodicals

Probate Records

Probate records, including wills and estates, are at the county clerk's office. See also North Dakota Probate Records.

Online Probate Records

School Records

Tax Records

County tax records are at the county treasurer's, auditor's or clerk's office in the county courthouse. Some tax records may have been moved to the North Dakota State Archives.

Vital Records

Birth, marriage, death, and divorce records may be recorded on registers, certificates, or other documents at the county clerk's office. Many records are also being digitized and put online. See North Dakota Vital Records for more information about availability and how to access them.

Birth

Marriage

Death

Online Death Indexes and Records

Divorce

Research Facilities

Archives

North Dakota State University Archives
West Building 3551 7th Avenue
NFargo, ND 58102

Mailing Address:
NDSU Archives
Libraries NDSU Dept #2080
PO Box 6050
Fargo, ND 58108-6050
Phone: 701-231-8914
Fax: 701-231-5632
Email: ndsu.archives@ndsu.edu
Website

Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes.

Libraries

Museums

Societies

Dickey County Historical Society
9225 104th Ave. SE
Oakes, ND 58474
Telephone: 701-783-4361

Dickey County Historical Society
424 Main Ave.
Oakes, ND 58474
Telephone: 701-742-3034
Website

Whitestone Historical Society
8692 98th Ave. SE
Monango, ND 58436

Websites

Research Guides

References

  1. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  2. Genealogy Trails: Dickey County, North Dakota Genealogy and History
  3. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Dickey County, North Dakota. Page 523 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  4. Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 517.
  5. Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Rev. ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 1992), 562; Alice M. Hetzel, U.S. Vital Statistics System: Major Activities and Developments, 1950-95 (Hyattsville, Md.: U.S. Dept. of Health and Human Services, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, National Center for Health Statistics, [1997]), 58.
  6. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  7. Wikipedia contributors, "Dickey County, North Dakota," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia.
  8. Alice Eichholz, ‘’Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County and Town Sources,’’ 3rd ed. (Salt Lake City: Ancestry, 2004), 511. Free online version; FHL Book 973 D27rb 2004; WorldCat entry.
  9. Heritage Preservation Services, Civil War Battle Summaries by State