Dickenson County, Virginia Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Dickenson County, Virginia ancestry, family history and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, immigration records, and military records.


Dickenson County, Virginia
Map
Boundary map of Dickenson County, Virginia
Map of Virginia highlighting Dickenson County
Location in the state of Virginia
Map of the U.S. highlighting Virginia
Location of Virginia in the U.S.
Facts
Founded 1880
County Seat Clintwood
Courthouse
Dickenson County, Virginia Courthouse.JPG



County Information[edit | edit source]

Description[edit | edit source]

Dickenson County is located in the Southwest portion of the Commonwealth of Virginia and shares a border with Kentucky. The County was named for Delegate William J. Dickenson who sponsored the bill in the House of Delegates to establish this 100th county[1].

Dickenson County Virginia Courthouse[edit | edit source]

Dickenson County Courthouse
Box 190
Main Street
Clintwood, VA 24228-0190
Phone: 540-926-1616

County Health Department has birth, death, and burial records. Clerk Circuit court has marriage, divorce, court and land records from 1880 and military discharge records.[2]

Known Beginning Dates for Major County Records[3]
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1880 1880 1880 1880 1880 1880 1810
Statewide registration for births and deaths began in 1912.
General compliance year is unknown.

Dickenson County Virginia History[edit | edit source]

Parent County[edit | edit source]

1880 Dickenson County was created 3 March 1880 from Buchanan, Russell and Wise Counties.
County seat: Clintwood [2]

Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]

For animated maps illustrating Virginia county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Virginia County Boundary Maps" (1617-1995) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website. They rely on AniMap 3.0 software.

Record Loss[edit | edit source]

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Dickenson County Virginia Places/Localities[edit | edit source]

Populated Places[edit | edit source]

For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit HomeTown Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:[4]

Towns
Unincorporated communities
Census-designated places


Dickenson County Virginia Genealogy Resources[edit | edit source]

African American[edit | edit source]

Bible Records[edit | edit source]

Images of the Virginia Historical Society's family Bible collection have been digitized:


Cemeteries[edit | edit source]

Tombstone Transcriptions Online Tombstone Transcriptions in Print List of Cemeteries in the county
Findagrave.com Family History Library Findagrave.com
VAGenWeb WorldCat Billion Graves
VAGenWeb Archives
Tombstone Project
Virginia Gravestones
Billion Graves
See Virginia Cemeteries for more information.

Census[edit | edit source]

Historical populations
Census Pop.
1890 5,077
1900 7,747 52.6%
1910 9,199 18.7%
1920 13,542 47.2%
1930 16,163 19.4%
1940 21,266 31.6%
1950 23,393 10.0%
1960 20,211 −13.6%
1970 16,077 −20.5%
1980 19,806 23.2%
1990 17,620 −11.0%
2000 16,395 −7.0%
2010 15,903 −3.0%
Source: "Wikipedia.org".

1890 Union Veterans

1900

  • Dickenson County, Virginia, 1900 Federal Census. 1984. By Gregory Lynn Vanover, Joan Short Vanover, and Barbara Kendrick Vanover. Pound, Virginia : G.L. Vanover. Available at FHL.

Church Records[edit | edit source]

Baptist[edit | edit source]
  • Sand Lick Primitive Baptist Church, the First Hundred Years, 1837-1937: A History of the Oldest Religious Organization in Dickenson County, Virginia. 1937. Reprint 1985. By Elihu Jasper Sutherland. Clintwood, Virginia : Mullins Printing. Available at FHL.

Court[edit | edit source]

Library of Virginia's Chancery Records Index includes digital images for Dickenson County chancery records for the years 1883-1915.

Funeral Homes[edit | edit source]

Genealogy[edit | edit source]

Compiled Genealogies by Surname


A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Compiled Genealogies for Multiple Families

  • Sutherland, Elihu Jasper. E. J. Sutherland Collection, Dickenson County, Virginia, 1650-1965. MSS., FHL Collection [Includes Dickenson Co. families, 1650-1964 and Dickenson Co. genealogy 1732-1933.]
  • Sutherland, Elihu Jasper. Some Sandy Basin Characters. Clintwood, Va.: E.J. Sutherland, 1962. 1985 reprint: FHL Collection

Land and Property[edit | edit source]

Local Histories[edit | edit source]

  • Coalfields Expressway Final Environmental Impact Statement - Buchanan, Dickenson and Wise Counties, Virginia. 2001. By US Department of Transportation-Federal Highway Administration and Virginia Department of Transportation. Online at: Google Books.
  • Meet Virginia's Baby: A Brief Pictorial History of Dickenson County, Virginia, from Its Formation in 1880 to 1955, with Stress on Pioneer Background. 1955. Reprint 1975. By Elihu Jasper Sutherland. Clintwood, VA : E.J. Sutherland. Available at FHL.
  • Pioneer Recollections of Southwest Virginia. 1984. By Elihu Jasper Sutherland and Hetty Swindall Sutherland. Clintwood, VA : H.S. Sutherland, G.L. Vanover, and J.S. Vanover. Available at FHL.
  • The Forests of Dickenson County, Virginia. 1917. By W.G. Schwab. Charlottesville, VA : n.p. Online at: Hathitrust, Google Books.
  • The Geology and Coal Resources of Dickenson County, Virginia. 1921. By Albert William Giles. University of Virginia. Online at: Google Books.
  • Virginia County Names: Two Hundred and Seventy Years of Virginia History. 1908. By Charles M. Long, MA, PhD. New York, NY : The Neale Publishing Company. Online at: Google Books.

Maps[edit | edit source]

Norton (Independent City)Wise CountyRussell CountyLetcher CountyPike CountyBuchanan CountyVA DICKENSON.PNG
Click a neighboring county
for more resources

Military[edit | edit source]

Civil War[edit | edit source]

Regiments. Service men in Dickenson County, Virginia Genealogy served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Dickenson County, Virginia Genealogy:

- 2nd Regiment, Virginia State Line (Cavalry) (Confederate). Company B.
- 5th Regiment, Virginia State Line (Cavalry, Artillery, and Infantry) (Confederate). Companies C and D.[5]

Records and histories are available, including:

Miscellaneous Records[edit | edit source]

Naturalization[edit | edit source]

Newspapers[edit | edit source]

The Virginia Newspapers Project identifies local Dickenson County, Virginia Genealogy newspapers.


Private Papers[edit | edit source]

Dickenson County, Virginia, Family Bible Records, 1934-1935. Clintwood, Virginia: Mullins Printing, 1999. Available at FHL.

Probate Records[edit | edit source]

Research Guides[edit | edit source]

  • A Guide to the Counties of Virginia: Dickenson County. The Virginia Genealogist, Vol. 8, No. 3 (Jul.-Sep. 1964):124-126. Available at FHL; digital version at American Ancestors ($).

Taxation[edit | edit source]

Vital Records[edit | edit source]

Indexes to Dickenson County, Virginia Genealogy births, marriages, and deaths are available online. These collections are incomplete, but are easy to search. Most records can also be ordered electronically online as well. Courtesy: FamilySearch. See also How to order Virginia Vital Records

  • E. J. Sutherland Collection, Dickenson County, Virginia, 1650-1965. By Elihu Jasper Sutherland. MSS., available at FHL. Includes Dickenson County Vital Statistics, 1830-1938.
Birth[edit | edit source]
Marriage[edit | edit source]
Divorce[edit | edit source]
Death[edit | edit source]
Vital Record Substitutes[edit | edit source]

Dickenson County Virginia Genealogy Societies and Libraries[edit | edit source]

Family History Centers[edit | edit source]

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes.

Dickenson County Virginia Genealogy Websites[edit | edit source]

Dickenson County Virginia Genealogy References[edit | edit source]

  1. http://www.dickensonva.org/index.aspx?nid=156
  2. 2.0 2.1 Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Dickenson County, Virginia. Page 713 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  3. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Dickenson County, Virginia . Page 710-723 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 715-720.
  4. Wikipedia contributors, "Dickenson_ County,_Virginia," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia,https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Dickenson_County,_Virginia#Communities accessed 10 January 2020.
  5. The Virginia State Line: Organizational Structure of the Virginia State Line, Ranger95.com,, accessed 11 June 2012.