To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Dickenson County, Virginia Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Dickenson County, Virginia)
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Dickenson County, Virginia ancestry, family history and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, immigration records, and military records.


{{{link}}}


Dickenson County, Virginia
Map
Boundary map of Dickenson County, Virginia
Map of Virginia highlighting Dickenson County
Location in the state of Virginia
Map of the U.S. highlighting Virginia
Location of Virginia in the U.S.
Facts
Founded 1880
County Seat Clintwood
Courthouse
Address VirginiaDickensonCourthouse.jpg


County Information[edit | edit source]

Description[edit | edit source]

Dickenson County is located in the Southwest portion of the Commonwealth of Virginia and shares a border with Kentucky. The County was named for Delegate William J. Dickenson who sponsored the bill in the House of Delegates to establish this 100th county[1].

Dickenson County Virginia Courthouse[edit | edit source]

Dickenson County Courthouse
Box 190
Main Street
Clintwood, VA 24228-0190
Phone: 540-926-1616

County Health Department has birth, death, and burial records,
Clerk Circuit court has marriage, divorce, court and land records
from 1880 and military discharge records[2]

Known Beginning Dates for Major County Records[3]
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1880 1880 1880 1880 1880 1880 1810
Statewide registration for births and deaths began in 1912.
General compliance year is unknown.

Dickenson County Virginia History[edit | edit source]

Parent County[edit | edit source]

1880--Dickenson County was created 3 March 1880 from Buchanan, Russell and Wise Counties.
County seat: Clintwood [2]

Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]

For animated maps illustrating Virginia county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Virginia County Boundary Maps" (1617-1995) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website. They rely on AniMap 3.0 software.

Record Loss[edit | edit source]

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Dickenson County Virginia Places/Localities[edit | edit source]

Populated Places[edit | edit source]

Dickenson County Virginia Genealogy Resources[edit | edit source]

African American[edit | edit source]

Virginia, Freedmen's Bureau Field Office Records, 1865-1872

Bible Records[edit | edit source]

Images of the Virginia Historical Society's family Bible collection have been digitized:


Cemeteries[edit | edit source]

Tombstone Transcriptions Online Tombstone Transcriptions in Print List of Cemeteries in the county
Findagrave.com Family History Library Findagrave.com
VAGenWeb WorldCat Billion Graves
VAGenWeb Archives
Tombstone Project
Virginia Gravestones
Billion Graves
See Virginia Cemeteries for more information.

Census[edit | edit source]

For tips on accessing Dickenson County, Virginia Genealogy census records online, see: Virginia Census.


Historical populations
Census Pop.
18905,077
19007,74752.6%
19109,19918.7%
192013,54247.2%
193016,16319.4%
194021,26631.6%
195023,39310.0%
196020,211−13.6%
197016,077−20.5%
198019,80623.2%
199017,620−11.0%
200016,395−7.0%
201015,903−3.0%

1890 Union Veterans

1900

  • Vanover, Gregory Lynn, Joan Short Vanover, and Barbara Kendrick Vanover. Dickenson County, Virginia, 1900 Federal Census. Pound, Virginia: G.L. Vanover, 1984. Available at FHL.

Church Records[edit | edit source]

Baptist[edit | edit source]
  • Sutherland, Elihu Jasper. Sand Lick Primitive Baptist Church, the First Hundred Years, 1837-1937: A History of the Oldest Religious Organization in Dickenson County, Virginia. 1937; reprint, [Clintwood, Virginia?]: Mullins Printing, 1985. Available at FHL.

Court[edit | edit source]

Genealogy[edit | edit source]

More than a dozen genealogies have been published about Dickenson County families. For a list, see Dickenson County, Virginia Compiled Genealogies.

Land and Property[edit | edit source]

Local Histories[edit | edit source]

  • Giles, Albert William. The Geology and Coal Resources of Dickenson County, Virginia. University of Virginia, 1921. Digital version at Google Books (full-view).
  • Schwab, W.G. The Forests of Dickenson County, Virginia. Charlottesville, Va., 1917. Digital version at Google Books (full-view).
  • Sutherland, Elihu Jasper. Meet Virginia's Baby: A Brief Pictorial History of Dickenson County, Virginia, from Its Formation in 1880 to 1955, with Stress on Pioneer Background. Clintwood, Va.: E.J. Sutherland, 1955. 1975 reprint available at FHL.
  • Sutherland, Elihu Jasper and Hetty Swindall Sutherland. Pioneer Recollections of Southwest Virginia. Clintwood, Va.: H.S. Sutherland, G.L. Vanover, and J.S. Vanover, 1984. Available at FHL.

Maps[edit | edit source]

Norton (Independent City)Wise CountyRussell CountyLetcher CountyPike CountyBuchanan CountyVA DICKENSON.PNG
About this image
Click a neighboring county
for more resources


Military[edit | edit source]

Civil War[edit | edit source]

Regiments. Service men in Dickenson County, Virginia Genealogy served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Dickenson County, Virginia Genealogy:

- 2nd Regiment, Virginia State Line (Cavalry) (Confederate). Company B.
- 5th Regiment, Virginia State Line (Cavalry, Artillery, and Infantry) (Confederate). Companies C and D.[4]

Records and histories are available, including:

Miscellaneous Records[edit | edit source]

Naturalization[edit | edit source]

Newspapers[edit | edit source]

The Virginia Newspapers Project identifies local Dickenson County, Virginia Genealogy newspapers.


Private Papers[edit | edit source]

Dickenson County, Virginia, Family Bible Records, 1934-1935. Clintwood, Virginia: Mullins Printing, 1999. Available at FHL.

Probate Records[edit | edit source]

Research Guides[edit | edit source]

  • "A Guide to the Counties of Virginia: Dickenson County," The Virginia Genealogist, Vol. 8, No. 3 (Jul.-Sep. 1964):124-126. Available at FHL; digital version at American Ancestors ($).

Taxation[edit | edit source]

Vital Records[edit | edit source]

Indexes to Dickenson County, Virginia Genealogy births, marriages, and deaths are available online. These collections are incomplete, but are easy to search. Most records can also be ordered electronically online as well. Courtesy: FamilySearch. See also How to order Virginia Vital Records*Sutherland, Elihu Jasper. E. J. Sutherland Collection, Dickenson County, Virginia, 1650-1965. MSS., available at FHL. [Includes Dickenson County Vital Statistics, 1830-1938.]

Birth[edit | edit source]
Marriage[edit | edit source]
Divorce[edit | edit source]
Death[edit | edit source]
Vital Record Substitutes[edit | edit source]

Dickenson County Virginia Genealogy Societies and Libraries[edit | edit source]

Family History Centers[edit | edit source]

Family history centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See family history center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.

Dickenson County Virginia Genealogy Websites[edit | edit source]

Dickenson County Virginia Genealogy References[edit | edit source]

  1. http://www.dickensonva.org/index.aspx?nid=156
  2. 2.0 2.1 Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Dickenson County, Virginia. Page 713 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  3. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Dickenson County, Virginia . Page 710-723 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 715-720.
  4. The Virginia State Line: Organizational Structure of the Virginia State Line, Ranger95.com,, accessed 11 June 2012.