Dickens County, Texas Genealogy
Guide to Dickens County Texas ancestry, family history, and genealogy research page. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
|Dickens County, Texas|
Location in the state of Texas
Location of Texas in the U.S.
|Founded||March 17, 1892|
|Address||Dickens County Courthouse|
PO Box 179
Dickens, TX 79229
- 1 County Information
- 2 History
- 3 Places/Localities
- 4 Resources
- 4.1 Cemeteries
- 4.2 Census
- 4.3 Churches
- 4.4 Court
- 4.5 Land
- 4.6 Naturalization and Citizenship
- 4.7 Local Histories
- 4.8 Maps
- 4.9 Military
- 4.10 Newspapers
- 4.11 Obituaries
- 4.12 Probate
- 4.13 Taxation
- 4.14 Vital Records
- 5 Societies and Libraries
- 6 Websites
- 7 References
County Information[edit | edit source]
Description[edit | edit source]
The county was named for J. Dickens, who died at the Battle of the Alamo. The County is located in the northwest area of the state.
County Courthouse[edit | edit source]
Dickens County Courthouse
PO Box 179
Dickens, TX 79229
County Clerk has birth, marriage, death, burial, divorce, probate and land records form 1891
Dickens County Courthouse
P.O. Box 120
Dickens, Texas 79229
P.O. Box 120
Dickens, Texas 79229
P.O. Box 120
Dickens, Texas 79229
Dickens County, Texas Record Dates[edit | edit source]
History[edit | edit source]
DICKENS is centrally located in DICKENS COUNTY, eight miles below the escarpment of the Llano Estacado (below the Caprock). It was a ranch supply point for an area where the first settlements were dugouts used as cowboy line camps for the Spur, Pitchfork, and Matador Ranches. In 1886 there was a camp near the present townsite and by 1889 Dickens was settled. The town became the county seat shortly after the county was organized and by 1893 had a post office, wagon yard, hotel, courthouse, saloon, blacksmith shop and a barber shop. The school was in a dugout on the courthouse square. Preaching was also held in the dugout.
In 1890 the county had a population of 195 and most of the people lived in and around Dickens. Soon after 1900, Dickens had a population of 600, the most it has ever had. There was a decline before World War II but when the boys came back home the town took a new growth with the building of new homes and businesses. This lasted for a few years with another downward surge following. In 1964 the town was voted wet and a new upward surge began with a population of 430. Highway 82 runs through the center of Dickens and has helped the town's businesses do well. As of 1997 the town shows another decline with population around 325.
Parent County[edit | edit source]
Dickens County was formed from Bexar, Young, Baylor and Crosby Territories. 
Created August 21, 1876 and organized February 9, 1891 from Crosby County.
Named in honor of J. Dickens, who died in the siege of the Alamo.
Espuela was the first County seat temporarily from April 2, 1891 to March 17, 1892.
Dickens became the County seat from March 17, 1892 to present.
Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]
Record Loss[edit | edit source]
There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.
Places/Localities[edit | edit source]
Populated Places[edit | edit source]
For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit Hometown Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:
Ghost Towns[edit | edit source]
Neighboring Counties[edit | edit source]
Resources[edit | edit source]
Cemeteries[edit | edit source]
Cemetery records often reveal birth, marriage, death, relationship, military, and religious information.
|Tombstone Transcriptions Online||Tombstone Transcriptions in Print||List of Cemeteries in the county|
|FindAGrave||Family History Library||FindAGrave|
|BillionGraves (name)||Cemeteries of TX|
|GenWeb Archives||Texas Cemeteries|
|Names in Stone|
|See Texas Cemeteries for more information.|
Census[edit | edit source]
Churches[edit | edit source]
- Bethel Baptist Church, 519 N. Williams, Spur
- Church of Christ W. Hwy 70, Spur
- Church of Christ E. Hwy 70, Spur
- Community Bible Chapel 209 E. Third, Spur
- Dickens Baptist Church, 1022 Fourth, Dickens
- Dickens Bible Church of the Nazarene, Afton
- First Assembly of God Church, third and Cowan, Spur
- First Baptist Church 120 W. Second, Spur
- First Christian Church, 610 N. Burlington, Spur
- First United Methodist Church, 528 N. Burlington, Spur
- Independent Christian Churches, 507 N. Willard, Spur
- Lakeside Baptist Church, S. Parker, Spur
- St. Mary's Catholic Church, E. Sixth, Spur
List of Churches and Church Parishes
Court[edit | edit source]
Land[edit | edit source]
After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions, including deeds and mortgages, have been recorded by the county. You can obtain copies of these land records by writing to the county clerk at the county courthouse. For more information, see Texas Land and Property.
The FamilySearch Catalog lists microfilm copies of deeds, trust deeds, and mortgages of many counties.
Naturalization and Citizenship[edit | edit source]
- 1906-1989 Texas, Naturalization Records — index and images
Local Histories[edit | edit source]
Local histories are available for Dickens County, Texas Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Texas Local Histories.
- A History of Dickens County by Fred Arrington 1971
- Dickens County, Its Land and People by Dickens County Historical Commission 1986
- The Spurs, W.J. "Scotch Bill" Elliott published by The Spur Newspaper, 1939. Stories of the ranch land of the Spur Headquarters Ranch and Espuela Land and Cattle Company.
- Surnames of Dickens County
Maps[edit | edit source]
Military[edit | edit source]
- 1838 - 1900 - Texas Muster Roll Index Cards at Ancestry.com — index and images $
- Veterans of Dickens County
- Those Who Made the Ultimate Sacrifice
Mexican-American War[edit | edit source]
Civil War[edit | edit source]
- 1861 - 1865 - Texas, Civil War Service Records of Confederate Soldiers, 1861-1865 at FamilySearch — index
- 1861 - 1865 - Texas, Civil War Records of Union Soldiers, 1861-1865 at FamilySearch — index
- Civil War Veterans
- Biographies of Civil War Veterans
World War I[edit | edit source]
Newspapers[edit | edit source]
Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Dickens County, Texas Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:
- TX Newspaper Abstracts (For instructions see WorldCat Online Catalog).
Obituaries[edit | edit source]
Probate[edit | edit source]
Probate records of Texas have been kept by the probate clerk in each county courthouse. You can obtain copies of the records from the clerk's office. In most counties, all information pertaining to a probate case is recorded in the "probate minutes."
Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their places of residence.
Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, marriage, adoption, and birth and death records.
See the Wiki page Texas Probate Records for information about how to use probate records.
Online Probate Records
- 1800 – 1990 Texas Probate Records at FamilySearch — images
- 1800 – 2000 Texas Wills and Probate Records at Ancestry.com — index and images $
Taxation[edit | edit source]
Texas tax records complement land records and can be used in place of censuses or to supplement the years between censuses. Because only persons who owned taxable property were listed, many residents were not included in tax lists. There may also be gaps of several years in the tax records of some counties. For more information, see the wiki page Texas Taxation.
1846-1910 Texas County Tax Rolls lists FHL films with county tax lists. The lists vary by county and year. Most records are between the years of 1846 - 1910.
- Taxes, Wills and probate (subscription)
Vital Records[edit | edit source]
Certified birth and death certificates or birth and death verifications can be ordered online or by mail at the Texas Vital Records State Department of Health. Copies can also be obtained from the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred and are often less expensive. You can also order them online through a third party company.
See Texas Vital Records for more information about Vital records in Texas.
Birth[edit | edit source]
Online Birth Indexes and Records
- 1903-1997 Texas Birth Index (index)- FamilySearch
- 1903-1935 Texas, Birth Certificates (images and index) - FamilySearch
- 1840-1981 Texas, Births and Christenings - FamilySearch
Marriage[edit | edit source]
Online Marriage Indexes and Records
- 1802-2010 Texas, United States Marriages at FindMyPast — index $
- 1814-1909 and 1966-2011 Texas Marriage Collection at Ancestry.com — index $
- 1837-1965 Texas, County Marriage Records, 1837-1965 at FamilySearch — index and images
- 1837-1973 Texas, Marriages, 1837-1973 at FamilySearch — index
- 1837-1977 Texas, County Marriage Index, 1837-1977 at FamilySearch — index
- 1837-1977 Texas Select County Marriage Index at Ancestry.com — index $
- 1966-2010 Texas, Marriages - FamilySearch record collection
Death[edit | edit source]
Online Death Indexes and Records
- 1890-1976 Texas Death Records [with images] Name index and images of statewide death certificates, 1890-1976. The name index has been created by FamilySearch and is tied to images of the Texas death certificates. Few certificates are available prior to 1903.
- 1903-1973 Texas Deaths and Burials at FamilySearch.org — index
- 1903-1982 Texas Death Certificates at Ancestry.com — index and images $
- 1964-1984 Death Records in Dickens County Archives - TXGenWeb Project
- 1964-1998 Texas Death Index [no images] Name index to Texas Statewide Death Certificates or four million people who have died since 1964.
- 1977-1986 Texas Deaths at FamilySearch.org — index
Divorce[edit | edit source]
- 1968-2005 Texas Divorce Records (index) Hidden Ancestors
- 1968-2010 Texas Divorce Index at FamilySearch.org — index
- 1968-2011 Texas Divorces at Ancestry.com — index $
Societies and Libraries[edit | edit source]
- Dickens County Public Library
- Dickens County Historical Commission
- Spur Chamber of Commerce
Family History Centers[edit | edit source]
Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes.
- For current information about a center near you, go to the Family History Center Map
Websites[edit | edit source]
- Dicken County TXGenWeb
- USGenWeb project - May have maps, name indexes, history or other information for this county. Select the state, then the county.
References[edit | edit source]
- Wikipedia contributors, "Dickens County, Texas," in https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Dickens_County,_Texas. accessed 07/30/2019
- Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Dickens County, Texas. Page 662 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Dickens County, Texas . Page 658-677 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 655-665.
- The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
- Wikipedia contributors, "DeWitt County, Texas," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/DeWitt_County,_Texas, accessed 3 April 2019.