Deschutes County, Oregon Genealogy
Guide to Deschutes County, Oregon ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
|Deschutes County, Oregon|
Location in the state of Oregon
Location of Oregon in the U.S.
|Founded||December 13, 1916|
|Address||Deschutes County Courthouse|
1340 N W Wall Street
Bend, Or 97701
Deschutes County Website
- 1 County Information
- 2 Deschutes County, Oregon Record Dates
- 3 County Courthouse
- 4 Historical Facts
- 5 Places / Localities
- 6 Resources
- 6.1 Cemeteries
- 6.2 Census
- 6.3 Church History and Records
- 6.4 Court Records
- 6.5 Gazetteers
- 6.6 History
- 6.7 Land and Property
- 6.8 Maps
- 6.9 Military History and Records
- 6.10 Newspapers
- 6.11 Probate Records
- 6.12 Rivers and Waterways
- 6.13 Taxation
- 6.14 Vital Records
- 7 Societies, Libraries and Museums
- 8 Websites
- 9 Deschutes County Oregon Genealogy References
County Information[edit | edit source]
Description[edit | edit source]
The County was named for the Deschutes River. The County is located in the central area of the state. 
Deschutes County, Oregon Record Dates[edit | edit source]
[edit | edit source]
County Clerk has marriage, burial, divorce, land,
probate, military discharge records from 1853
and Naturalization records from 1916.
County Records Inventory listing the records held at the Deschutes County Court House as of September/October 2007.
Deschutes County Court is structured differently. Check the County Records Inventory link for addresses for location of records (left column).
- Record Loss:
Historical Facts[edit | edit source]
Named for Deschutes River. French name was Riviere des Chutes or Riviere aux Chutes, meaning River of the Falls. The waterfall it referred to was Celilo Falls near where the river exits into Columbia River.
Parent County[edit | edit source]
Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]
For animated maps illustrating Oregon County boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Oregon County Boundary Maps" (1843-1975) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.
Record Loss[edit | edit source]
There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.
Places / Localities[edit | edit source]
Populated Places[edit | edit source]
For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit HomeTown Locator
The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:
Defunct Post Offices[edit | edit source]
- Alfalfa: Alfalfa is a well-known district, about 15 miles east of Bend, named for the forage crop grown there under irrigation. Alfalfa post office was established Jan. 29, 1912, with Sibyl C. Walker first of several postmasters. The office was closed Dec. 26, 1922, and the business was turned over to Bend. FamilySearch Catalog
Neighboring Counties[edit | edit source]
Trivia Tidbits[edit | edit source]
Information about localities, too small or too brief to describe in separate pages. Exception to this are Post Offices. > Trivia Tidbits
Resources[edit | edit source]
Cemeteries[edit | edit source]
|Tombstone Transcriptions Online||Tombstone Transcriptions in Print||List of Cemeteries in the county|
|Findagrave.com||Family History Library||Findagrave.com|
|See Oregon Cemeteries for more information.|
Census[edit | edit source]
Census[edit | edit source]
Church History and Records[edit | edit source]
List of Churches and Church Parishes
Court Records[edit | edit source]
Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
History[edit | edit source]
Land and Property[edit | edit source]
Maps[edit | edit source]
Military History and Records[edit | edit source]
Civil War[edit | edit source]
- 1861-1865 - Oregon, Civil War Service Records of Union Soldiers, 1861-1865 at FamilySearch — index
World War I[edit | edit source]
- 1919-1920 - Oregon, World War I, County Military Service Records, 1919-1920 at FamilySearch — index
- 1921-1938 - Oregon, World War I, Veteran State Aid Applications, 1921-1938 at FamilySearch — index and images
Newspapers[edit | edit source]
Oregon Online Historical Newspapers - identifies historical archived and digitized newspapers available online on both free and pay-to-access websites.
Probate Records[edit | edit source]
Rivers and Waterways[edit | edit source]
Details about the rivers and waterways where farms and settlements are often found along them. >> Rivers and Waterways
Taxation[edit | edit source]
Vital Records[edit | edit source]
See also How to order Oregon Vital Records, order electronically online or download an application for Oregon Birth Certificate, Marriage Certificate, Divorce Certificate, Death Certificate Application to mail.
Birth Records[edit | edit source]
Delayed Birth Certificates
Marriage Records[edit | edit source]
- 1826-1975 - Oregon, United States Marriages at FindMyPast — index $
- 1849-1884; 1991-2006 - Oregon Marriage Index, 1849-1884; 1991-2006 at FamilySearch — index and images; collection is incomplete.
- Extractions of early marriages are listed on the Western States Marriage Index
- Marriage Index 1885-1896 Actually is a book of affiants reporting the marriages. Historical Records Collection
Death Records[edit | edit source]
Societies, Libraries and Museums[edit | edit source]
Deschutes County Historical Society
129 NW Idaho Ave
Bend OR 97701
Deschutes County Historical Society
PO Box 5252
Family History Centers[edit | edit source]
Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes.
- For current information about a center near you, go to the Family History Center Map
- Bend Oregon Family History Center 1260 NE Thompson Dr Bend OR 97701 United States Location Map
- Redmond Oregon Family History Center 450 SW Rimrock Dr Redmond OR 97756 United States Location Map
Websites[edit | edit source]
- Deschutes County, OR History, Records, Facts and Genealogy
- Oregon Genealogy Network Group on Facebook
- The Deschutes County GenWeb Project part of The ORGenWeb Project
- The USGenWeb Archives Project
- The USGenWeb Archives Project (backup site)
- FamilySearch.org FamilySearch Catalog for Deschutes County.
Deschutes County Oregon Genealogy References[edit | edit source]
- Wikipedia contributors, "Deschutes, Oregon" in https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Deschutes_County,_Oregon accessed 27 Nov 2018
- Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Deschutes County, Oregon . Page 572-574 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 563-564.
- Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Deshutes County, Oregon page 572, At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- WorldCat 50140092 Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed.] (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), [FHL book 973 D27e 2002].
- Wikipedia contributors, "Deschutes County, Oregon," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Deschutes_County,_Oregon, accessed 10 October 2018.