Des Moines County, Iowa Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
United States
Iowa
Des Moines County
Guide to Des Moines County, Iowa ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
Cascade Bridge, which carries Main Street over the Cascade Ravine in Burlington, Iowa, United States

{{{link}}}

Des Moines County, Iowa
Map
Map of Iowa highlighting Des Moines County
Location in the state of Iowa
Map of the U.S. highlighting Iowa
Location of Iowa in the U.S.
Facts
Founded October 1, 1834
County Seat Burlington
Courthouse
IowaDesMoinesCourthouse.jpg
Address 513 N. Main St.
PO Box 277
Burlington, Iowa 52601
Phone: (319) 753-8221
Des Moines County Website


County Information

Des Moines County, Iowa Record Dates

Beginning Dates for Major County Records[1]
Birth Marriage Death Census Land Probate
1880 1835 1880 1840 1837 1835

County Courthouse

Des Moines County Courthouse
513 N. Main St.
PO Box 277
Burlington, Iowa 52601
(319) 753-8221

History

Parent County

1834--Des Moines County was created 1 October 1834, when Des Moines County Congress passed an act attaching the Black Hawk Purchase to the Territory of Michigan in June of 1834 prior to that it was part of Wisconsin. The following September the Legislature of Michigan divided this land purchase into two counties, Dubuque and Des Moines. The dividing boundary was a line running west from the lower end of Rock Island. At this time County courts were established with Des Moines County Court placed in the city of Burlington. Des Moines was named after the Des Moines River. County seat: Burlington [2]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Iowa County boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Iowa County Boundary Maps" (1816-1872) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss

1873 Courthouse burned and some records were destroyed.

For suggestions about research in places that suffered historic record losses, see:

Places/Localities

Town/city records in the FamilySearch Catalog

Cities: Burlington | Danville | Dodgeville | Mediapolis | Middletown | West Burlington

Historical Postoffices: Linton Unincorporated Towns: Augusta | Latty | Sperry

  • Townships and Villages:

Ghost Towns of Des Moines County

Ghost towns are settlements, towns, and villages whose thriving little communities dried up for various reasons. Some are now part of other townships, some have just faded away. Here are their names, the years they were functioning, and the Townships they were a part of.

  • Albright's 1849-65 of Benton Twp
  • Amityville 1871-79 of Huron Twp
  • Bluff Dale 1817-53 of Kingston
  • Burkhart's Point 1836 of Franklin Twp
  • Centerville 1857 of Danville Twp
  • Cora 1847
  • Danville Center of Danville Twp
  • Denny
  • Evermanns Switch
  • Fan 1890-1910 of Flint River Twp
  • Flint Hills the original name for Burlington
  • Fox Landing 1893
  • Franklin Mills 1859-97 Franklin Twp
  • Garland
  • Growell
  • Hartford 1841-51 of Danville Twp
  • Hawkeye 1845-63 of Huron Twp

Neighboring Counties

Henry • Lee • Louisa • Henderson County, Illinois • Mercer County, Illinois

Error: Image is invalid or non-existent.

Resources

Biographies

Cemeteries

Tombstone Transcriptions Online Tombstone Transcriptions in Print List of Cemeteries in the county
Findagrave.com Family History Library Findagrave.com
IAGenWeb WorldCat Billion Graves
IAGenWeb Archives
Tombstone Project
Iowa Gravestones
Billion Graves
See Iowa Cemeteries for more information.

There are many cemeteries in townships, cities, and farms located throughout Des Moines County that have been transcribed. Additional information on their locations is at Des Moines County Cemeteries Map. More information can be found on microfilm at the Family History Library based in Salt Lake City, Utah and can be requested and viewed at Family History Centers throughout the world.

Transcriptions for some of these cemeteries can be found at:

Census

Iowa recorded not only the federal census but state census through out the years too. The state census contains very valuable genealogical information. Where the census information can be found, what years it was taken, mortality schedules, census substitutions and much more is discussed in the very informative Iowa Census article.

State Census

Church

Most church records are held by individual churches. For contact information, check a phone directory, such as SearchBug or Dex Knows. Some denominations are gathering their records into a central repository. For more information about these major repositories, see Iowa Church Records.


  • Record book, 1866-1903 [3]Contains baptisms, burials, marriages, membership lists, and sermons.Dr. McClintock was pastor to churches at Mt. Pleasant, 1866-1870; Burlington, 1871-1896; and Sioux City, 1896-1903.
Lutheran
  • Records of the American Lutheran Church, Des Moines County, in Evangelical Lutheran Church in America database at Archives.com ($).
Methodist
  • Church records, 1855-1917. [4]Text in German.This church was also known as the German Methodist Church.Contains records for the churches of Flint Creek, Temmytown/Tamytown, Bluffs, Pleasant Grove, Union, Bethel, Sperry, Kline.Includes marriages; baptisms; membership lists; burials, 1856, 1865-1916; meeting minutes; finances; conference reports.

Court

The Des Moines Courthouse is located in the town of Burlington.

Directories

Genealogy

Land

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Iowa Land and Property for additional information about early Iowa land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse, where records are currently housed.


Local Histories

Local histories are available for Des Moines County, Iowa Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Iowa Local Histories.


Merrill, J. W. Yellow Spring and Huron. Mediapolis, Iowa : Merrill, 1897.

Maps

Military

Civil War

Regiments. Service men in Des Moines County, Iowa Genealogy served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Des Moines County, Iowa Genealogy:

- 1st Regiment, Iowa Infantry (3 months, 1861), Companies D and E
- 2nd Regiment, Iowa Cavalry, Company K
- 6th Regiment, Iowa Infantry, Company I
- 14th Regiment, Iowa Infantry, Company K
- 17th Regiment, Iowa Infantry, Company D
- 25th Regiment, Iowa Infantry, Companies D, E and G
- 30th Regiment, Iowa Infantry, Company C
- 45th Regiment, Iowa Infantry (100 days, 1864), Companies F and G
- 48th Regiment, Iowa Infantry (100 days, 1864), Company D
- Engineer Regiment of the West, Missouri Volunteers (Union), Company K
:- 14th Regiment, Iowa Infantry, Company K
:- 17th Regiment, Iowa Infantry, Company D
:- 1st Regiment, Iowa Cavalry, Company C
:- 1st Regiment, Iowa Infantry (3 months, 1861), Company D
:- 1st Regiment, Iowa Infantry (3 months, 1861), Company E
:- 25th Regiment, Iowa Infantry, Company D
:- 25th Regiment, Iowa Infantry, Company E
:- 25th Regiment, Iowa Infantry, Company G
:- 2nd Regiment, Iowa Cavalry,
:- 30th Regiment, Iowa Infantry, Company C
:- 45th Regiment, Iowa Infantry (100 days, 1864), Company F
:- 45th Regiment, Iowa Infantry (100 days, 1864), Company G
:- 48th Regiment, Iowa Infantry (100 days, 1864), Company D
:- 6th Regiment, Iowa Infantry, Company I

Newspapers

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Des Moines County, Iowa Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:


  • The Burlington Weekly Hawkeye. 1857, 1862-1865, 1875, 1876,1880, 1882 Burlington, IA, USA. Online at: Ancestry.com ($)
  • Burlington Hawk Eye. 1849-1851, 1874, 1876-1880 Burlington, IA, USA.Online at: Ancestry.com ($)
  • Weekly Hawk Eye And Telegraph. 1855-1861, 1883 Burlington, IA, USA. Online at: Ancestry.com ($)
  • The Weekly Hawk Eye. 1858-1861, 1883 Burlington, IA, USA. Online at: Ancestry.com ($)
  • Hawk Eye. 1843-1845, 1976 Burlington, IA, USA. Online at: Ancestry.com ($)
  • Burlington Tri Weekly Hawk Eye. 1854, 1855 Burlington, IA, USA. Online at: Ancestry.com ($)

Probate

Online Probate Records

In most counties in Iowa, probate records have been kept by the county judge. They include wills, fee books, claim registers, legacy records, inheritance records, probate ticklers, and dockets. The records are available at the county courthouse.

The FamilySearch Catalog lists films of probate records. To find the records for this county, use the Place Search for Iowa - Des Moines - Probate records.


Taxation

Iowa tax records complement land records and can be used to supplement the years between censuses. Tax lists were usually made every year, however, there may be gaps of several years. For more information, see the wiki page Iowa Taxation.


Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Iowa Department of Public Health or the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred. See also How to order Iowa Vital Records or order electronically online.

Birth Records

Iowa law did not require birth records be maintained by civil authorities until 1880. For records of these early births, try delayed births, church records, and death records.

Birth records kept by the District Court, 1880-1904; 1906-1934, have been microfilmed and are available at the State Historical Society in Des Moines, Polk County, Iowa and 1880-1931 at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City.

Marriage Records

Some early Marriages Of Des Moines County 1837 to 1850 have been transcribed and published.

Des Moines County Marriage Records, from 1880-1904; 1906-1935 have been microfilmed and can be found at the State Historical Society in Des Moines, Polk County Iowa. Index to marriage records, 1921-1977; marriage records, 1835-1930 at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City.

Death Records

Societies and Libraries

Des Moines County Genealogical Society
P O Box 493
Burlington IA 52601
Telephone:319-572-9290 8am to 4pm CST
E-mail: dmcgs@dmcgs.org
Website

Des Moines County Historical Society
501 N Fourth Street
Burlington IA 52601
Telephone:319-752-0419
E-mail: tellmemore@dmchs.org
Website

Burlington Public Library
210 Court Street
Burlington, IA 52601-1647
Phone: 319-753-1647
Website

For more information about Societies in Iowa see the Iowa Societies page.

Family History Centers

Websites



Sites with online indexes or images of records pertaining to Des Moines County, Iowa Genealogy
State Historical Society of Iowa Free Select from research collection topics
The Iowa Heritage Digital Collection Free digital images from a variety of Iowa cultural institutions - results of "des moines county" in the search box
State Library of Iowa Free electronic depository of documents intended for the general public produced by Iowa agencies - results of "des moines county" in the search box
IAGenWeb Project Free Data may be submitted by individuals or complete transcriptions
USGenWeb Archives Free Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions
genealogytrails.com -Des Moines County page Free Data may be submitted by individuals or complete transcriptions
[2] [3][4] FamilySearch Free Births, 1880-1935; Deaths 1880-1992; Marriages, 1838-1934; all indexes
Sites that search for links pertaining to Des Moines County, Iowa Genealogy
RootsWeb Resources Free Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions
Linkpendium Free Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
CyndisList Free Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
Des Moines County (LDS Genealogy) Free Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
StateofUS.com Free family history resources and government records
Major catalogs for hard copy collections of Des Moines County, Iowa Genealogy
Books, microfilm, or manuscripts of genealogical records
FamilySearch Catalog Select topics. To select towns, add a comma to the search box.
WorldCat To find nearby libraries that have specific items, see WorldCat Online Catalog.
Allen County Public Library located in Indiana They are heavily involved in digitizing.
See also local libraries and Iowa Archives and Libraries
Social networking sites pertaining to Des Moines County, Iowa Genealogy
GeneaBloggers enter "Iowa" in search box to see list and links to Iowa blogs
Google+ list of groups from "iowa genealogy" search
Facebook list of groups from "Iowa Genealogy" search
genealogy.com IA Genealogy Forum
ancestry.com Des Moines County Message Board

References

  1. Alice Eichholz, Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County and Town Sources, Revised ed. (Salt Lake City: Ancestry, 1992), 225-231. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27rb 1992
  2. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  3. McClintock, John C. Record book, 1866-1903. FHL US/CAN Film 956371 Item 4
  4. St. Paul's Methodist Episcopal Church (Burlington, Iowa) (Main ,Author), German Methodist Church (Burlington, Iowa) Church records, 1855-1917 US/CAN Film 956373
  5. Chicago: Western Hist. Co., 1879.
  6. Chicago: Acme Publishing, 1888.
  7. Hobart Pub. Co., 1905.
  8. ed. by Augustine M. Antrobus. 2 vols. Chicago: S. J. Clarke Pub. Co., 1915.