Derby St Paul, Derbyshire Genealogy
Guide to Derby St Paul, Derbyshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Derby St Paul, Derbyshire|
|Hundred||Derby Borough; Morlestone and Litchurch|
|Poor Law Union||Derby|
|Registration District||Derby; Shardlow|
|Parish registers: 1850|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1850|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop of Lichfield (Episcopal Consistory)|
|Location of Archive|
|Derbyshire Record Office|
Parish History[edit | edit source]
DERBY, a borough and market-town, possessing separate jurisdiction, and the head of a union, locally in the hundred of Morleston and Litchurch, S. division of the county of Derby, of which it is the capital, 16 miles (W.) from Nottingham, 27 miles (N. W.) from Leicester, and 126 (N. W.) from London, on the river Derwent, and on the high road to Manchester. It includes parts of certain parishes which extend beyond the limits of the borough. The town comprises the parishes of All Saints, St. Werburgh, St. Alkmund, St. Peter, and St. Michael. Within the parish of St. Alkmund's a church district named St. Paul's was endowed in 1844 by the Ecclesiastical Commissioners of Derbyshire. 
Resources[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Church records[edit | edit source]
Derby St Paul parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials have online indexes by the following groups:
|FS PR's =FamilySearch Parish Registers|
|Derby St Paul Parish Online Records|
To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.
Derbyshire Record Office reference D 1264 has deposited registers Bap 1850-1962 Mar 1850-1955 Burials 1850-1855 Banns 1850-1955
Non Conformist Churches[edit | edit source]
The following non-Church of England denominations were located somewhere in Derby, but the exact parish has not been identified:
- Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints
- Methodist New Connexion
Census records[edit | edit source]
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]
Probate records[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Derbyshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Websites[edit | edit source]
Derby on GENUKI
References[edit | edit source]
- Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848), pp. 32-46. Date accessed: 30 June 2013.