Derby All Saints, Derbyshire Genealogy
Guide to Derby All Saints, Derbyshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Derby All Saints, Derbyshire|
Derby All Saints (Derby Cathedral) Debyshire
|Poor Law Union||Derby|
|Parish registers: 1558|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1659|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop of Lichfield (Episcopal Consistory)|
|Location of Archive|
|Derbyshire Record Office|
Parish History[edit | edit source]
DERBY, a borough and market-town, possessing separate jurisdiction, and the head of a union, locally in the hundred of Morleston and Litchurch, S. division of the county of Derby, of which it is the capital, 16 miles west from Nottingham, 27 miles northwest from Leicester, and on the high road to Manchester, and, including parts of certain parishes which extend beyond the limits of the borough. The town comprises the parishes, chapels and chapelries of:
- All Saints - 1558
- Codnor Chapelry - 1843 (partly in Heanor and Pentrich par.)
- St Alkmund - 1538
- Darley-Abbey Chapelry - by 1819
- Little Eaton Chapelry - 1738
- St Paul's Chapelry - 1844
- St Michael's - 1559
- Alvaston - 1614
- St Peter - 1558
- Boulton Chapelry - 1662
- Litchurch Chapel - 1863
- Normanton Chapelry - 1840
- St Andrews Chapelry- 1864
- St James the Great Chapelry - 1867
- Trinity Church - 1836
- St Werburgh - 1562
- Christ Church - 1850
- St John Chapelry - by 1870
- St Luke - 1868
There are places of worship for General and Particular Baptists, the Society of Friends, Independents, Wesleyans (New and Old Connexion), New Jerusalemite, Presbyterian, Swedenborgians, and Unitarians; and a Roman Catholic chapel, erected in 1839. The Roman Catholics have also built a handsome structure as a residence for the Sisters of Mercy, and for a chapel and schools. A general cemetery was opened in 1843.
The union workhouse is situated in Litchurch, in that portion of the parish of St.Peter which is without the borough. Remains of St. Mary's chapel, supposed to have been the church of St Mary given by William the Conqueror to the abbey of Burton, still exist: the chapel, in the time of Charles II., was used by the Presbyterians, but was subsequently converted into small tenements.
Resources[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Church records[edit | edit source]
Derby All Saints parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials have been indexed by the following groups:
|FS PR's =FamilySearch Parish Registers|
|Derby All Saints Parish Online Records|
To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.
Derby All Saints (Derby Cathedral) Irongate included the chapelry of Quarndon, Derbyshire until 1821
Derbyshire Record Office reference D 3372 has deposited registers Bap 1558-1947 Mar 1558-1945 Burials 1558-1855 Banns 1754-1823, 1854-1914
The Family History Library has just about all of the above listed chapelry and parish registers on microfilm in its collections (see "Church History" above). These may be viewed mostly online at FamilySearch and those not yet indexed, the original registers may be ordered for and researched at any one of FamilySearch's 4,600 FamilySearch Centers worldwide.
Non Conformist Churches[edit | edit source]
The following non-Church of England denominations were located somewhere in Derby, but the exact parish has not been identified:
- Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints
- Methodist New Connexion.
Census records[edit | edit source]
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]
Probate records[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Derbyshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Websites[edit | edit source]
Derby All Saints on GENUKI
References[edit | edit source]
- Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 32-46. Date accessed: 02 July 2013.