To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Denton (near Gravesend), Kent Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Denton (near Gravesend)

Guide to Denton (near Gravesend), Kent ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Denton (near Gravesend), Kent
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Shamwell
County Kent
Poor Law Union North Aylesford
Registration District North Aylesford
Records begin
Parish registers: None
Bishop's Transcripts: None
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Elham
Diocese Canterbury
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Courts of the Bishop (Episcopal Consistory) and Archdeaconry of Rochester
Location of Archive
Kent Record Office

Parish History[edit | edit source]

DENTON (St. Mary), a parish, in the union of North Aylesford, hundred of Shamwell, lathe of Aylesford, W. division of the county of Kent.[1]


Denton is part of the Town of Gravesend in the Gravesham district of Kent.

Denton St Mary is a former Ancient Parish in Denton near Gravesend. The ruined church site was rebuilt in 1903, conserving some medieval remains to form the Roman Catholic church of St Mary since 1940 and is in Gravesend civil parish.

The Roman Catholic Church of St Mary Denton, Rochester Road, Gravesend has been designated as a grade II listed building British listed building

The ancient small church was part of the mediaeval manor which was later part of the see of Rochester lands.

Edward Hasted in his 1797 The History and Topographical Survey of the County of Kent: Volume 3 Pages 471-477 describes the church as follows:

"The church, which was dedicated to St. Mary, was but a small building of one isle, with a chancel and bell tower. It stood on a bank, close to the road side; the whole has been some time in ruins, though it was not so in the Kilburns time, in the middle of the last century; soon after which, service being discontinued in it, the materials were taken down and sold, or otherwise disposed of. The outside walls, for the most part, yet remain, having the buildings of the adjoining farm yard built up against the north side of it. On the south east human bones have at times been dug up where the cemitery was, now part of the farm-yard."

The parish was small and to the east of the Cliffe-Gravesend road and was sparsely populated marsh and agricultural land ( Hasted mentions only two houses). The Ancient Parish is recorded as existing in 1851

See also Kent Archeological Society and Kent Churches website

This ancient parish should not be confused with Denton (near Dover), Kent in the same county.

See Denton North West Kent Family History Society and Edward Hasted The History and Topographical Survey of the County of Kent: Volume 3 (1797), pp. 471-477. at British History Online

Resources[edit | edit source]

Civil Registration[edit | edit source]

North Aylesford Registration District

Strood Registration District

Strood and Hoo Registration District

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church Records[edit | edit source]

Denton (near Gravesend) parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FS PRs = England, Kent, Parish Registers, 1538-1911 (FamilySearch) - free
FS Canterbury PRs = England, Kent, Canterbury Parish Registers, 1538-1986 (FamilySearch) - free
FS BTs = England, Kent, Bishop's Transcripts, 1560-1911 (FamilySearch) - free
FS = FamilySearch - free
FREG = FreeREG - free
FMP Kent = Kent Baptisms, Marriages, Burials (FindMyPast) - ($)
FMP Canterbury = Kent Canterbury Archdeaconry Baptisms, Marriages, Burials (FindMyPast) - ($)
FMP East Kent = East Kent Marriage and Burial Indexes (FindMyPast) - ($)
BOYD = England, Boyd's Marriage Indexes, 1538-1850 (FindMyPast) - free
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[2]
FS Catalog PRs = FamilySearch Catalog Parish registers - free
FS Catalog BTs = FamilySearch Catalog Bishop's transcripts - free
Denton (near Gravesend) Online Parish Records
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS PRs 1538-1911
1538-1911
1538-1911
FS Canterbury PRs 1538-1986
1538-1986
1538-1986
FS BTs
1560-1911
1560-1911
1560-1911
FS 1538-1975
1538-1973
1538-1991
FREG 1538-1900s
1538-1900s
1538-1900s
FMP Kent 1538-1988
1538-1997
1538-2010
FMP Canterbury 1538-1918
1538-1934
1538-1998
FMP East Kent

1538-1754
1813-1841
BOYD

1538-1850


IGI



FS Catalog PRs


FS Catalog BTs


To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Kent Online Parish Clerks has indexes available for select parishes. Records are also available at the Kent Archives.

Census records[edit | edit source]

Denton census returns are included in the census returns for Gravesend. Census returns for Gravesend 1841-1891

FamilySearch Records includes collections of census indexes which can be searched online for free. In addition FamilySearch Centres offer free access to images of the England and Wales Census through FHC Portal Computers here have access to the Family History Centre Portal page which gives free access to premium family history software and websites that generally charge for subscriptions.
Category:England Family History Centres to locate local Family History Centres in UK
Introduction to Family History Centers to locate outside UK.
Many archives and local history collections in public libraries in England and Wales offer online census searches and also hold microfilm or fiche census returns.

Images of the census for 1841-1891 can be viewed in census collections at Ancestry (fee payable) or Find My Past (fee payable)

The 1851 census of England and Wales attempted to identify religious places of worship in addition to the household survey census returns.

Ancestry UK Census Collection

Find my Past census search 1841-1901



Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]

North Aylesford Poor Law Union, Kent (renamed Strood)

Probate records[edit | edit source]

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Kent Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

See England, Kent, Wills and Probate (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Local Family History Centre[edit | edit source]

Gillingham Family History Centre, Kent

Canterbury Family History Centre, Kent

Maidstone Family History Centre, Kent

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 28-32. Date accessed: 22 July 2013.
  2. ArcherSoftware.co.uk