Denholme St Paul, Yorkshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Denholme St Paul, Yorkshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Parish History[edit | edit source]

DENHOLME, an ecclesiastical parish, in the parish of Bradford, wapentake of Morley, W. riding of York, 2 miles (S.) from Cullingworth. The Baptists, Independents, Ranters, and Wesleyans have small places of worship. [1]

Resources[edit | edit source]

Civil Registration[edit | edit source]

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records[edit | edit source]

Online Records[edit | edit source]

Online data content from chapelry registers of Denholme St. Paul exists at some of the following websites and for the specified ranges of years:

IARC = Internet Archive - free
FS = FamilySearch.org
AC = http://www.ancestry.com/ (£)
HATH = HathiTrust.org - free
JOIN = JoinerMarriageIndex.co.uk - (£)
DENHOLME ST. PAUL ECCLESIASTICAL PARISH (1797) Online Records
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS 1797-1837 None 1797-1835
JOIN None None None
AC None None None
HATH None None None
AO None None None

For a full list of all those chapels surrounding **Chapelry** and comprising the whole ancient parish of Denholme St. Paul to which it was attached, be certain to see "Church Records" on the Denholme page.

Non-conformist churches[edit | edit source]

A Wesleyan Methodist chapel stood in this township as well. Registers for the year 1835-1837 only are available through FamilySearch.org's online catalog.

Neighboring Parishes[edit | edit source]

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options, and click on List contiguous parishes.

The GENUKI: Church Database is also helpful in determining the names of the churches in the area. By typing the name of the parish, a list will show the names and denominations of other churches in a selected radius.

Census records[edit | edit source]

Probate records[edit | edit source]

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Yorkshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 28-32. Adapted. Date accessed: 14 November 2013