Denby, Derbyshire Genealogy
Guide to Denby, Derbyshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Hundred||Morlestone and Litchurch|
|Poor Law Union||Belper|
|Parish registers: 1577|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1673|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop of Lichfield (Episcopal Consistory)|
|Location of Archive|
|Derbyshire Record Office|
Parish History[edit | edit source]
DENBY (St. Mary), a parish, in the union of Belper, hundred of Morleston and Litchurch, S. division of the county of Derby, 8 miles (N. N. E.) from Derby. The Wesleyans have a place of worship. 
Resources[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Church records[edit | edit source]
Denby parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials have been indexed by the following groups:
|FS PR's =FamilySearch Parish Registers|
|Denby Parish Online Records|
To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.
Denby St Mary the Virgin parish was originally part of Codnor and Loscoe, Derbyshire until 1844 and Openwoodgate until 1891
Derbyshire Record Office reference D1428 has deposited registers Bap 1577-1942 Mar1573-1953 Burials 1577-1919 Banns 1754-1794, 1876-1909,1947-1978
Non-Conformist Churches[edit | edit source]
Census records[edit | edit source]
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Probate records[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Derbyshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Websites[edit | edit source]
References[edit | edit source]
- Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848), pp. 28-32. Date accessed: 06 May 2013.