Denali Borough, Alaska Genealogy
Guide to Denali Borough, Alaska ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
|Denali Borough, Alaska|
Location in the state of Alaska
Location of Alaska in the U.S.
|Founded||December 7, 1990|
PO Box 480
Healy, AK 99743
(907) 683-1330 http://www.denaliborough.govoffice.com/
- 1 Description
- 2 Historical Facts
- 3 Places/Localities
- 4 Resources
- 4.1 Bible Records
- 4.2 Biography
- 4.3 Business Records and Commerce
- 4.4 Cemeteries
- 4.5 Census
- 4.6 Church Records
- 4.7 Court Records
- 4.8 Directories
- 4.9 Emigration and Immigration
- 4.10 Ethnic, Political, or Religious Groups
- 4.11 Gazetteers
- 4.12 Genealogy
- 4.13 History
- 4.14 Land and Property
- 4.15 Maps
- 4.16 Military
- 4.17 Naturalization and Citizenship
- 4.18 Newspapers
- 4.19 Obituaries
- 4.20 Periodicals
- 4.21 Probate
- 4.22 Public Records
- 4.23 Repositories
- 4.24 Taxation
- 4.25 Vital Records
- 5 Websites
- 6 References
Description[edit | edit source]
Historical Facts[edit | edit source]
|Beginning dates for major county records|
|*For earlier dates, try... Church | Obituaries | Cemeteries|
Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]
Record Loss[edit | edit source]
There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this borough.
Places/Localities[edit | edit source]
Neighboring Boroughs and Census Areas[edit | edit source]
Populated Places[edit | edit source]
For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit Hometown Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this borough:
Resources[edit | edit source]
Bible Records[edit | edit source]
Biography[edit | edit source]
Business Records and Commerce[edit | edit source]
Cemeteries[edit | edit source]
Census[edit | edit source]
Church Records[edit | edit source]
Church records vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden name; and death date.
For general information about Alaska denominations, see the Alaska Church Records wiki page.
The Family History Library also has copies of many Alaskan church records. To find a list in the FamilySearch Catalog, do a Place Search for Alaska, the borough, or the town.
Court Records[edit | edit source]
Directories[edit | edit source]
Emigration and Immigration[edit | edit source]
Ethnic, Political, or Religious Groups[edit | edit source]
Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Genealogy[edit | edit source]
History[edit | edit source]
There was some trapping, prospecting, and market hunting in the area, but the history of Healy really begins with the construction of the Alaska Railroad. Constuction began in the Healy area in 1918. "Camp Healy" or "Canyon City" consisted of tents and shacks. There were other construction camps in the area. The Healy Fork post office was established in 1921. The railroad was completed in 1923. Most of the construction camps closed, but Healy became a permanent railroad station. Freight trains overnighted there and passenger trains stopped there for lunch. Healy had a population of 36 in 1930.
Federal land opened for mining at the same time the railroad was approved (1914). The railroad route was specifically chosen to access the rich coal fields in the area. In 1919, the Healy River Coal Corporation opened a mine at Healy. Their office was in Healy, and they mined nearby. In 1921, they moved their operation four miles up the Healy River. Suntrana was the HRCC camp. Suntrana had a population of 61 in 1930. There were other mines in the area. Usibelli Coal Mine was established in 1943.
There were no roads in the area until the late 1960's. You couldn't drive from Healy to Suntrana, McKinley, or Nenana. The Parks Highway was opened in 1971. In 1978, Usibelli Coal Mine leased land from the railroad to establish the Tri-Valley subdivision near the Parks Highway. The mining camps of Suntrana and Usibelli were closed, and most of the buildings were moved to the subdivision. In 1986, the railroad auctioned off the entire town of Healy, and those buildings were also moved to the subdivision. There is little left at Suntrana, Usibelli, or the original Healy.
In 1959, Clear was selected to become the site of a Ballistic Missle Earling Warning system. Construction began that year, and it went into operation in 1961. The site was run by the Air Force, but much of the work was done by contractors and civilian employees. Arthur Anderson homesteaded in the area in the late 50's. In 1959, he subdivided his homestead into house lots and sold most of them to civilian workers from Clear Air Force Base. Anderson was incorporated as a city in 1962.
Local History[edit | edit source]
Local histories are available for Denali Borough, Alaska Genealogy. Borough histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Alaska Local Histories.
Land and Property[edit | edit source]
The first general land office was established at Sitka, Alaska in 1885. Records of subsequent transactions, including deeds and mortgages, are filed at the office of the district recorder in each judicial district. The Family History Library has not acquired copies of Alaskan land records.
Maps[edit | edit source]
Military[edit | edit source]
- 1898-1934 - Alaska, State Archives (Juneau), Military Service Discharge Records, 1898-1934 at FamilySearch — index - How to Use this Collection
- 1940-1945 - Alaska, World War II Draft Registration Cards,1940-1945 at FamilySearch — index and images - How to Use this Collection
Naturalization and Citizenship[edit | edit source]
- 1884-1991 - Alaska Naturalization Records, 1884-1991 at FamilySearch — index and images - How to Use this Collection
- 1900-1972 - Alaska, State Archives (Juneau), Naturalization Records, 1900-1972 at FamilySearch — index - How to Use this Collection
Newspapers[edit | edit source]
Denali Borough, Alaska Genealogy newspapers may contain genealogical value including obituaries, births, marriages, deaths, anniversaries, family gatherings, family travel, achievements, business notices, engagement information, and probate court proceedings.
For more Alaska newspaper information, see the Newspaper Guides on the wiki page Alaska Newspapers.
Obituaries[edit | edit source]
Periodicals[edit | edit source]
Probate[edit | edit source]
Probate records of Alaska were kept by the district courts prior to statehood. The superior court now has jurisdiction over probate matters. They are available at the archives and offices mentioned in Alaska Court Records. The Family History Library does not have copies of probate records from Alaska.
An index with about 17,000 probate cases from the district court system from 1884 to 1960 is available online. It is arranged alphabetically. See Alaska Probate Records Index.
Public Records[edit | edit source]
Repositories[edit | edit source]
Courthouse[edit | edit source]
Family History Centers[edit | edit source]
Libraries[edit | edit source]
Tri-Valley Community Library
PO Box 400
Healy, AK 99743
Located at Tri-Valley School on Suntrana Road
Museums[edit | edit source]
Societies[edit | edit source]
Taxation[edit | edit source]
Alaska tax records complement land records and can be used in place of censuses or to supplement the years between censuses. There may be gaps of several years in the tax records. The Family History Library has not filmed Alaska tax records.
Real and personal property tax records are kept at the borough's Assessors office.
Vital Records[edit | edit source]
Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Department of Health and Social Services, Bureau of Vital Statistics. This office has birth, death and marriage records since 1890's, though, many before 1930 were not registered with the Bureau. It also has divorce records since 1950. For more information, including how to find earlier records, check Alaska Vital Records.
- 1816-1959 Alaska, Vital Records, 1816-1959 at FamilySearch — index and images - How to Use this Collection
Birth[edit | edit source]
Marriage[edit | edit source]
Death[edit | edit source]
Divorce[edit | edit source]
Websites[edit | edit source]
- Denali Borough Trails to the Past
- USGenWeb Archives
- Denali Borough, Alaska GenWeb Project
- FamilySearch FamilySearch Catalog
References[edit | edit source]
- Wikipedia contributors, "Denali Borough," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Denali_Borough,_Alaska 05/25/2017.
- Wikipedia contributors, "Denali Borough, Alaska," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Denali_Borough,_Alaska, accessed 13 February 2019.