To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Delaware County, Iowa Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Delaware County, Iowa)
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Delaware County, Iowa ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

{{{link}}}

Delaware County, Iowa
Map
Map of Iowa highlighting Delaware County
Location in the state of Iowa
Map of the U.S. highlighting Iowa
Location of Iowa in the U.S.
Facts
Founded December 21, 1837
County Seat Manchester
Courthouse
IowaDelawareCourthouse.jpg


County Information[edit | edit source]

Description[edit | edit source]

The County was named for the State of Delaware. The County has Manchester as its seat and the County was created 1837. The County is located in the south east area of the state.[1]

Delaware County, Iowa Record Dates[edit | edit source]

Known Beginning Dates for Major County Records[2]
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1880 1851 1880 1851 1847 1849 1847
Statewide registration started for births in July 1880 and for deaths Jan 1891. General compliance by 1924.

County Courthouse[edit | edit source]

Delaware County Courthouse
301 E. Main
P. O. Box 527
Manchester, IA 52057-0527


(319) 927-4942

History[edit | edit source]

Parent County[edit | edit source]

1837--Delaware County was created 21 December 1837 from Dubuque County.  It was organized 19 November 1841. County seat:  Manchester [3]

Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]

For animated maps illustrating Iowa County boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Iowa County Boundary Maps" (1816-1872) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss[edit | edit source]

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Places/Localities[edit | edit source]

Town/city records in the FamilySearch Catalog

Populated Places[edit | edit source]

For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit HomeTown Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:[4]

Cities
Unincorporated communities
Native American communities
Census-designated places
Townships
Historic communities
Historic African American communities
Unorganized territories
Ghost towns


Neighboring Counties[edit | edit source]

Buchanan • Clayton • Dubuque • Fayette • Jones • Linn

Resources[edit | edit source]

Biography[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries[edit | edit source]

Tombstone Transcriptions Online Tombstone Transcriptions in Print List of Cemeteries in the county
Findagrave.com Family History Library Findagrave.com
IAGenWeb WorldCat Billion Graves
IAGenWeb Archives
Tombstone Project
Iowa Gravestones
Billion Graves
See Iowa Cemeteries for more information.

Census[edit | edit source]

Iowa recorded not only the federal census but state census through out the years too. The state census contains very valuable genealogical information. Where the census information can be found, what years it was taken, mortality schedules, census substitutions and much more is discussed in the very informative Iowa Census article.

State Census

Church[edit | edit source]

Most church records are held by individual churches. For contact information, check a phone directory, such as SearchBug or Dex Knows. Some denominations are gathering their records into a central repository. For more information about these major repositories, see Iowa Church Records.


Lutheran

First Lutheran Church, Manchester

  • Records of the First Lutheran Church, Manchester, in Evangelical Lutheran Church in America database at Archives.com ($).

Delaware County

  • Records of the American Lutheran Church, Delaware County, in Evangelical Lutheran Church in America database at Archives.com ($).

Court[edit | edit source]

Land[edit | edit source]

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Iowa Land and Property for additional information about early Iowa land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse, where records are currently housed.


Local Histories [edit | edit source]

Local histories are available for Delaware County, Iowa Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Iowa Local Histories.


Maps[edit | edit source]

Fayette CountyClayton CountyBuchanan CountyDubuque CountyLinn CountyJones CountyIA DELAWARE.PNG
Click a neighboring county
for more resources


Military[edit | edit source]

Civil War[edit | edit source]

Regiments. Service men in Delaware County, Iowa Genealogy served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Delaware County, Iowa Genealogy:

- 2nd Regiment, Iowa Cavalry, Company I
- 4th Regiment, Iowa Cavalry, Company B
- 6th Regiment, Iowa Cavalry, Company G
- 12th Regiment, Iowa Infantry, Companies F and K
- 20th Regiment, Iowa Infantry, Companies H and K
- 27th Regiment, Iowa Infantry, Company F
- 44th Regiment, Iowa Infantry (100 days, 1864), Company C
- 46th Regiment, Iowa Infantry (100 days, 1864), Company F
- 12th Regiment, Iowa Infantry, Company F
:- 12th Regiment, Iowa Infantry, Company K
:- 1st Regiment, Iowa Cavalry, Company G
:- 20th Regiment, Iowa Infantry, Company H
:- 20th Regiment, Iowa Infantry, Company K
:- 27th Regiment, Iowa Infantry, Company F
:- 44th Regiment, Iowa Infantry (100 days, 1864), Company C
:- 46th Regiment, Iowa Infantry (100 days, 1864), Company F
:- 4th Regiment, Iowa Cavalry, Company B
:- 6th Regiment, Iowa Cavalry, Company G

Naturalization and Citizenship[edit | edit source]

Newspapers[edit | edit source]

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Delaware County, Iowa Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:

*NewspaperArchive.com ($) has historical newspapers online including Cedar Rapids newspapers that may have included Delaware County residents. This database is free at some libraries. 
  • The Manchester Public Library has digitized local newspapers, including the Manchester Press, Delaware County News, the Manchester Democrat Radio, and the Manchester Democrat. These can be accessed at http://manchesteria.advantage-preservation.com/
  • Dyersville Commerrial. 1953, 1959 Dyersville, IA, USA. Online at: Ancestry.com ($)
  • Manchester Democrat Radio. 1952 Manchester, IA, USA. Online at: Ancestry.com ($)
  • Hopkinton Leader. 1937 Hopkinton, IA, USA. Online at: Ancestry.com ($)

Probate[edit | edit source]

Online Probate Records

In most counties in Iowa, probate records have been kept by the county judge. They include wills, fee books, claim registers, legacy records, inheritance records, probate ticklers, and dockets. The records are available at the county courthouse.

The FamilySearch Catalog lists films of probate records. To find the records for this county, use the Place Search for Iowa - Delaware - Probate records.


Taxation[edit | edit source]

Iowa tax records complement land records and can be used to supplement the years between censuses. Tax lists were usually made every year, however, there may be gaps of several years. For more information, see the wiki page Iowa Taxation.


Vital Records[edit | edit source]

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Iowa Department of Public Health or the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred. See also How to order Iowa Vital Records or order electronically online.

Births[edit | edit source]
Marriages[edit | edit source]
Deaths[edit | edit source]

Societies and Libraries[edit | edit source]

Delaware County Genealogical Society
Manchester Public Library
304 N Franklin
Manchester IA 52057-1520
Look up Requests E-mail: estellam@windstream.net
Website

Family History Centers[edit | edit source]

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes.

Websites[edit | edit source]



Sites with online indexes or images of records pertaining to Delaware County, Iowa Genealogy
State Historical Society of Iowa Free Select from research collection topics
The Iowa Heritage Digital Collection Free digital images from a variety of Iowa cultural institutions - results of "delaware county" in the search box
State Library of Iowa Free electronic depository of documents intended for the general public produced by Iowa agencies - results of "delaware county" in the search box
IAGenWeb Project Free Data may be submitted by individuals or complete transcriptions
USGenWeb Archives Free Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions
[1] [2][3] FamilySearch Free Births, 1880-1935; Deaths 1880-1992; Marriages, 1838-1934; all indexes
Sites that search for links pertaining to Delaware County, Iowa Genealogy
RootsWeb Resources Free Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions
Linkpendium Free Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
CyndisList Free Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
StateofUS.com Free family history resources and government records
Major catalogs for hard copy collections of Delaware County, Iowa Genealogy
Books, microfilm, or manuscripts of genealogical records
FamilySearch Catalog Select topics. To select towns, add a comma to the search box.
WorldCat To find nearby libraries that have specific items, see WorldCat Online Catalog.
Allen County Public Library located in Indiana They are heavily involved in digitizing.
See also local libraries and Iowa Archives and Libraries
Social networking sites pertaining to Delaware County, Iowa Genealogy
GeneaBloggers enter "Iowa" in search box to see list and links to Iowa blogs
Google+ list of groups from "iowa genealogy" search
Facebook list of groups from "Iowa Genealogy" search
genealogy.com IA Genealogy Forum
ancestry.com Delaware County Message Board

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Wikipedia contributors, "Delaware, Iowa," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, "https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Delaware_County,_Iowa.
  2. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Delaware County, Iowa. Page 230-238 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 222-225.
  3. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  4. Wikipedia contributors, "Delaware County, Iowa," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Delaware_County,_Iowa#Communities, accessed 3 September 2019.