DeSoto Parish, Louisiana Genealogy
Guide to DeSoto Parish, Louisiana ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
|DeSoto Parish, Louisiana|
Location in the state of Louisiana
Location of Louisiana in the U.S.
|Founded||April 1, 1843|
- 1 Parish Information
- 2 Parish Courthouse
- 3 Places / Localities
- 4 Resources
- 4.1 African American
- 4.2 Archives and Libraries
- 4.3 Bible Records
- 4.4 Biographies
- 4.5 Cemeteries
- 4.6 Census
- 4.7 Church
- 4.8 Court
- 4.9 Land
- 4.10 Local Histories
- 4.11 Maps
- 4.12 Military
- 4.13 Newspapers
- 4.14 Obituaries
- 4.15 Probate
- 4.16 Schools
- 4.17 Taxation
- 4.18 Vital Records
- 5 Societies and Libraries
- 6 Websites
- 7 References
Parish Information[edit | edit source]
Description[edit | edit source]
The County was named for the settler, Marcel DeSoto. The County has Mansfield as its seat and the County was created 1843. The County is located in the northwest area of the state.
DeSoto Parish, Louisiana Record Dates[edit | edit source]
Parish Courthouse[edit | edit source]
Parish Courthouse[edit | edit source]
Quick Facts[edit | edit source]
- Named for Hernando deSoto (small "d"), the Spaniard who explored the future southeastern United States, discovered and named the Mississippi River.
- The first Parish courthouse was a log house.
Parent Parish[edit | edit source]
- 1 April 1843: DeSoto Parish was created from Natchitoches and Caddo Parishes.
Parish seat: Mansfield 
Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]
- Eastern part of the parish was set off 2 March 1871 to form Red River Parish
For animated maps illustrating Louisiana Parish boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Louisiana Parish Boundary Maps" (1805-1990) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.
Record Loss[edit | edit source]
There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.
Places / Localities[edit | edit source]
Populated Places[edit | edit source]
For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit HomeTown Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:
Neighboring Parishes or Counties[edit | edit source]
Resources[edit | edit source]
African American[edit | edit source]
- Louisiana African American Griots Project
- Afrigeneas - African Ancestored Genealogy
- African American Cemeteries, listing by county
Archives and Libraries[edit | edit source]
Bible Records[edit | edit source]
- DeSoto Parish Bible Records (LAGenWeb)
Biographies[edit | edit source]
- Index to DeSoto Parish Biographies (LAGenWeb)
- Index to DeSoto Parish Biographies (USGenWeb Archives)
- DeSoto Parish Biographies (Genealogy Trails)
Cemeteries[edit | edit source]
The following web sites may have additional information on DeSoto Parish cemeteries.
Census[edit | edit source]
- Louisiana Census Images (USGenWeb Census Images Project)
- DeSoto Parish Census Records (USGenWeb Archives)
- DeSoto Parish Census Transcriptions (LAGenWeb)
Church[edit | edit source]
Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Louisiana denominations, view the Louisiana Church Records wiki page.
- Louisiana Historical Church Information
- Directory of Churches in Louisiana, by city (Church Angel)
- DeSoto Parish Church Records (USGenWeb Archives)
List of Churches and Church Parishes
Court[edit | edit source]
- 1843-1909 - Index of Succession Records (Including Tutorship), DeSoto Parish, Louisiana (LAGenWeb)
- DeSoto Parish Court Records (USGenWeb Archives)
- DeSoto Parish Civil Court Records (LAGenWeb)
Land[edit | edit source]
Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.
See Louisiana Land and Property for additional information about early Louisiana land ownership. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse where records are also currently housed.
Local Histories[edit | edit source]
Local histories are available for DeSoto Parish, Louisiana Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories see the wiki page section Louisiana Local Histories.
- Louisiana Museums
- DeSoto Parish History (LAGenWeb)
- DeSoto Parish History Records (USGenWeb Archives)
Maps[edit | edit source]
- FamilySearch Places:Cities and Towns- How to Use FS Places
- Maps of Louisiana (1805-1990)
- Family Maps of DeSoto Parish, Louisiana (land patent maps) at HistoryGeo.com ($). Free surname search.
- USGW Digital Map Collection (USGenWeb Archives)
Military[edit | edit source]
- Louisiana Military History Online
- DeSoto Parish Military Links (LAGenWeb)
- DeSoto Parish Military Records (USGenWeb Archives)
Civil War[edit | edit source]
- 1861-1865 - Louisiana Civil War Service Records of Confederate Soldiers, 1861-1865 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection
- 1861-1865 - Louisiana Civil War Service Records of Union Soldiers, 1861-1865 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection
- 1883 - DeSoto Parish Pensioners on the Rolls as of January 1, 1883 (Genealogy Trails)
- 1898-1950 - Louisiana Confederate Pensions, 1898-1950 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection
Civil War Battle[edit | edit source]
The following Civil War battles were fought in DeSoto Parish:
- April 8, 1864 = Mansfield, also known as Sabine Cross-Roads or Pleasant Grove
- April 9, 1864 = Pleasant Hill
- Map showing Civil War battles in Louisiana.
World War I[edit | edit source]
- 1917-1920 - Louisiana World War I Service Records, 1917-1920 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection
World War II[edit | edit source]
- 1940-1945 - Louisiana First Registration Draft Cards, compiled 1940-1945 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection
Newspapers[edit | edit source]
Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as DeSoto Parish, Louisiana Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:
Obituaries[edit | edit source]
- DeSoto Parish Obituaries and Death Notices (Genealogy Trails)
- index to DeSoto Parish Obituaries (USGenWeb Archives)
- DeSoto Parish Obituaries (LAGenWeb)
Probate[edit | edit source]
Probate records before 1845 were kept in probate courts. Since 1845, they have been kept by the DeSoto Parish, Louisiana Genealogy clerk of the district court. Many of the probate records are included in the notarial records with the deeds and mortgages. In some parishes they are known as “succession” records.
See the Wiki page Louisiana Probate Records for more information about probate records in Louisiana.
Content: Probate records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.
Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, and adoptions.
Online Probate Indexes and Records
- 1756-1984 - Louisiana Wills and Probate Records 1756-1984 at Ancestry — index and images $
- 1843-1909 - Index of Succession Records , DeSoto Parish (LAGenWeb)
- DeSoto Parish Wills and Probate Documents (Genealogy Trails)
Schools[edit | edit source]
Taxation[edit | edit source]
Louisiana tax records can be used in place of missing censuses and provide lists of residents during years between censuses. There may be gaps of several years. For more information, see Louisiana Taxation.
- 1861 Tax List - Slave Owners of nine or more slaves in 1861. (USGenWeb Archives)
Vital Records[edit | edit source]
Louisiana statewide registration of birth and death records began in 1911. Births and deaths are kept by the Louisiana Vital Records Registry. Marriages were recorded by each parish, and the records are at the parish clerk of court office. See also How to order Louisiana Vital Records or order electronically online.
See Louisiana Vital Records for more information on getting Louisiana records.
- Louisiana Records and Statistics Information ~ where and how to order information.
- DeSoto Parish Vital Records (USGenWeb Archives)
Marriage[edit | edit source]
- To 1850 - Early Desoto Parish Marriages (LAGenWeb)
- 1837-1957 - Louisiana, Parish Marriages, 1837-1957 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection
- 1843-1905 - Some Marriages of DeSoto Parish LA (list is not complete) (LAGenWeb)
Death[edit | edit source]
- 1850-1875, 1894-1960 - Louisiana Deaths, 1850-1875, 1894-1960 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection
- DeSoto Parish Deaths (LAGenWeb)
Societies and Libraries[edit | edit source]
- Desoto Historical Society
PO Box 300
Stonewall, LA 71078-0300
- Louisiana Historical Society
- Louisiana Historical Association
Family History Centers[edit | edit source]
Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance, free access to center-only databases, and to premium genealogical websites.
FamilySearch Affiliate Libraries have access to most center-only databases, but may not always have full services normally provided by a family history center.
Local Centers and Affiliate Libraries
Websites[edit | edit source]
- Louisiana Genealogy Network Group on Facebook
- DeSoto Parish (USGenWeb Archives)
- FamilySearch.org FamilySearch Catalog for DeSoto Parish.
- The DeSoto Parish (LAGenWeb)
- DeSoto Parish, Louisiana Genealogy and Family History (Linkpendium)
- DeSoto Parish, Louisiana, Genealogy and History (Genealogy Trails)
- DeSoto Parish LA Genealogy (ldsgenealogy.com)
References[edit | edit source]
- Wikipedia contributors, "DeSoto, Louisiana," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, "https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/DeSoto_Parish,_Louisiana."
- Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), DeSoto Parish, Louisiana. Page 289-293 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 267-268.
- The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. DeSoto Parish, Louisiana p 290 (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
- The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
- Wikipedia contributors, "DeSoto Parish, Louisiana," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/DeSoto_Parish,_Louisiana, accessed 31 December 2019.
- Heritage Preservation Services, Civil War Battle Summaries by State
- Heritage Preservation Services, Civil War Battle Summaries by State