DeSoto County, Florida Genealogy
Guide to DeSoto County, Florida ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
|DeSoto County, Florida|
Location in the state of Florida
Location of Florida in the U.S.
|Founded||May 19, 1887|
- 1 County Information
- 2 County Courthouse
- 3 History
- 4 Places / Localities
- 5 Resources
- 5.1 African American
- 5.2 Cemeteries
- 5.3 Census
- 5.4 Church
- 5.5 Court
- 5.6 Land
- 5.7 Local Histories
- 5.8 Maps
- 5.9 Military
- 5.10 Newspapers
- 5.11 Obituaries
- 5.12 Probate
- 5.13 Taxation
- 5.14 Vital Records
- 5.15 Societies and Libraries
- 5.16 Websites
- 5.17 References
DeSoto County, Florida Record Dates
De Soto County Courthouse
115 Oak Street
Arcadia, FL 33821
County Judge has probate records from 1887.
Clerk Ciruit Court has divorce, court and land records from 1887. 
For animated maps illustrating Florida county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Florida County Boundary Maps" (1821-1997) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.
There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.
Places / Localities
The following are locations in the county:
The following web sites may have additional information on DeSoto County cemeteries.
- Interment.net Florida cemetery records
Desoto County Federal Census Index-FLGenWeb Project,Inc.
For tips on accessing DeSoto County, Florida Genealogy census records online, see: Florida Census.
- 1783 Spanish Census - USGenWeb Archives Project
- 1821 Census/Tax List Index - USGenWeb Archives Project
- 1823 Census/Tax List Index - USGenWeb Archives Project
- 1880 Census African Born Blacks and Mulattos - USGenWeb Archives Project
- 1885 Florida State Population Census - Includes sex, age, relationship, occupation, place of birth of each family member and parents. Also census for agriculture, manufacture and mortality.
- Federal Census Information from National Archives - USGenWeb Archives Project
- State Census Information from Florida State Archives - USGenWeb Archives Project
- Census of Pensioners Revolutionary Military Service - USGenWeb Archives Project
Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Florida denominations, view the Florida Church Records wiki page.
Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.
See Florida Land and Property for additional information about early Florida land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.
Local histories are available for DeSoto County, Florida Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories see the wiki page section Florida Local Histories.
- Maps of Florida (1821-1997)
- 1870 Gray's Atlas Panhandle Portion of State - USGenWeb Archives Project
- 1882 Rand McNally Panhandle Portion of State - USGenWeb Archives Project
- Exploring Florida, FCIT Maps, University of South Florida
- DeSoto County Military Files (USGenWeb Project)
- Military Index, Desoto County,Fl. - FLGenWeb Project,Inc.
- Florida State Military Files - USGenWeb Archives Project
- Pension Transcriptions - Florida state pension records from various wars - USGenWeb Pension Project
- 1861-1865 - Florida Civil War Service Records of Confederate Soldiers, 1861-1865 at FamilySearch — index
- 1861-1865 - Florida Civil War Service Records of Union Soldiers, 1861-1865 at FamilySearch — index
- 1861-1865 - U.S., Confederate Soldiers Compiled Service Records, 1861-1865 at Ancestry — index (free)
- 1861-1865 - U.S., Union Soldiers Compiled Service Records, 1861-1865 at Ancestry — index (free)
- 1885-1955 - Florida Confederate Veterans and Widows Pension Applications, 1885-1955 at FamilySearch — images only
World War I
- 1917 - 1918 - De Soto County, Florida Civilian Draft Registration (A-L) (USGenWeb Archives)
- 1917 - 1918 - De Soto County, Florida Civilian Draft Registration (M-Z) (USGenWeb Archives)
World War II
- Desoto County Army Enlistees, Names Albritton - Lastinger (USGenWeb Archives)
- Desoto County Army Enlistees, Names Lattimore - Zetrouer (USGenWeb Archives)
Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as DeSoto County, Florida Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:
- Early Florida Newspapers Florida State Library
- FLGenWeb Project Desoto County Florida, Obituary Index
- USGenWeb Obituary transcriptions from Florida counties Obituaries Project
Probate records are held by the DeSoto County, Florida Genealogy Clerk of Court and are housed at the DeSoto County, Florida Genealogy Courthouse. See the wiki page Florida Probate Records for information about how to use probate records.
Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.
Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, and adoptions.
Online Probate Records
- 1784 – 1990 FamilySearch Florida Probate Records 1784-1990
- 1810 – 1974 Ancestry.com $ Florida Wills and Probate Records 1810-1974
Taxes were levied on free white males over 21 and slaves aged 21 to 60. These persons are referred to as "polls." Tax listings, or digests, of a county generally list the taxable landowners and other polls and the amount of tax. The records for each county are divided by militia district. For more information see the wiki page Florida Taxation.
Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Florida Department of Health, Bureau of Vital Statistics, the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred or order electronically online. See also How to order Florida Vital Records
For some online statewide indexes, see the FamilySearch Historical Record Collections for Florida.
- 1880 - 1935 - FamilySearch Florida, Births and Christenings, 1880-1935
- 1877 - 1939 - FamilySearch Florida, Deaths, 1877-1939
- 1900 - 1921 - FamilySearch Florida, Deaths and Burials, 1900-1921
- 1877 - 1998 - FamilySearch Florida, Death Index, 1877-1998
- 1927 - 2001 - Ancestry.com $ Florida, Divorce Index, 1927-2001
- 1802 - 1998 - Florida, United States Marriages at FindMyPast — index $
- 1837 - 1974 - FamilySearch Florida, Marriages, 1837-1974
- 1830 - 1993 - FamilySearch Florida, Marriages, 1830-1993
- 1830 - 1957 - Florida, County Marriages, 1830-1957 at FamilySearch — index and images
- 1822 - 1875 and 1927 - 2001 - FamilySearch Florida, Marriage Index, 1822-1875 and 1927-2001
Societies and Libraries
DeSoto County Historical Society, Inc.
PO Box 1824
Arcadia, FL 34265
Telephone Number: 863-993-3277
Genealogical Society of Sarasota, Inc.
PO Box 1917
Sarasota, FL 34230-1917
- Random Acts of Kindness List of Florida Archives, Libraries, Publications, Historical Genealogical Societies
- FamilySearch Find a Family History Center
- Florida Historical Society
- Florida State Genealogical Society
Family History Centers
Family history centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See family history center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.
- DeSoto County, FL History, Records, Facts and Genealogy
- Florida Genealogy Network Community on Google+
- Florida Genealogy Network Group on Facebook
- DeSoto County FLGenWeb
- State of Florida
- DeSoto County, USGenWeb Archives
- FamilySearch Catalog
- De Soto County, Florida Genealogy and Family History (Linkpendium)
- Desoto County, FLGenWeb Project, Inc.
- DeSoto County, Florida Genealogy Trails
- DeSoto County FL Genealogy (LDS Genealogy)
- Alice Eichholz, Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County and Town Sources, Revised ed. (Salt Lake City: Ancestry, 1992), 123-139. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27rb 1992
- Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), DeSoto County, Florida Page 134 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
- Genealogy Trails History Group, “DeSoto County, Florida Genealogy and History”, http://genealogytrails.com/fla/desoto/ accessed 04/24/2017.
- Wikipedia contributors, "DeSoto County," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/DeSoto_County,_Florida 04/24/2017.
- Wikipedia contributors, "DeSoto County, Florida," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/DeSoto County, Florida, accessed 1 October, 2018.