DeKalb County, Alabama Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from DeKalb County, Alabama)
Jump to: navigation, search
United States
Alabama
DeKalb County

Guide to DeKalb County, Alabama ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

{{{link}}}

DeKalb County, Alabama
Map
Map of the U.S. highlighting Alabama
Location of Alabama in the U.S.
Facts
Founded January 9, 1836
County Seat Hettinger
Courthouse
DeKalb County, Alabama Courthouse.jpg
Address DeKalb County Courthouse
111 Grand Avenue SW
Fort Payne, AL 35967
Phone:(256) 845-8525 DeKalb County Website


County Information

County Courthouse

Probate Judge has marriage, divorce, probate and land records County Health Department has birth, death and burial records Clerk Circuit Court has court records [1]

Description

The County was named is in honor of Major General Baron Johan DeKalb, a hero of the American Revolution. The County has Fort Payne as its seat and the County was created January 9, 1836. [2]The County is located in the north east area of the state.[3]

History

Beginning dates for major county records
Birth
Marriage
Death
Land
Probate
1882*
1837*
1882*
1837
1847
*For earlier dates, try... Church | Obituaries | Cemeteries
Johann de Kalb

The county is named after Revolutionary War hero Johann de Kalb (1721-1780), a German baron.[4]

Parent County

1836--De Kalb County was created 9 January 1836 from the Cherokee Cession of 1835.  County seat: Fort Payne [5]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Alabama county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Alabama County Boundary Maps" (1799-1980) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss

The Cherokee County court house burned. Some of its records were given to De Kalb County. The records can be found in a old building in Fort Payne, the county seat.

Places/Localities

Aldekalb.jpg

Populated Places

Neighboring Counties

Resources

Biography

Biographies of many notable residents of DeKalb County, Alabama Genealogy were published in Memorial Record of Alabama (1893). Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online - free. Begins on page 929.

Cemeteries

Cemeteries of DeKalb, Alabama online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
TombstoneTranscriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See Alabama Cemeteries for more information

The following web site has additional information on DeKalb county cemeteries.

Census

DeKalb County, Alabama
Year Pop.  %±
1840 5,929
1850 8,245 39.1%
1860 10,705 29.8%
1870 7,126 −33.4%
1880 12,675 77.9%
1890 21,106 66.5%
1900 23,558 11.6%
1910 28,261 20.0%
1920 34,426 21.8%
1930 40,104 16.5%
1940 43,075 7.4%
1950 45,048 4.6%
1960 41,417 −8.1%
1970 41,981 1.4%
1980 53,658 27.8%
1990 54,651 1.9%
2000 64,452 17.9%
2010 71,109 10.3%
For tips on accessing DeKalb County, Alabama Genealogy census records online, see: Alabama Census.

State Census

Church Records

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Alabama denominations, view the Alabama Church Records wiki page.

Court Records

Land and Property

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Alabama Land and Property for additional information about early Alabama land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse, where records are currently housed.

To place a grant or deed on a map within context of DeKalb County, Alabama Genealogy see:

  • Boyd, Gregory A. Family Maps of DeKalb County, Alabama: with Homesteads, Roads, Waterways, Towns, Cemeteries, Railroads, and More. Norman, Okla.: Arphax Pub. Co., 2007. This is a definitive work and can be used as an index to land grants. Digital version at HistoryGeo.com ($). Website includes free surname index. FHL Book 976.166 E7b.

Local Histories

Local histories are available for DeKalb County, Alabama Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Alabama Local Histories.

Maps

Military 

Civil War

Civil War service men from DeKalb County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies or regiments that were formed from men of DeKalb County.

- 10th Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company I
- 12th Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company E "DeKalb Invincibles"
- 48th Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company B
- 49th Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company D and G
- 54th Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company G (formerly Co. "C", 1st AL, TN, and MS Infantry)
- 54th Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company K (formerly Co. "K", 40th TN Infantry)

Online Records

Newspapers

Finding More Alabama Newspapers

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as DeKalb County, Alabama Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:

Probate Records

Probate records are held by the DeKalb County, Alabama Genealogy Probate Court. Most records are housed at the DeKalb County, Alabama Genealogy Courthouse. Many records are on microfilm at the Family History Library.

See the wiki page Alabama Probate Records for information about how to use probate records.

Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their places of residence.

Record types: Wills, dower records, personal property sales, settlement records, orphans’ records, and bonds.

Online Probate Records

Taxation

Alabama tax records complement land records and can be used to supplement the years between censuses. There may be gaps of several years in the tax records of some counties. For more information, see the wiki page Alabama Taxation.

  • 1865-1866 - U.S. IRS Tax Assessment Lists, 1862-1918 at Ancestry ($). DeKalb County is in District 3.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Alabama State Department of Health , the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred or order electronically online.

For some online statewide indexes, see the FamilySearch Historical Record Collections for Alabama. See also How to order Alabama Vital Records

Birth
Marriage
  • To 1825 Index to Marriages at Ancestry $. Each entry includes groom, bride, marriage date, county, and state. Every name is indexed so you can search for one name, or two names that are linked.
  • 1836-1916 - Duff, Dorothy Smith. DeKalb County, Alabama Marriage Index, 1836-1916. Baltimore, Md.: Genealogical Publishing Co., 2003. Digital version at Ancestry ($).
  • 1850-1858, 1862-1901, 1936–1969 Alabama, Marriage Collection, 1800–1969 at Ancestry $. This collection is comprised of indexes created by several agencies - the Alabama Center for Health Statistics, Jordan Dodd of Liahona Research, and Hunting For Bears.
  • 1850-1900 "Alabama Marriages, 1809–1920" at Ancestry $. This database is a collection of marriage records from the state. Researchers will find the names of both bride and groom along with the marriage date. The county where the ceremony was performed is also provided. Containing about 150,000 records and the names of nearly 300,000 men and women.
Death
  • 1881–1974 Index to Deaths and Burials at Ancestry $. Volunteers extracted the details in this index from microfilmed copies of church, civil, family, and other records of Alabama deaths and burials. details vary depending on the original record. Note that the number of available records can vary widely by county, and this database does not necessarily represent a comprehensive set of death records for the state during this time.
Vital Record Substitutes

A free collection of obituaries and death notices from various funeral homes in the DeKalb County area has been put together by GenealogyBuffs.com.

Voting Registers

Alabama Voting Registers for 1867 are available online at the Alabama Department of Archives and History.  DeKalb County has one book.

Societies and Libraries

DeKalb County Genealogical Society
P. O. Box 681087
Fort Payne, AL
35968-1612

Northeast Alabama Genealogical Society
P. O. Box 8268
Gadsden, AL
35902
Publication: Northeast Alabama Settlers NorthEast Alabama Genealogical Society (NEAGS) DeKalb County

Landmarks of DeKalb County
P. O. Box 680518
Fort Payne, AL
35968-0518
256-845-6888
Landmarks of DeKalb County

Collinsville Historical Association
P. O. Box 849
Collinsville, AL
35967
256-524-2323

DeKalb DeKalb County Public Library
256-845-2671

Rainsville Public Library
941 East Main St
Rainsville, Alabama 35986
United States
+1 256-638-3311

Hours: Mon, Wed, Thur & Fri 8am-5pm;
Tue 8am-7pm;
Sat 8am-12pm

Family History Centers

Family history centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See family history center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.

LDS Family History Center
6611 Banks Dr NW
Fort Payne
256-845-0467
Family History Centre Locator

Websites

References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Dekalb County p. 37. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. Genealogy Trails History Group, “DeKalb County, Alabama Genealogy and History”, http://genealogytrails.com/ala/dekalb/ 06/05/2017.
  3. Wikipedia contributors, "DeKalb, Alabama," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/DeKalb_County,_Alabama 06/05/2017.
  4. "Johann de Kalb," Wikipedia.
  5. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).