Dawson County, Nebraska Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
United States
Nebraska
Dawson County
 

Guide to Dawson County, Nebraska ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

{{{link}}}
County Facts
County seat: Lexington
Organized: January 11, 1860
Parent County(s): unorganized territory[1]
Neighboring Counties
Buffalo  • Custer  • Frontier  • Gosper  • Lincoln  • Phelps
See County Maps
Courthouse
NebraskaDawsonCourthouse.jpg
Location Map
200px-Map of Nebraska highlighting Dawson County svg.bmp
Adoption


County Information

Description

The county of Dawson was thought to have been named after Jacob Dawson, the first postmaster in the settlement of Lancaster; further research has indicated that the honor may actually belong to Pennsylvania Congressman, John L. Dawson, writer of the homestead bill of 1854.[2]

County Courthouse

Dawson County Courthouse
700 N Washington St
Lexington, NE 68850
Phone: 308.324.5606
Dawson County Website

County Clerk has marriage records from 1873.
County Court has probate and court records.
Clerk District Court has divorce and naturalization records.
Register of Deeds has land records.
Veterans Service Office has military records. [1]

Dawson County, Nebraska Record Dates

Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.

Known Beginning Dates for Major Records[3]
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1871 1871 1871 1870

Record Loss

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Boundary Changes

Populated Places

The following are locations in Dawson County, Nebraska:[4]

Cities

  • Cozad
  • Gothenburg
  • Lexington

Villages

  • Eddyville
  • Farnam
  • Overton
  • Sumner

Unincorporated communities

  • Buffalo
  • Darr
  • Josselyn

Census-designated place

  • Willow Island

History Timeline

Resources

Bible Records

Biographies

Business, Commerce, and Occupations

Cemeteries

Cemeteries of Dawson County, Nebraska online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
Tombstone Transcriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See Nebraska Cemeteries for more information

 

  • Christ Cemetery - Gothenburg
  • Cottonwood Cemetery - Cozad
  • Cozad Cemetery - Cozad
  • Evergreen Cemetery - Lexington (north east)
  • Fairview Cemetery - Cozad
  • Gothenbury Cemetery - Gothenburg
  • Grace Cemetery - Lexington (west)
  • Hewitt Cemetery - Lexington (west)
  • Hillside Cemetery - Buffalo
  • Jewell Cemetery - Sumner
  • Mount Hope Cemetery - Lexington (east)
  • Overton Cemetery - Overton
  • Park Valley Cemetery - Eddyville
  • Pleasant View Cemetery - Gothenburg (south east)
  • Rose Hill Cemetery - Buffalo
  • Saint Ann's Cemetery - Lexington (east)
  • Saint John's Cemetery - Buffalo
  • Saint Patrick's Cemetery - Eddyville
  • Salem Cemetery - Gothenburg
  • Sumner Cemetery - Sumner
  • Walnut Grove Cemetery - Cozad (north west)
  • Willow Island Cemetery - Willow Island

Census Records

Historical populations
Census Pop.  %±
1860 16
1870 103 543.8%
1880 2,909 2724.3%
1890 10,129 248.2%
1900 12,264 21.1%
1910 15,961 30.1%
1920 16,004 0.3%
1930 17,875 11.7%
1940 17,890 0.1%
1950 19,393 8.4%
1960 19,405 0.1%
1970 19,771 1.9%
1980 22,304 12.8%
1990 19,940 −10.6%
2000 24,365 22.2%
2010 24,326 −0.2%
Source: "Wikipedia.org".

Federal Censuses were taken for Nebraska starting in 1860. For links to Federal census indexes, see Nebraska Census.

For tips on accessing Dawson County, Nebraska Genealogy census records online, see: Nebraska Census.

State Census Records

Church Records

Church records vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Nebraska denominations, view the Nebraska Church Records wiki page.

Lutheran

  • Records of the American Lutheran Church, Gothenburg, in Evangelical Lutheran Church in America database at Archives.com ($).

Court Records

Directories

Emigration and Immigration

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups

Funeral Homes

Genealogies

Guardianship

Land and Property Records

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Nebraska Land and Property for additional information about early Nebraska land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse, where records are currently housed.

For more information see Nebraska Land and Property

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Dawson County, Nebraska Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Nebraska Local Histories.

Maps and Gazetteers

Nedawson.png

Migration

Early migration routes to and from Dawson County for European and African American settlers included:

Military Records

Revolutionary War

Civil War

World War I

Naturalization and Citizenship

Newspapers

For information on Nebraska newspapers, see Nebraska Newspapers.

Nebraska Newspapers Online

Nebraska Newspaper Catalogs

Obituaries

Other Records

Periodicals

Probate Records

In most counties in Nebraska, probate records have been kept by the county judge. They include wills, fee books, claim registers, legacy records, inheritance records, probate ticklers, and dockets. The records are available at the county courthouse.

The FamilySearch Catalog lists films of probate records. To find the records for this county, use the Place Search for Nebraska - Dawson - Probate records. Online Probate Records

School Records

Tax Records

Nebraska tax records complement land records and can be used in place of censuses before 1820 or to supplement the years between censuses. There may be gaps of several years in the records.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Nebraska Department of Health and Human Services or the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred.

Birth

Marriage

Death

Divorce

Research Facilities

Archives

Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes.

Libraries

Museums

Societies

Websites

  • NEGenWeb
  • USGenWeb
  • FamilySearch Catalog - The FamilySearch catalog contains descriptions and access information for all genealogical materials (including books, online materials, microfilm, microfiche, and publications) in their collection.  Use Historical Records to search for specific individuals in genealogical records

Research Guides

References

  1. 1.0 1.1 1.2 Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Nebraska. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. http://genealogytrails.com/neb/dawson/ accessed 09/29/2016
  3. Alice Eichholz, Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County and Town Sources, Revised ed. (Salt Lake City: Ancestry, 1992), 452-465. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27rb 1992
  4. Wikipedia contributors, "Dawson County, Nebraska," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Dawson_County,_Nebraska, accessed 29 July 2016.
  5. Jim Tompkins, "The Oregon Trail 1841-1848 Map II" in Oregon Trail Landmarks at http://www.oregonpioneers.com/OTMap2.jpg (accessed 18 July 2011).
  6. "Oregon California Trails Association" at http://octatrails.micromaps.com/ (accessed 18 July 2011).
  7. "The Pioneer Story: The Mormon Pioneer Trail" in The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints at http://lds.org/gospellibrary/pioneer/pioneerstory.htm (accessed 18 July 2011).