To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Davidson County, North Carolina Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Davidson County, North Carolina ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

{{{link}}}
County Facts
County seat: Lexington
Organized: 9 December 1822
Parent County(s): Rowan[1]
Neighboring Counties
Davie  • Forsyth  • Guilford  • Montgomery  • Randolph  • Rowan  • Stanly
See County Maps
Courthouse
NorthCarolinaDavidsonCourthouse.jpg
Location Map
Nc-davidson.png
Adoption
Adopt-a-wiki page
Logonew small.gif This page adopted by:
NCGenWeb Project
who welcome you to contribute.
Adopt a page today

County Information[edit | edit source]

Description[edit | edit source]

Davidson County is located in the Central portion of North Carolina and was named for William Lee Davidson, a Revolutionary War general[2].

County Courthouse[edit | edit source]

Davidson County Courthouse
P O Box 464
Lexington, NC 27293
Phone: 336-242-2150

Register of Deeds has birth, marriage, death and burial
land records from 1823
Clerk Superio Court has divorce
probate and court records from 1823[3]

Davidson County, North Carolina Record Dates[edit | edit source]

Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.

Known Beginning Dates for Major County Records[4]
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1823 1823 1823 1823 1823 1823 1784
Statewide registration for births and deaths started in 1913. General compliance by 1920.

Record Loss[edit | edit source]

1866--Courthouse fire may have destroyed some records.
For suggestions about research in places that suffered historic record losses, see:

Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]

  • 1822--Davidson County was created 9 December 1822 from Rowan County.
  • County seat: Lexington[5]

For animated maps illustrating North Carolina county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation North Carolina County Boundary Maps" (1664-1965) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Populated Places[edit | edit source]

The following are locations in Davidson County, North Carolina:

History Timeline[edit | edit source]

Resources[edit | edit source]

Bible Records[edit | edit source]

Biographies[edit | edit source]

Business, Commerce, and Occupations[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries of Davidson County, North Carolina online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
Tombstone Transcriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See North Carolina Cemeteries for more information

 

Census Records[edit | edit source]

Church Records[edit | edit source]

Baptist

  • Abbott's Creek Established 1753.[6][7] Originally located in Rowan.
  • Jersey. Minute book (1784-1797) available online. Records (1784-1964) available on microfilm at the University of NC Davis Library (1-1414 reel1-4).
  • Lick Creek Established 1787.[7]

German Reformed

  • Beck's Church, near Lexington, N.C. Established about 1765.[8]
  • Beulah (Sauers) Reformed Church Established 1788.[9]
  • Pilgrim Church, near Lexington, N.C. Also known as Leonhardt's (Leonard's) Church. Established about 1757.[10] Originally located in Rowan. Baptisms from 1757-1845 are included in International Genealogical Index at FamilySearch.[11]
  • Bethany Church of Christ Established during the 18th century as a Lutheran Church.[12]

Court Records[edit | edit source]

Directories[edit | edit source]

Emigration and Immigration[edit | edit source]

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups[edit | edit source]

Funeral Homes[edit | edit source]

Genealogies[edit | edit source]

Guardianship[edit | edit source]

Land and Property Records[edit | edit source]

Local Histories[edit | edit source]

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Ncdavidson.png

Migration[edit | edit source]

Military Records[edit | edit source]

Revolutionary War

Civil War

Online Records

Regiments. Men in Davidson County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Davidson County:

- 10th Battalion, North Carolina Heavy Artillery, Company A
- 14th Regiment, North Carolina Infantry, formerly the 4th Volunteers, Company B
- 14th Regiment, North Carolina Infantry, formerly the 4th Volunteers, Company I
- 1st Brigade, North Carolina Reserves, Company C
- 1st Regiment, North Carolina Junior Reserves, Company C
- 6th Regiment, North Carolina Senior Reserves, Company C
- 6th Regiment, North Carolina Senior Reserves, Company G
- 6th Regiment, North Carolina Senior Reserves, Company I

World War I

World War II

Naturalization and Citizenship[edit | edit source]

Newspapers[edit | edit source]

Obituaries[edit | edit source]

The Davidson County Public Library offers the following obituary indexes:

Other Records[edit | edit source]

County Records

Periodicals[edit | edit source]

Probate Records[edit | edit source]

Online Probate Records

School Records[edit | edit source]

Tax Records[edit | edit source]

Vital Records[edit | edit source]

A wiki article describing an online collection is found at: North Carolina Davidson County Vital Records - FamilySearch Historical Records

Birth[edit | edit source]

Marriage[edit | edit source]

Death[edit | edit source]

Divorce[edit | edit source]

Research Facilities[edit | edit source]

Archives[edit | edit source]

Family History Centers[edit | edit source]

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes.

Libraries[edit | edit source]

Museums[edit | edit source]

  • Davidson County Historical Museum
    Old Courthouse on the Square
    2 South Main Street
    Lexington NC 27292
    Fax: 336-242-2871
    Website

Societies[edit | edit source]

  • Genealogical Society of Davidson County
    PO Box 1665
    Lexington, NC 27293
    Website

Websites[edit | edit source]

  • Davidson County, NCGenWeb genealogy resources; part of the national USGenWeb Project
  • FamilySearch Catalog – The FamilySearch catalog contains descriptions and access information for all genealogical materials (including books, online materials, microfilm, microfiche, and publications) in their collection.  Use Historical Records to search for specific individuals in genealogical records.
  • Piedmont Trails

Research Guides[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), North Carolina.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. https://www.ncpedia.org/geography/Davidson
  3. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), North Carolina.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  4. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Davidson County, North Carolina. Page 506-514 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 505-509.
  5. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), North Carolina.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  6. George Washington Paschal, History of North Carolina Baptists, 2 vols. (1930; reprint, Gallatin, Tenn.: Church History Research and Archives, 1990), 1:290-292. FHL Book 975.6 K2p 1990
  7. 7.0 7.1 "Davidson County, North Carolina," Carolana, http://www.carolana.com/NC/Counties/davidson_county_nc.html, accessed 23 October 2012.
  8. "Davidson County, North Carolina," Carolana, http://www.carolana.com/NC/Counties/davidson_county_nc.html, accessed 23 October 2012.
  9. "Davidson County, North Carolina," Carolana, http://www.carolana.com/NC/Counties/davidson_county_nc.html, accessed 23 October 2012.
  10. "Pilgrim Church," North Carolina Highway Historical Marker Program, http://www.ncmarkers.com, accessed 22 October 2012; "Davidson County, North Carolina," Carolana, http://www.carolana.com/NC/Counties/davidson_county_nc.html, accessed 23 October 2012.
  11. Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/wiki/en/images/4/4d/Iginorthcarolinaa.pdf.
  12. "Davidson County, North Carolina," Carolana, http://www.carolana.com/NC/Counties/davidson_county_nc.html, accessed 23 October 2012.
  13. Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/wiki/en/images/4/4d/Iginorthcarolinaa.pdf.