To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Darlington St Cuthbert, Durham Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Darlington St Cuthbert

Guide to Darlington St Cuthbert, Durham family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Darlington St Cuthbert, Durham
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Darlington
County Durham
Poor Law Union Darlington
Registration District Darlington
Records begin
Parish registers: 1590
Bishop's Transcripts: 1762
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Darlington
Diocese Durham
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Durham (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Durham Record Office

Parish History[edit | edit source]

DARLINGTON (St. Cuthbert), a market-town and parish, and the head of a union, in the S. E. division of Darlington ward, S. division of the county of Durham, 18½ miles (S.) from Durham, and 236½ (N. N. W.) from London; There are places of worship for Particular Baptists; the Society of Friends; Independents; Primitive, Association, and Wesleyan Methodists; and Roman Catholics.[1]

Additional information: St Cuthbert's parish as an ancient parish including the following places Archdeacon Newton, Blackwell, Bondgate,Brankin Moor, Cockerton, Prebend and Preistgate, Darlington Borough,Oxney and Oxneyfield.[2]

Resources[edit | edit source]

Parish Records[edit | edit source]

Darlington St Cuthbert parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FS = FamilySearch - free
FREG = FreeREG - free
FMP = Northumberland and Durham Baptisms, Marriages, Burials (FindMyPast) - ($)
TGEN = Durham Parish Records (TheGenealogist) - ($)[3]
JOIN = The Joiner Marriage Index - ($)
FS BTs = England, Durham Diocese Bishop's Transcripts, 1639-1919 (FamilySearch) - free
FS Marr Img = England, Durham Diocese, Calendar of Marriage Bonds & Allegations, 1594-1815 (FamilySearch) - free
FS Marr = England, Durham Diocese, Marriage Bonds & Allegations, 1692-1900 (FamilySearch) - free
BOYD = England, Boyd's Marriage Indexes, 1538-1850 (FindMyPast) - free
NBI = National Burial Index (FindMyPast) - free
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[4]
FS Catalog PRs = FamilySearch Catalog Parish registers - free
Darlington St Cuthbert Online Parish Records
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS 1538-1975
1538-1973
1538-1991
FREG 1538-1900s
1538-1900s
1538-1900s
FMP 1538-1990
1538-1989
1538-2000
TGEN 1559-1800s
1558-1800s
1559-1800s
JOIN

1538-1837


FS BTs
1639-1919
1639-1919
1639-1919
FS Marr Img


1594-1815

FS Marr

1692-1900


BOYD

1538-1850


NBI



1559-1999
IGI



FS Catalog PRs


To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Records are also available at the Durham County Record Office.

Non-Conformist Churches[edit | edit source]
  • Baptist
  • Independent/Congregational
  • Wesleyan Methodist
  • Wesleyan Methodist Association

The following non-Church of England denominations were located somewhere in Darlington, but the exact parish has not been identified: Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints

  • Presbyterian
  • Primitive Methodist
  • Roman Catholic
  • Society of Friends/Quaker

Census records[edit | edit source]

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.


Poor Law Unions [edit | edit source]

Darlington Poor Law Union, Durham

Probate records[edit | edit source]

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Durham Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.<br> fckLRfckLR*England Jurisdictions 1851 fckLR*Vision of Britain

Websites[edit | edit source]

Darlington on GENUKI

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Lewis, Samuel A.A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 8-15. Adapted. Date accessed: 12 December 2013.
  2. Lewis, Samuel A., fckLRfckLRFrom: 'Darlaston - Datchet', A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848), pp. 8-15. Adapted. Date accessed: 12 December 2013.
  3. Searching Parish Records online (Durham) - The Following Parishes are Available at TheGenealogist, ParishRegister.co.uk, accessed 23 April 2019.
  4. ArcherSoftware.co.uk