To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Dare County, North Carolina Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Dare County, North Carolina ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

{{{link}}}
County Facts
County seat: Manteo
Organized: 3 February 1870
Parent County(s): Currituck, Hyde, Tyrrell
Neighboring Counties
Currituck  • Hyde  • Tyrrell
See County Maps
Courthouse
NorthCarolinaDareCourthouse.jpg
Location Map
Nc-dare.png
Adoption
Adopt-a-wiki page
Logonew small.gif This page adopted by:
NCGenWeb Project
who welcome you to contribute.
Adopt a page today

County Information[edit | edit source]

Description[edit | edit source]

Dare County is located in the Eastern portion of North Carolina and was named in honor of Virginia Dare, the first English child born in America[1].

County Courthouse[edit | edit source]

Dare County Courthouse
400 Budleigh Street
P O Box 70
Manteo, NC 27954
Phone: 252-473-3438
Dare County Website

Registrar of Deed has birth and death records from 1913
marriage records from 1870 and land records
Clerk Court has divorce, probate and court records from 1870[2]

Dare County, North Carolina Record Dates[edit | edit source]

Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.

Known Beginning Dates for Major County Records[3]
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1913 1870 1913 1870 1804 1870 1784
Statewide registration for births and deaths started in 1913. General compliance by 1920.

Record Loss[edit | edit source]

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]

For animated maps illustrating North Carolina county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation North Carolina County Boundary Maps" (1664-1965) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Populated Places[edit | edit source]

The following are locations in Dare County, North Carolina:

History Timeline[edit | edit source]

Resources[edit | edit source]

Bible Records[edit | edit source]

Biographies[edit | edit source]

Business, Commerce, and Occupations[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries of Dare County, North Carolina online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
Tombstone Transcriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See North Carolina Cemeteries for more information

 

Census Records[edit | edit source]

Church Records[edit | edit source]

Court Records[edit | edit source]

Directories[edit | edit source]

Emigration and Immigration[edit | edit source]

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups[edit | edit source]

African Americans

  • Roanoke Island Freedman's Colony - website dedicated to camp on the island of refugee slaves just after the Civil War. Site includes history, documents, lists of slaves who lived on the island and more.

Funeral Homes[edit | edit source]

Genealogies[edit | edit source]

Guardianship[edit | edit source]

Land and Property Records[edit | edit source]

Local Histories[edit | edit source]

Photographs

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Ncdare.png

Migration[edit | edit source]

Military Records[edit | edit source]

Revolutionary War

War of 1812

  • Jones, Gordon C.: .Abstracts of land-grants, tax lists, orphans dockets, inventories and other records, Currituck and Dare counties, North Carolina, 1666-1831 Chesapeak, Virginia, G.C.Jones c1982) pages 91 FHL Book 976.6132 P28

Civil War

Civil War Battles
The following Civil War battles were fought in Dare County:

Map showing Civil War battles in North Carolina.

World War I

World War II

Naturalization and Citizenship[edit | edit source]

Newspapers[edit | edit source]

Obituaries[edit | edit source]

Other Records[edit | edit source]

County Records

Periodicals[edit | edit source]

Probate Records[edit | edit source]

Online Probate Records

School Records[edit | edit source]

Tax Records[edit | edit source]

Vital Records[edit | edit source]

Birth[edit | edit source]

Marriage[edit | edit source]

Death[edit | edit source]

Divorce[edit | edit source]

Research Facilities[edit | edit source]

Archives[edit | edit source]

Family History Centers[edit | edit source]

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes.

Libraries[edit | edit source]

Museums[edit | edit source]

Societies[edit | edit source]

  • Albemarle Genealogical Society
    142 Waterlily Road
    Coinjock, NC 27923
    website
    Website

Websites[edit | edit source]

Research Guides[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. https://www.ncpedia.org/geography/dare
  2. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), North Carolina.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  3. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Dare County, North Carolina. Page 506-514 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 505-509.
  4. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), North Carolina.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  5. Heritage Preservation Services, Civil War Battle Summaries by State, (accessed 9 August, 2012)
  6. Heritage Preservation Services, Civil War Battle Summaries by State, (accessed 9 August, 2012)
  7. Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/wiki/en/images/4/4d/Iginorthcarolinaa.pdf.