Dane County, Wisconsin Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Dane County, Wisconsin)
Jump to: navigation, search
United States
Wisconsin
Dane County


Guide to Dane County, Wisconsin ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

{{{link}}}
County Facts
County seat: Madison
Organized: December 7, 1836
Parent County(s): Iowa, Milwaukee[1]
Neighboring Counties
Columbia  • Dodge  • Green  • Iowa  • Jefferson  • Rock  • Sauk
See County Maps
Courthouse
Madison, Dane County Courthouse Wisconsin.JPG
Location Map
WI Dane.png
Adoption

County Information

Description

The County was named for Nathan Dane. The County has Madison as its seat and the County was created 1839. The County is located in the south central area of the state.[2]

County Courthouse

Dane County Courthouse
210 Martin Luther King Blvd
Madison, WI 53709
Phone: 608-266-4121
Dane County Website

Register of Deeds has birth, marriage, death, land and military records.
Clerk of Courts has divorce, probate and court records. [3]

Dane County, Wisconsin Record Dates

Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.

Known Beginning Dates for Major County Records[4]
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1860 1839 1876 1841 1835 1847 1820
Statewide registration for births and deaths began in 1907. General compliance year unknown.

Record Loss

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Wisconsin County boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Wisconsin County Boundary Maps" (1790-1961) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Populated Places

The following are locations in Dane County, Wisconsin:[6]

Cities
Towns
Villages
Unincorporated communities
Native American communities


History Timeline

Resources

Bible Records

Biographies

Business, Commerce, and Occupations

Cemeteries

Cemeteries of Dane County, Wisconsin online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
Tombstone Transcriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See Wisconsin Cemeteries for more information

Census Records

Historical populations
Census Pop.  %±
1840 314
1850 16,639 5199.0%
1860 43,922 164.0%
1870 53,096 20.9%
1880 53,233 0.3%
1890 59,578 11.9%
1900 69,435 16.5%
1910 77,435 11.5%
1920 89,432 15.5%
1930 112,737 26.1%
1940 130,660 15.9%
1950 169,357 29.6%
1960 222,095 31.1%
1970 290,272 30.7%
1980 323,545 11.5%
1990 367,085 13.5%
2000 426,526 16.2%
2010 488,073 14.4%
Source: "Wikipedia.org".

For tips on accessing Dane census records online, see: Wisconsin Census.

  • 1855 - 1855 Wisconsin State Census This census includes name of head of family; other individuals in the household are identified by sex and race, number of deaf and dumb, blind, insane and foreign born.
  • 1865 - 1865 Wisconsin State Census Name index and images of the 1865 State Census which names the head of household. Most records have been destroyed but schedules exist for the following counties: Dunn, Green, Jackson, Kewaunee, Ozaukee, and Sheboygan.
  • 1875 - 1875 Wisconsin State Census Identifies head of household by name.
  • 1885 - Wisconsin State Census, 1885 at FamilySearch — index and images. Search indexed census.Identifies by name of head of household. Other information is statistical and identifies the rest of the household by race, gender and country of birth.
  • 1895 - Wisconsin State Census, 1895 at FamilySearch — index and images. Identifies head of household by name. Other information is statistical.
  • 1905 - Wisconsin State Census, 1905 at FamilySearch — Name index and images of population. Enumerates by name all inhabitants.

Church Records

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Wisconsin denominations, view the Wisconsin Church Records wiki page.

Lutheran
Black Earth

  • Records of Black Earth Lutheran Church in Evangelical Lutheran Church in America database at Archives.com ($).

De Forest

  • Records of the American Lutheran Church, De Forest, in Evangelical Lutheran Church in America database at Archives.com ($).

First Lutheran Church, Stoughton

  • Records of the First Lutheran Church, Stoughton, in Evangelical Lutheran Church in America database at Archives.com ($).

Immanuel Lutheran Church, Mt. Horeb

  • Records of Immanuel Lutheran Church, Mt. Horeb, in Evangelical Lutheran Church in America database at Archives.com ($).

Madison Norwegian Lutheran Church

  • Records of Madison Norwegian Lutheran Church in Evangelical Lutheran Church in America database at Archives.com ($).

Roxbury

  • Records of Roxbury Lutheran Church in Evangelical Lutheran Church in America database at Archives.com ($).

St. Luke's Lutheran Church, Middleton

  • Records of St. Luke's Lutheran Church, Middleton, in Evangelical Lutheran Church in America database at Archives.com ($).

Zion Lutheran Church, Madison

  • Records of Zion Lutheran Church, Madison, in Evangelical Lutheran Church in America database at Archives.com ($).

Court Records

Directories

Emigration and Immigration

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups

Funeral Homes

Genealogies

Guardianship

Land and Property Records

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Wisconsin Land and Property for additional information about early Wisconsin land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.

Local Histories

Maps and Gazetteers

WI DANE.JPG

Migration

Military Records

Civil War

Regiments. Service men in Dane served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Dane:

- 1st Regiment, Wisconsin Cavalry, Company G
- 2nd Regiment, Wisconsin Cavalry, Company F
- 3rd Regiment, Wisconsin Cavalry, Companies A, B, D, F, H, L and M
- 5th Regiment, Wisconsin Infantry Reorganized, Company G (Men were listed in the Roster as being from the city of Albion, which could have been from the counties of Dane, Trempealeau or Jackson.)
- 7th Regiment, Wisconsin Infantry, Companies A and D
- 8th Regiment, Wisconsin Infantry, Companies E, H and K
- 9th Regiment, Wisconsin Infantry, Company F
- 11th Regiment, Wisconsin Infantry, Companies A, B, D, F, and G
- 12th Regiment, Wisconsin Infantry, Company C
- 15th Regiment, Wisconsin Infantry, Companies B, E and H

Naturalization and Citizenship

A wiki article describing an online collection is found at:

Wisconsin, Dane County Naturalization Records (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Newspapers

Obituaries

Other Records

Periodicals

Probate Records

Probate records are held by the Dane Clerk of Circuit Court and are housed at the Dane Courthouse. See the wiki page Wisconsin Probate Records for information about how to use probate records.

Content: Probate records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.

Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, and adoptions.

Online Records

School Records

Tax Records

Wisconsin tax records complement land records and can be used to supplement the years between censuses. Because only persons who owned property or other items that could be taxed were listed, some residents were not included in tax lists. There may also be gaps of several years in the tax records. For more information see the Wiki page, Wisconsin Taxation.

Vital Records

Vital records consist of birth, death, marriage and divorce records. Most counties started keeping records in the 1870s. In 1907, the counties began sending copies to the state.

For pre-1907 births, deaths, and marriages, search the Wisconsin Genealogy Index.

For additional information, see Wisconsin Vital Records.

Birth

Marriage

Death

Divorce

Research Facilities

Archives

  • Archives - Steenbock Library
    University of Wisconsin, Madison
    425 Steenbock Library
    550 Babcock Dr.
    Madison, WI 53706
    Telephone: 608-262-5629
    Email

Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes.

Libraries

  • Archives - Steenbock Library
    University of Wisconsin, Madison
    425 Steenbock Library
    550 Babcock Dr.
    Madison, WI 53706
    Telephone: 608-262-5629
    Email

Museums

Societies

  • Dane County Area Genealogical Society
    PO Box 5652
    Madison, WI 53705-0652
    Website
  • Dane County Historical Society
    Lussier Family Heritage Center
    3101 Lake Farm Road
    Madison, WI 53711
    Phone: 608-224-3605
    Website
  • Cottage Grove Area Historical Society
    Post Office Box 46
    116 W. Reynolds St.
    Cottage Grove, WI 53527
    Website

Websites

Research Guides

References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Wisconsin.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. Wikipedia contributors, "Dane County, Wisconsin " in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, "https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Dane_County,_Wisconsin."
  3. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Wisconsin.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  4. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Dane County, Wisconsin. Page 755-760, At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 757-759.
  5. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Wisconsin.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  6. Wikipedia contributors, "Dane County, Wisconsin," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Dane_County,_Wisconsin#Communities, accessed 12 August 2018.