Dallas County, Iowa Genealogy
Guide to Dallas County, Iowa ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
|Dallas County, Iowa|
Location in the state of Iowa
Location of Iowa in the U.S.
|Address||Dallas County Iowa Courthouse|
801 Court Street Rm 203
P. O. Box 38
Adel, IA 50003
- 1 County Information
- 2 History
- 3 Places/Localities
- 4 Resources
- 5 Census
- 6 Church History and Records
- 7 Court Records
- 8 Funeral Homes
- 9 Genealogy
- 10 Land and Deed Records
- 11 Local Histories
- 12 Maps
- 13 Military History and Records
- 14 Naturalization and Citizenship
- 15 Newspapers
- 16 Obituaries
- 17 Probate
- 18 Public Records
- 19 Schools
- 20 Taxation
- 21 Vital Records
- 22 Societies and Libraries
- 23 References
County Information[edit | edit source]
Description[edit | edit source]
The County was named for George M. Dallis. The County has Adel as its seat and the County was created 1846. The County is located in the centre area of the state.
Dallas County, Iowa Record Dates[edit | edit source]
Dallas County Iowa Courthouse
801 Court Street Rm 203
P. O. Box 38
Adel, IA 50003
History[edit | edit source]
Dallas County was named for George Mifflin Dallas, 11th Vice President of the United States of America, under President James K. Polk . The Early History of Dallas County article gives helpful informaton on the County's beginnings. Other statistical information can be found at Wikipedia.
Parent County[edit | edit source]
Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]
For animated maps illustrating Iowa County boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Iowa County Boundary Maps" (1816-1872) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.
15 January 1851: Greene County was set off.
Record Loss[edit | edit source]
There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.
Places/Localities[edit | edit source]
Town/city records in the FamilySearch Catalog
- Adams Township
- Adel Township
- Boone Township
- Dallas Center
- Sugar Grove Township
- Union Township
- Van Mater
- Walnut Township
- Washington Township
Populated Places[edit | edit source]
For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit HomeTown Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:
Neighboring Counties[edit | edit source]
Resources[edit | edit source]
Biography[edit | edit source]
Cemeteries[edit | edit source]
|Tombstone Transcriptions Online||Tombstone Transcriptions in Print||List of Cemeteries in the county|
|Findagrave.com||Family History Library||Findagrave.com|
|IAGenWeb Archives||FamilySearch Places|
|See Iowa Cemeteries for more information.|
- 1846-1988 Iowa, Dallas County, Violet Hill Cemetery, Lot Records, 1846-1988 at FamilySearch - How to use this collection, index.
Census[edit | edit source]
Iowa recorded not only the federal census but state census through out the years too. The state census contains very valuable genealogical information. Where the census information can be found, what years it was taken, mortality schedules, census substitutions and much more is discussed in the very informative Iowa Census article. State Census
- 1895 - Iowa State Census, 1895 at FamilySearch — index and images
- 1905 - Iowa State Census, 1905 at FamilySearch — index and images
- 1915 - Iowa State Census, 1915 at FamilySearch — index and images
- 1925 - Iowa State Census. 1925 at FamilySearch — index and images
Church History and Records[edit | edit source]
Most church records are held by individual churches. Some denominations are gathering their records into a central repository. For more information about these major repositories, see Iowa Church Records. List of Churches and Church Parishes
- Methodist Episcopal
- Cumberland Presbyterian
- United Brethren in Christ
Court Records[edit | edit source]
- Court Records
- Divorce Records
Funeral Homes[edit | edit source]
Genealogy[edit | edit source]
Also see: Biography, History
Land and Deed Records[edit | edit source]
Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. They include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.
See Iowa Land and Property for information about early Iowa land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, transactions were usually recorded and housed at the county courthouse.
Local Histories[edit | edit source]
Local histories are available for Dallas County, Iowa Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Iowa Local Histories.
- Hastie, Eugene N. Hastie's history of Dallas County, Iowa. Des Moines, Iowa : Wallace- Homstead Co., 1938.
- Online at FamilySearch (Free)
- The History of Dallas County, Iowa : containing a history of the county, its cities; biographical directory, war record of its volunteers in the late rebellion, general and local statistics, portraits of early settlers and prominent men, history of the Northwest, history of Iowa, map of Dallas County, constitution of the United States, constitution of the. Des Moines, Iowa : Union Historical Co., 1879.
- Cook, Darius B. History of Quaker Divide : struggles and accomplishments of settlers ; the story of their achievements forms interesting reminiscences in the history of early days, meetings, schools, farm and home life. Dexter, Iowa : Dexter Sentinel, 1914.
- Online at FamilySeach (Free)
- Wood, Robert F. Past and present of Dallas County, Iowa : together with biographical sketches of many of its prominent and leading citizens and illustrious dead. Chicago : S.J. Clarke Pub. Co., 1907.
- Online at FamilySearch (Free)
Maps[edit | edit source]
- Old Antique Atlases & Maps of Iowa
- David Rumsey Map Collection is a large online collection of rare, old, antique historical atlases, globes, maps, charts plus other cartographic treasures. This Collection features the cities of Altoona and Adel.
- FamilySearch Places:Cities and Towns- How to Use FS Places
Military History and Records[edit | edit source]
- 1835-1998 - Iowa, Armed Forces Grave Registrations, ca. 1835-1998 at FamilySearch — index
- 1861-1949 - Iowa, Grand Army of the Republic Membership Records, 1861-1949 at FamilySearch — index and images
- 1862-1910 - Iowa, Records of Persons Subject to Military Duty, 1862-1910 at FamilySearch — index
Civil War[edit | edit source]
Regiments. Service men in Dallas County, Iowa Genealogy served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Dallas County, Iowa Genealogy:
- - 23rd Regiment, Iowa Infantry, Company A
- - 46th Regiment, Iowa Infantry (100 days, 1864), Company C
- - 23rd Regiment, Iowa Infantry, Company A
:- 46th Regiment, Iowa Infantry (100 days, 1864), Company C
Naturalization and Citizenship[edit | edit source]
- 1859-1990 - United States, Iowa Naturalization Records, 1859-1990 at FamilySearch — index and images
Newspapers[edit | edit source]
- Altoona Public Library Archives, Polk County (1876-2000)
- Johnston Historical Society Archive, Polk County (1970-2007)
- NewspaperArchive.com ($) has historical newspapers online including Des Moines newspapers. This database is free at some libraries.
- The Perry Daily Chief. 1895, 1896, 1898, 1902-1910, 1920, 1921, 1924, 1964 Perry, IA, USA. Online at: Ancestry.com ($)
- The Perry Chief. 1874-1877, 1879, 1883, 1887-1889 Perry, IA, USA. Online at: Ancestry.com ($)
- The Chief Reporter. 1898-1900, 1908-1910 Perry, IA, USA. Online at: Ancestry.com ($)
- The Perry Advertiser. 1886, 1898, 1899, 1915 Perry, IA, USA. Online at: Online at: Ancestry.com ($)
- The Perry Bulletin. 1895, 1896 Perry, IA, USA. Online at: Ancestry.com ($)
- Perry Pilot. 1883-1885Perry, IA, USA. Online at: Ancestry.com ($)
- The Bulletin. 1893, 1894, 1914 Perry, IA, USA. Online at: Ancestry.com ($)
- Chief Advertiser. 1914, 1915, 1937-1941, 1957 Perry, IA, USA. Online at: Ancestry.com ($)
- The Reporter. 1892, 1893 Perry, IA, USA. Online at: Ancestry.com ($)
Obituaries[edit | edit source]
Probate[edit | edit source]
Online Probate Indexes and Records
In most counties in Iowa, probate records have been kept by the county judge. They include wills, fee books, claim registers, legacy records, inheritance records, probate ticklers, and dockets. The records are available at the county courthouse.
Public Records[edit | edit source]
Schools[edit | edit source]
Taxation[edit | edit source]
Iowa tax records complement land records and can supplement the years between censuses. Iowa's unique Old Age Assistance tax gives names, addresses and birth years. There may be gaps of several years. For more information, see the wiki page Iowa Taxation.
Vital Records[edit | edit source]
Vital Records consist of births, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded by civil officials on registers, certificates, and other documents. Copies or extracts may be purchased from the Iowa Department of Public Health or the County Clerk's office. See also Iowa Vital Records.
Births[edit | edit source]
- 1850-1939 - Iowa, Delayed Birth Records, 1850-1939 at FamilySearch — index and images
- 1921-1942 - Iowa, Birth Records, 1921-1942 at FamilySearch — index and images
Marriages[edit | edit source]
- 1518-1996 - Iowa, United States Marriages at FindMyPast — index $
- 1809-1992 Iowa, Marriages, 1809-1992 at MyHeritage ($) — index
- 1836-1926 Iowa, Marriages, 1836 - 1926 at MyHeritage ($) — index
- 1838-1934 - Iowa, County Marriages, 1838-1934 at FamilySearch — index and images
- 1880-1951 Iowa, Marriage Records, 1880-1951 at Ancestry.com ($) — index and images
Deaths[edit | edit source]
- 1850-1990 - Iowa, Deaths and Burials 1850-1990 at FamilySearch - index
- 1880-1992 - Iowa, County Death Records, 1880-1992 at FamilySearch — index
- 1900-1939 Iowa Death Index, 1900-1939 at MyHeritage ($) — index
- 1904-1951 - Iowa, Death Records, 1904-1951 at FamilySearch — index and images
- 1920-1967 Iowa, Death Records, 1920-1967 at Ancestry.com ($) — index and images
Societies and Libraries[edit | edit source]
Dallas County Genealogical Society
P.O. Box 264
Dallas Center, IA 50063-0246
Family History Centers[edit | edit source]
Family History Center and Affiliate Library Locator map - search for local Family History Centers or Affiliate Libraries
- Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance, free access to center-only databases, and to premium genealogical websites.
- FamilySearch Affiliate Libraries have access to most center-only databases, but may not always have full services normally provided by a family history center.
Local Centers and Affiliate Libraries
Websites[edit | edit source]
| Check back often with these websites. Internet offerings are growing at record rates.
Local societies and libraries may know of other websites.
|State Historical Society of Iowa||Free||Select from research collection topics|
|The Iowa Heritage Digital Collection||Free||digital images from a variety of Iowa cultural institutions - results of "dallas county" in the search box|
|State Library of Iowa||Free||electronic depository of documents intended for the general public produced by Iowa agencies - results of "dallas county" in the search box|
|IAGenWeb Project||Free||Data may be submitted by individuals or complete transcriptions|
|USGenWeb Archives||Free||Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions|
|  FamilySearch||Free||Births, 1880-1935; Deaths 1880-1992; Marriages, 1838-1934; all indexes|
|RootsWeb Resources||Free||Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions|
|Linkpendium||Free||Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)|
|CyndisList||Free||Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)|
|StateofUS.com||Free||family history resources and government records|
Books, microfilm, or manuscripts of genealogical records
|FamilySearch Catalog||Select topics. To select towns, add a comma to the search box.|
|WorldCat||To find nearby libraries that have specific items, see WorldCat Online Catalog.|
|Allen County Public Library||located in Indiana They are heavily involved in digitizing.|
|http://geneabloggerstribe.com/blog/ GeneaBloggers]||enter "Iowa" in search box to see list and links to Iowa blogs|
|list of groups from "Iowa Genealogy" search|
|genealogy.com||IA Genealogy Forum|
|ancestry.com||Dallas County Message Board|
References[edit | edit source]
- Wikipedia contributors, "Dallas, Iowa," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, "https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Dallas_County,_Iowa.
- Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Dallas County, Iowa. Page 230-238 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 222-225.
- Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), [FHL book 973 D27e 2002].
- Wikipedia contributors, "Dallas County, Iowa," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Dallas_County,_Iowa, accessed 8 August 2019.