Dallas County, Arkansas Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
United States
Arkansas
Dallas County
 

Guide to Dallas County, Arkansas ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

{{{link}}}
County Facts
County seat: Fordyce
Organized: January 1, 1845
Parent County(s): Clark and Bradley[1]
Neighboring Counties
Calhoun  • Clark  • Cleveland  • Grant  • Hot Spring  • Ouachita
See County Maps
Courthouse
ArkansasDallasCourthouse.jpg
Location Map
Ar-dallas.png
Adoption

County Information

The County of Dallas in Arkansas, was created on 1 January 1845 from Bradley and Clark Counties. It was named for George Mifflin Dallas, who was vice-president under President James Polk. Dallas County is bound on the north by Hot Spring and Grant Counties; On the east by Cleveland County; on the south by Calhoun and Ouachita Counties; and on the west by Clark County. Dallas County is well watered by the Ouachita River on its west border, on the east by Moro creek and through the center are Saline, Cypress and Tulip creeks. Many fine springs are found all through the county. There are also many Sulphur springs, which discharging many hundreds of gallons of water per day.

Description

County Courthouse

Dallas County Courthouse
206 W 3rd Street
Fordyce, AR 71742
Phone: 870.352.7179
Dallas County Website

County Clerk has marriage records from 1855, land records from 1845, probate, divorce and court records.[2]

Dallas County, Arkansas

Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.

Known Beginning Dates for Major Records[3]
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1914* 1855 1914* 1845 1845 1845
*State birth and death records began in 1914. Limited compliance until 1920's

Record Loss

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Boundary Changes

Populated Places

The following are locations in Dallas County, Arkansas:

Towns

  • Sparkman
  • Tulip

Communities

  • North Fordyce

Census Districts

  • Beech Grove
  • Bucksnort
  • Bunn
  • Cooney
  • Dalark
  • Eagletie
  • Fairview
  • Farindale
  • Forrest Bonner
  • Holly Springs
  • Ivan
  • Ivy

History Timeline

Emphasis for this timeline is on events that affected migration, records, or record-keeping. Unless otherwise mentioned, the events below were taken from the Dallas County page on the website, The Encyclopedia of Arkansas History and Culture. [5]

  • 1812 - White settlement of the Ouachita River valley had begun .
  • 1840 - Very little settlement was in the area now known as Dallas County, but even those settlers were mostly farmers and their slaves.
  • 1845 January 1 - Dallas County was created from parts of Bradley and Clark counties.
  • 1860-1865 - About a third of the population left the area for Texas and Louisiana to avoid the fighting during the war. Many never returned.
  • 1881 - The construction of four major railroads began in Dallas County.
  • 1930-2010 - The population of Dallas County peaked in 1930 with more than 14,500 people. In 2010 the population had dropped to just over 8,000.

Resources

Bible Records

Biographies

Business, Commerce, and Occupations

Cemeteries

Cemeteries of Dallas, Arkansas online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
TombstoneTranscriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See Arkansas Cemeteries for more information

Census Records

Church Records

Court Records

Directories

Emigration and Immigration

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups

African Americans

Funeral Homes

Genealogies

Guardianship

Land and Property Records

Local Histories

Local histories are available for {{{1}}} County. They may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. Click for a brief Timeline History of the county. For more about local histories, see Arkansas Local Histories.Dallas County argenweb.net has many local and online resources including transcriptions of all the Goodspeed Biographies.

The site also has a list of towns and communities with short descriptions.

  • Biographical and Historical Memoirs of Southern Arkansas. Chicago, IL, USA: Goodspeed Publishing, 1890. Online at:Ancestry.com ($)

Maps and Gazetteers

Click on a neighboring county to go to the wiki page.
Dallas CountyCleveland CountyBradley CountyCalhoun CountyOuachita CountyNevada CountyClark CountyHot Spring CountyGarland CountyGrant CountyJefferson CountyLincoln CountyDrew CountyAshley CountyUnion CountyColumbia CountyLafayette CountyHempstead CountyPike CountyMontgomery CountySaline CountyPulaski CountyLonoke CountyARDallas.JPG

Migration

Military Records

Revolutionary War

  • Rejected or Suspended Applications for Revolutionary War Pensions. Washington, D.C., 1852. Reprinted by Genealogical Publishing Co., Inc., 1969, and 1991. Reprints include "an Added Index to States." FHL Collection 973 M24ur; digital version at Ancestry ($). [Includes veterans from this county; Arkansas section begins on page 439.]

Civil War

Regiments. Men in Dallas County served in various regiments and companies. Those listed below were specifically formed in this county:

- 2nd Battalion, Arkansas Calvalry (Confederate) , Company C
- 3rd Consolidated Regiment, Arkansas Infantry (Confederate),
- 3rd Regiment, Arkansas Cavalry (Confederate), Company A
- 6th Regiment, Arkansas Infantry (Confederate),
- 12th Regiment, Arkansas Infantry (Confederate),
- 18th Regiment, Arkansas Infantry (Confederate), Company B
- 26th Regiment, Arkansas Infantry (Confederate), Company F
- 33rd Regiment, Arkansas Infantry (Confederate), Company C

Online Records

Naturalization and Citizenship

Newspapers

U.S. Newspaper Directory, 1690-Present from "Chronicling America, Historic American Newspapers" by the Library of Congress; results of search for Dallas County, Arkansas

Finding More Arkansas Newspapers Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Dallas County, Arkansas Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:


Obituaries

Other Records

Periodicals

Probate Records

Online Probate Records

School Records

Tax Records

Vital Records

Birth

Marriage

All others are available from the Dallas County Courthouse.

Death

  • 1918 - 1922 - Dallas County Death Index 1918-1922. Batch B737869 at FamilySearch - free.

Divorce

Research Facilities

Archives

Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes.

Libraries

  • Dallas County Library; Main Branch: Online Catalog
    501 East 4th Street, Fordyce, AR 71742-0584 (870)352-5600, (870) 352-3598 Fax.
  • Dallas County Library; Fohrell Public Library:
    186 Dallas 208, Sparkman, AR 71763-8720 (870) 352-2592, (870) 352-3598 Fax.

Museums

Societies

Websites

  • ARGenWeb. Free. Data may be submitted by individuals or complete transcriptions
  • USGenWeb Archives. Free. Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions
  • RootsWeb. Free. Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions
  • Linkpendium. Free. Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
  • CyndisList. Free. Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
  • FamilySearch Catalog - The FamilySearch catalog contains descriptions and access information for all genealogical materials (including books, online materials, microfilm, microfiche, and publications) in their collection.  Use Historical Records to search for specific individuals in genealogical records

Research Guides

References

  1. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT: Everton Publishers, 2002).
  2. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT: Everton Publishers, 2002).
  3. Alice Eichholz, Red Book: American State, County and Town Sources, 3rd ed. (Salt Lake City: Ancestry Pub., 2004), 65-67. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27rb 2004.
  4. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT: Everton Publishers, 2002).
  5. Michael Hodge, The Encyclopedia of Arkansas History & Culture, (http://www.encyclopediaofarkansas.net/encyclopedia/entry-detail.aspx?entryID=764&type=Category&item=Counties&parent=Counties%2c+Cities%2c+and+Towns&grandparent= : accessed January 13, 2016), “Dallas County.”
  6. 6.0 6.1 FamilySearch Wiki contributors, "Arkansas County Marriages (FamilySearch Historical Records)," in FamilySearch Wiki, accessed 18 April 2013.
  7. Desmond Walls Allen, Third Arkansas Union Cavalry, (Conway, Arkansas: Arkansas Research, c1987), pp. 33-92. FHL book 976.7 M28dc
  8. Calvin L. Collier, They'll do to Tie To: the story of the Third Regiment, Arkansas Infantry, C.S.A.,(Little Rock, Arkansas: Civil War Round Table Associates, 1959) p. 10. FHL book 976.7 M2c
  9. Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/5/5c/Igiarkansasad.pdf.