Dallam County, Texas Genealogy
Guide to Dallam County Texas ancestry, family history, and genealogy research page. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
|Dallum County, Texas|
Location in the state of Texas
Location of Texas in the U.S.
|Founded||November 19, 1876|
|Address||Dallam County Courthouse|
PO Box 1352
Dalhart, TX 79022
- 1 County Information
- 2 History
- 3 Places/Localities
- 4 Resources
- 4.1 African American
- 4.2 Cemeteries
- 4.3 Census
- 4.4 Church
- 4.5 Court
- 4.6 Land
- 4.7 Naturalization and Citizenship
- 4.8 Local Histories
- 4.9 Maps
- 4.10 Military
- 4.11 Newspapers
- 4.12 Probate
- 4.13 Taxation
- 4.14 Vital Records
- 5 Societies and Libraries
- 6 Websites
- 7 References
County Information[edit | edit source]
County Courthouse[edit | edit source]
Dallam County Courthouse
PO Box 1352
Dalhart, TX 79022
County Clerk has birth and death records from 1903,
marriage and court records from 1891, divorce records from 1892,
probate records from 1900 and land records from 1876
County and District Clerk
P.O. Box 1352
Dalhart, Texas 79022
Texline was named the county seat when Dallam County was organized in 1891. Ten years later the railroad came, and a new town, Dalhart, sprang up at the railroad crossing. In 1903, Dalhart became the county seat. Dallam County's first courthouse was built in 1891 in Texline. A second courthouse was built in Dalhart in 1903. The county's current courthouse, shown at right, was built in 1923.
Dallam County Courthouse
County & District Clerk
P.O. Box 1352
Dalhart, Tx. 79022
Dallam County, Texas Record Dates[edit | edit source]
History[edit | edit source]
Parent County[edit | edit source]
1876--Dallam County was created 21 August 1876 from Bexar Land District, but was not organized until 1891.
- County seat: Dalhart 
Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]
Record Loss[edit | edit source]
There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.
Places/Localities[edit | edit source]
Town/city records in the FamilySearch Catalog
Populated Places[edit | edit source]
For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit Hometown Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:
‡This populated place also has portions in an adjacent county or counties
Neighboring Counties[edit | edit source]
Resources[edit | edit source]
African American[edit | edit source]
- 1865-1870 Freedmen's Bureau Field Office Records (images) - FamilySearch
Cemeteries[edit | edit source]
Cemetery records often reveal birth, marriage, death, relationship, military, and religious information.
|Tombstone Transcriptions Online||Tombstone Transcriptions in Print||List of Cemeteries in the county|
|FindAGrave||Family History Library||FindAGrave|
|BillionGraves (name)||Cemeteries of TX|
|GenWeb Archives||Texas Cemeteries|
|BillionGraves||Names in Stone|
|See Texas Cemeteries for more information.|
Census[edit | edit source]
Church[edit | edit source]
- Dalhart Churches - TXGenWeb
Court[edit | edit source]
Land[edit | edit source]
After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions, including deeds and mortgages, have been recorded by the county. You can obtain copies of these land records by writing to the county clerk at the county courthouse. For more information, see Texas Land and Property.
The FamilySearch Catalog lists microfilm copies of deeds, trust deeds, and mortgages of many counties.
- Original Land Owners of Texas - USGenWeb Archives Project
Naturalization and Citizenship[edit | edit source]
- 1906 - 1989 Texas, Naturalization Records, 1906-1989 — index and images
Local Histories[edit | edit source]
Local histories are available for Dallam County, Texas Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Texas Local Histories.
- The Book of Years: A History of Dallam and Hartley Counties, 1969, by Lillie Mae Hunter.
- Hartley County History from the Handbook of Texas Online.
Maps[edit | edit source]
- Texas Counties Map.Texas Genweb site
Military[edit | edit source]
Mexican-American War[edit | edit source]
Civil War[edit | edit source]
- 1861 - 1865 - Texas, Civil War Service Records of Confederate Soldiers, 1861-1865 at FamilySearch — index
- 1861 - 1865 - Texas, Civil War Service Records of Union Soldiers, 1861-1865 at FamilySearch — index
- Confederate Pension Applications - USGenWeb Archives Project
World War I[edit | edit source]
World War II[edit | edit source]
- Dallam County, Texas World War II Casualties Army and Air Force - Access Genealogy
- Heroes of WWII - TXGenWeb
Vietnam War[edit | edit source]
- 1957 - 1958 - US Army Company A - 31st Battalion Fort Carson, CO, 21 Nov 1957 to 13 Jan 1958-TXGenWeb
Newspapers[edit | edit source]
Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Dallam County, Texas Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:
- TX Newspaper Abstracts (For instructions see WorldCat Online Catalog).
Probate[edit | edit source]
Probate records of Texas have been kept by the probate clerk in each county courthouse. You can obtain copies of the records from the clerk's office. In most counties, all information pertaining to a probate case is recorded in the "probate minutes."
Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their places of residence.
Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, marriage, adoption, and birth and death records.
See the Wiki page Texas Probate Records for information about how to use probate records.
Online Probate Records
- 1800 – 1990 Texas Probate Records at FamilySearch — images
- 1800 – 2000 Texas Wills and Probate Records at Ancestry.com — index and images $
Taxation[edit | edit source]
Texas tax records complement land records and can be used in place of censuses or to supplement the years between censuses. Because only persons who owned taxable property were listed, many residents were not included in tax lists. There may also be gaps of several years in the tax records of some counties. For more information, see the wiki page Texas Taxation.
1846-1910 Texas County Tax Rolls lists FHL films with county tax lists. The lists vary by county and year. Most records are between the years of 1846 - 1910.
Vital Records[edit | edit source]
Certified birth and death certificates or birth and death verifications can be ordered online or by mail at the Texas Vital Records State Department of Health. Copies can also be obtained from the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred and are often less expensive. You can also order them online through a third party company.
See Texas Vital Records for more information about Vital records in Texas.
Birth[edit | edit source]
Online Birth Indexes and Records
- 1903-1935 Texas Birth Certificates, 1903-1935 at FamilySearch - images and index
- 1903-1997 Texas Birth Index, 1903-1997 at FamilySearch - index
Marriage[edit | edit source]
Online Marriage Indexes and Records
- 1802-2010 Texas, United States Marriages at FindMyPast — index $
- 1814-1909 and 1966-2011 Texas, Marriage Collection, 1814-1909 and 1966-2011 at Ancestry.com — index $
- 1837-1965 Texas, County Marriage Records, 1837-1965 at FamilySearch — index and images
- 1837-1973 Texas, Marriages, 1837-1973 at FamilySearch — index
- 1837-1977 Texas, County Marriage Index, 1837-1977 at FamilySearch — index
- 1837-1977 Texas, Select County Marriage Index,1837-1977 at Ancestry.com — index $
- 1966-2002 Marriages, Dallam County at USGenWeb Archives Project
- 1966-2010 Texas Marriages, 1966-2010 - FamilySearch record collection
Death[edit | edit source]
Online Death Indexes and Records
- 1890–1976 Texas Death Records, 1890–1976 at FamilySearch - index and images
- 1903-1973 Texas, Deaths and Burials, 1903-1973 at FamilySearch - index
- 1903-1982 Texas, Death Certificates, 1903-1982 at Ancestry.com — index and images $
- 1903-2000 Texas Death Index, 1903-2000 at FamilySearch - index
- 1964-1998 Texas Death Index, 1964-1998 at FamilySearch - index
- 1977-1986 Texas Deaths, 1977-1986 at FamilySearch — index and images
Divorce[edit | edit source]
- 1968-2001 Divorces, Dallam County - USGenWeb Archives Project
- 1968-2005 Texas Divorce Records 1968-2005 (index) - Hidden Ancestors
- 1968-2010 Texas Divorce Index, 1968-2010 at FamilySearch.org — index
- 1968-2011 Texas, Divorce Index, 1968-2011 at Ancestry.com — index $
Societies and Libraries [edit | edit source]
420 Denrock Ave.
Dalhart, TX 79022
Family History Centers[edit | edit source]
Family history centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See family history center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.
Websites[edit | edit source]
- Dallam County TXGenWeb
- USGenWeb project - May have maps, name indexes, history or other information for this county. Select the state, then the county.
- TXGenWeb - transcriptions and photographs
- USGenWeb Archives Project - transcriptions and photographs
- FamilySearch Catalog The catalog is genealogical materials (including books, online materials, microfilm, microfiche, and publications) This catalog is different than the indexed Historical Records.
References[edit | edit source]
- Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Dallam County, Texas. Page 662 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Dallam County, Texas . Page 658-677 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 655-665.
- The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
- Wikipedia contributors, "Dallam County, Texas," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Dallam_County,_Texas, accessed 3 April 2019.