Dalgetty, Fife, Scotland Genealogy
This is a guide to the history and major genealogical records of Scotland as they pertain to the parish of Dalgetty. To learn more about how to use these records to search for your ancestors, go to the Scotland: Research Strategies.
History[edit | edit source]
DALGETY, a parish, in the district of Dunfermline, county of Fife, 2 miles (W. S. W.) from Aberdour; containing the villages of St. David and Fordel-Square, and part of the villages of Crossgates and Hillend. This place, which is on the Frith of Forth, appears to have been indebted for its growth and importance to its situation in the heart of a district abounding in mineral wealth. The church, a very handsome edifice in the later English style, was erected in 1830, on a site about a mile to the north of the ancient church, which was close to the sea; it is adapted for 500 persons.
The New Statistical Account of Scotland (pub. 1834-45) offers uniquely rich and detailed parish reports for the whole of Scotland, covering a vast range of topics including history, agriculture, education, trades, religion and social customs. The reports, written by the parish ministers, are available online at http://edina.ac.uk/stat-acc-scot/. Click on ‘Browse scanned pages’ then search the parish reports for your parish of interest. Also available at the Family History Library.
Census Records[edit | edit source]
A census is a count and description of the population, taken by the government, arranged by locality and by household. Read more about census records.
Here is a list of the Family History Library microfilm numbers for the census records of Dalgetty as well as the library numbers for any surname indexes available:
|Years||FHL Film Number||Surname Indexes|
|1841||FHL 1042700||book 941.33 X22s; films 1145982-3; CD-ROM no. 1075|
|1851||FHL 1042254||941.33 X22f|
|1861||FHL 0103827||CD-ROM no. 2524|
|1881||FHL 0203519||6086574 (set of 8 fiche)|
The 1901 census of Scotland is indexed on www.scotlandspeople.gov.uk. To use it, you must register and pay a small access fee. All available censuses, 1841-1901, are indexed on this website. It may be easier for you to pay to use the website rather than access indexes through the library.
Church Records[edit | edit source]
The Established Church of Scotland was Presbyterian. Read more about church records.
Here are the pre-1855 records that exist for this parish.
Established Church—Old Parochial Registers[edit | edit source]
|Record Type||Years Covered||FHL Film Number|
|Births:||1644-1650, 1717-1854||FHL 1040127 items 3-5|
|Marriages:||1644-1662, 1698-1840||FHL 1040127 items 3-5|
|1839-1855||FHL 1040126 item 1|
|Deaths:||1697-1785||FHL 1040127 items 3-5|
|1833, 1843-1852||FHL 1040126 item 1|
Condition of Original Registers—
[edit | edit source]
Index: For an index to these records, see Scotland’s People website, a pay-for-view website. The Scottish Church Records Index is also still available at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City. Some records may also be indexed in other FamilySearch collections for Scotland.
Births: There are no entries May 1650–March 1717. The old parochial register for births includes one page, found after the record for 16 December 1778, and is headed Seceders, containing entries for 1777–1783.
Marriages: There are no entries 1662–1698, from which date there are only entries of proclamation fees until October1717. There is one entry for 1726. No entries July 1794–May 1797 and July 1804–May 1811. There are, however, entries relating to irregular marriages, dated 1741–1813, a number of which are applicable to the period blank in the regular record.
Deaths: Mortcloth Dues until June 1717 then deaths to the end of record. No entries March 1748–March 1750. After November 1785 there are only nine entries, one for 1817, and eight for period 1833–1852.
Source: Key to the Parochial Registers of Scotland, by V. Ben Bloxham, pub. 1970. FHL British Book 941 K23b.
Established Church—Kirk Session Records[edit | edit source]
The Kirk session was the court of the parish. The session was made up of the minister and the land owners and business men of the parish, chosen to serve on the session. The Kirk session dealt with moral issues, minor criminal cases, matters of the poor and education, matters of discipline, and the general concerns of the parish. Kirk session records may also mention births, marriages, and deaths.
There are no known pre-1855 records for Dalgetty.
Nonconformist Church Records[edit | edit source]
A nonconformist church is any church that is not the Established church. Read more about nonconformity in Scotland in the article on the Scotland Church Records Union Lists.
There were no known pre-1855 nonconformist groups or records for Dalgetty. There are, however, 'irregular' marriages found in the parish register. These Seceders likely attended church services in neighboring parishes.
Civil Registration Records[edit | edit source]
Government or civil registration of births, marriages, and deaths (also called statutory records) began on January 1, 1855 in Scotland. Each parish has a registrar's office and large cities have several. The records are created by the registrars and copies are sent to the General Register Office in Edinburgh. Annual indexes are then created for the records for the whole country.
See the article on Scotland Civil Registration for more information and to access the records.
Probate Records[edit | edit source]
Dalgetty was under the probate jurisdiction of the Commissary Court of St. Andrews until 1823, and since then has been under the Sheriff's Court of Fife at Cupar. Probate records for 1513-1901 are indexed online at www.scotlandspeople.gov.uk. You must register on the website but use of the index to probate records, called 'Wills & Testaments,' is free. You may then purchase a copy of the document or, if the document is before 1823, it will be on microfilm at the Family History Library. To find the microfilm numbers, search in the library catalog for the 'Place' of Fife and the subject of 'Probate records.' Then click on the link to the records of the Commissariat of Fife.
The library also has some post-1823 probate records for Fife. Look in the library catalog for the 'Place' of Fife and the subjects of 'Probate Records' and 'Probate Records - Indexes.'
Read more about Scotland Probate Records.
References[edit | edit source]
- Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of Scotland (1846), pp. 259-280. Adapted. Date accessed: 25 April 2014.
[Return to the Fife parish list.]