To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Dale County, Alabama Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Dale County, Alabama)
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Dale County, Alabama ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

{{{link}}}
County Facts
County seat: Ozark
Organized: December 22, 1824
Parent County(s): Covington, Henry, Pike[1]
Neighboring Counties
Barbour  • Coffee  • Geneva  • Henry  • Houston  • Pike
See County Maps
Courthouse
Dale County, Alabama Courthouse.jpg
Location Map
Dale County Alabama.png
Adoption

County Information[edit | edit source]

Description[edit | edit source]

The County was named in honor of General Samuel Dale.[2]The County is located in the southeast area of the state.[3]

County Courthouse[edit | edit source]

Dale County Courthouse
100 E Court Square
Ozark, AL 36360
Phone: 334-774-5003
Dale County Website

Probate Judge has marriage and probate records from 1884 and land records;
Clerk Circuit Court has court records and divorce records from 1885
County Health Department has birth records[4]

Dale County, Alabama Record Dates[edit | edit source]

Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.

Known Beginning Dates for Major Records[5]
Birth Marriage Death Court Land Probate Census
1919 1884 1820 1885 1884 1884 1816
*Statewide registration for births and deaths began in 1908. General compliance for births by 1927 and for deaths 1925.

Record Loss[edit | edit source]

Dale County had destructive courthouse fires in 1869, and 1884. See Research in Alabama: A Genealogical Guide page 27 for suggested alternative sources to overcome this loss.[6]

For suggestions about research in places that suffered historic record losses, see:

Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]

  • 1824--Dale County was created 22 December 1824 from Covington, Henry and PikeCounties.
  • County seat: Ozark[7]

Populated Places[edit | edit source]

The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in Dale County:

For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit Hometown Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:[8]

Cities
Towns
Unincorporated communities
Census-designated places


History Timeline[edit | edit source]

Resources[edit | edit source]

Bible Records[edit | edit source]

Biographies[edit | edit source]

Business, Commerce, and Occupations[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries of Dale, Alabama online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
Tombstone Transcriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See Alabama Cemeteries for more information

The following web site has additional information on Dale county cemeteries.

  • Interment.net Alabama cemetery records by county.
  • Additional Dale County cemeteries are included in Alabama Cemetery Records Vol. 1 at FamilySearch Digital Library

Census Records[edit | edit source]

For tips on accessing Dale County census records online, see: Alabama Census.

Dale County, Alabama
Year Pop.
1830 2,031
1840 7,397 264.2%
1850 6,382 −13.7%
1860 12,197 91.1%
1870 11,325 −7.1%
1880 12,677 11.9%
1890 17,225 35.9%
1900 21,189 23.0%
1910 21,608 2.0%
1920 22,711 5.1%
1930 23,175 2.0%
1940 22,685 −2.1%
1950 20,828 −8.2%
1960 31,066 49.2%
1970 52,995 70.6%
1980 47,821 −9.8%
1990 49,633 3.8%
2000 49,129 −1.0%
2010 50,251 2.3%

State Census

Church Records[edit | edit source]

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Alabama denominations, view the Alabama Church Records wiki page.

Methodist

  • Wells, Glenn L. History of the First United Methodist Church of Ozark, Alabama. Ozark, Ala.: The Church?, 1973. Digital version at Ancestry ($).

Court Records[edit | edit source]

Directories[edit | edit source]

Emigration and Immigration[edit | edit source]

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups[edit | edit source]

Funeral Homes[edit | edit source]

Genealogies[edit | edit source]

Guardianship[edit | edit source]

Land and Property Records[edit | edit source]

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Alabama Land and Property for additional information about early Alabama land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse, where records are currently housed.

To place a grant or deed on a map within context of Dale County see:

  • Boyd, Gregory A. Family Maps of Dale County, Alabama: with Homesteads, Roads, Waterways, Towns, Cemeteries, Railroads, and More. Norman, Okla.: Arphax Pub. Co., 2007. This is a definitive work and can be used as an index to land grants. Digital version at HistoryGeo.com ($). Website includes surname index. FHL Book 976.133 E7bg.

Local Histories[edit | edit source]

Local histories are available for Dale County. The histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Alabama Local Histories.

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

PikeBarbourHenryHoustonGenevaCoffeeAL DALE.PNG
Click a neighboring county
for more resources

Migration[edit | edit source]

Military Records[edit | edit source]

Civil War
Regiments. Men in Dale County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (part of a large regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Dale County:

- 1st Regiment, Alabama Cavalry, Company A and F
- 15th Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company E (Beauregards)
- 15th Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company F (Brundidge Guards)
- 15th Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company H (Glenville Guards)
- 33rd Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company B, G and I
- 59th Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company E

World War I

World War II

Naturalization and Citizenship[edit | edit source]

Newspapers[edit | edit source]

Obituaries[edit | edit source]

A collection of obituaries and death notices from various funeral homes in the Dale County area has been put together by GenealogyBuffs.com.

Other Records[edit | edit source]

Alabama Voting Registers for 1867 are available online at the Alabama Department of Archives and History. Dale County has one book.

Periodicals[edit | edit source]

Probate Records[edit | edit source]

Online Probate Records

School Records[edit | edit source]

Tax Records[edit | edit source]

Alabama tax records complement land records and can be used to supplement the years between censuses. There may be gaps of several years in the tax records of some counties. For more information, see the wiki page Alabama Taxation.

  • 1865-1866 U.S. IRS Tax Assessment Lists, 1862-1918 at Ancestry ($). Dale County is in District 1.

Vital Records[edit | edit source]

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Alabama State Department of Health , the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred or order electronically online $.

For some online statewide indexes, see the FamilySearch Historical Record Collections for Alabama.

Birth[edit | edit source]

Marriage[edit | edit source]

Death[edit | edit source]

  • 1881-1952 Alabama, Deaths and Burials, 1881-1952 FamilySearch Historical Records Collection
  • 1881-1974 Index to Deaths and Burials at Ancestry $. Volunteers extracted the details in this index from microfilmed copies of church, civil, family, and other records of Alabama deaths and burials. details vary depending on the original record. Note that the number of available records can vary widely by county, and this database does not necessarily represent a comprehensive set of death records for the state during this time.
  • 1908-1959 Index to Deaths recorded by the state of Alabama at Ancestry $. The index includes name of the deceased, county of death, date of death, and the state certificate number (volume and page).
  • 1908-1974 Alabama, Deaths, 1908-1974 FamilySearch Historical Records Collection

Divorce[edit | edit source]

Research Facilities[edit | edit source]

Archives[edit | edit source]

Family History Centers[edit | edit source]

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes.


Dothan Alabama
3199 Ross Clark Cir NW
Dothan, Alabama, United States
334-793-7425
Website
Enterprise Alabama
110 Shell Field Rd
Enterprise, Alabama, United States
334-347-3631
Website
Ozark Alabama Family History Center
Mixon School Rd
Ozark, Alabama, United States
334-774-9405
Website
Family History Centre Locator

Libraries[edit | edit source]

Dale Ozark-Dale Public Library
416 James Street
OZARK, AL 36360
Phone: 334-774-5480
Website

Museums[edit | edit source]

Societies[edit | edit source]

Southeast Alabama Genealogical Society
P. O. Box 246
Dothan, AL
36302-0246

Publication: Wiregrass Roots

Dale County Genealogical & Historical Society
416 James Street
Ozark, AL
36360

Websites[edit | edit source]

Research Guides[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Alabama.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. Genealogy Trails History Group, “Dale County, Alabama Genealogy and History”, http://genealogytrails.com/ala/dale/ 06/02/2017.
  3. Wikipedia contributors, "Dale, Alabama," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Dale_County,_Alabama 06/02/2017.
  4. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Alabama.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  5. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Alabama.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  6. Marilyn Davis Barefield, Researching in Alabama: a Genealogical Guide (Birmingham, Alabama : Birmingham Public Library, 1998), 27. At various libraries (WorldCat). FHL Book 976.1 D27b 1998.
  7. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Alabama.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  8. Wikipedia contributors, "Dale County, Alabama," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Dale_County,_Alabama, accessed 10 October 2018.

To access available information, first log into FamilySearch.