Dakota County, Minnesota Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Dakota County, Minnesota ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.


Dakota County, Minnesota
Map
Map of Minnesota highlighting Dakota County
Location in the state of Minnesota
Map of the U.S. highlighting Minnesota
Location of Minnesota in the U.S.
Facts
Founded October 27, 1849
County Seat Hastings
Courthouse
Address Dakota County Courthouse
1590 Highway 55
Hastings, MN 55033
Phone: 651-438-4313
Dakota County Website


County Information[edit | edit source]

Description[edit | edit source]

The County was named for the Dakota people. The County is located in the southeast area of the state.[1]

Dakota County, Minnesota Record Dates[edit | edit source]

Known Beginning Dates for Major County Records[2]
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1870 1857 1870 1853 1852 1863 1836
Statewide registration started for births in 1900 and deaths in 1908. General compliance by 1915.

County Courthouse[edit | edit source]


Clerk District Court has birth and death records from 1870, marriage records from 1857, divorce and court records from 1853. [3]

History[edit | edit source]

Parent County[edit | edit source]

1849--Dakota County was created 27 October 1849 from unorganized territory. County seat: Hastings [4]

Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]

Record Loss[edit | edit source]

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Places/Localities[edit | edit source]

Populated Places[edit | edit source]

For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit HomeTown Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:[5]

Cities
Unincorporated communities
Townships
Ghost towns


Neighboring Counties[edit | edit source]

Resources[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries[edit | edit source]

Tombstone Transcriptions Online Tombstone Transcriptions in Print List of Cemeteries in the county
Findagrave.com Family History Library Findagrave.com
USGenWeb WorldCat Billion Graves
MNGenWeb Archives
Tombstone Project
MNInterment
Billion Graves
See Minnesota Cemeteries for more information.


Census[edit | edit source]

Historical populations
Census Pop.
1850 584
1860 9,093 1457.0%
1870 16,312 79.4%
1880 17,391 6.6%
1890 20,240 16.4%
1900 21,733 7.4%
1910 25,171 15.8%
1920 28,967 15.1%
1930 34,592 19.4%
1940 39,660 14.7%
1950 49,019 23.6%
1960 78,303 59.7%
1970 139,808 78.5%
1980 194,279 39.0%
1990 275,227 41.7%
2000 355,904 29.3%
2010 398,552 12.0%
Source: "Wikipedia.org".
  • Dakota County Historical Society. Searchable Dakota County census databases for the years 1857, 1860, 1865, 1875, 1880, 1885, 1900, 1920 (select desired year from dropdown box).
  • Dakota County Historical Society. Native American censuses for Dakota County for the years 1900 and 1910 (select desired year from dropdown box).

State Census

Church[edit | edit source]

Most church records are held by individual churches. For contact information, check a phone directory, such as SearchBug or Dex Knows. Some denominations are gathering their records into a central repository. For more information about these major repositories, see Minnesota Church Records.


Catholic[edit | edit source]
Lutheran[edit | edit source]

Christiana Free Lutheran Church, Farmington

  • Records of the Christiana Lutheran Church, Farmington, in Evangelical Lutheran Church in America database at Archives.com ($).[6]

Christiana Free Lutheran Church, Lakeville

  • Records of Christiana Free Lutheran Church, Lakeville, in Evangelical Lutheran Church in America database at Archives.com ($).[6]


List of Churches and Church Parishes

Court[edit | edit source]

Emigration and Immigration[edit | edit source]

Land[edit | edit source]

The county register of deeds keeps land records once the land was transferred to private ownership. Abstracts and indexes for these records are generally available at the county courthouse.

Land records for Minnesota are listed in the Place Search of the FamilySearch Catalog under:

MINNESOTA, Dakota – LAND AND PROPERTY


Local Histories[edit | edit source]

Local histories are available for Dakota County, Minnesota Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Minnesota Local Histories.

Maps[edit | edit source]

Ramsey CountyWashington CountyGoodhue CountyRice CountyScott CountyHennepin CountyPierce CountyMN DAKOTA.PNG
Click a neighboring county
for more resources


Military[edit | edit source]

Civil War[edit | edit source]

Civil War service men from Dakota County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies or regiments that were formed from men of Dakota County.

- 1st Regiment, Minnesota Cavalry (Mounted Rangers), Companies A and G.
- 1st Regiment, Minnesota Infantry, Company H.
- 2nd Regiment, Minnesota Cavalry, Companies F and H.
- 3rd Regiment, Minnesota Infantry, Companies B and F.
- 4th Regiment, Minnesota Infantry, Company C.
- 5th Regiment, Minnesota Infantry, Company G.
- 6th Regiment, Minnesota Infantry, Company A.
- 7th Regiment, Minnesota Infantry, Company F.
- 8th Regiment, Minnesota Infantry, Companies F and K.
- 10th Regiment, Minnesota Infantry, Company H.
- Brackett's Battalion, Minnesota Cavalry, Company D.
- Hatch's Independent Battalion, Minnesota Cavalry , Companies C and F.
World War II[edit | edit source]

Naturalization and Citizenship[edit | edit source]

Newspapers[edit | edit source]

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Dakota County, Minnesota Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:

Obituaries[edit | edit source]

Probate[edit | edit source]

Probate records may include, wills, bonds, petitions, accounts, inventories, administrations, orders, decrees, and distributions. They may include the decedent’s date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, etc. See Minnesota Probate Records for additional information.


Online Probate Records

Taxation[edit | edit source]

Minnesota tax records complement land records and can be used in place of censuses before 1820 or to supplement the years between censuses. Because only persons who owned taxable property were listed, many residents were not included in tax lists. There may also be gaps of several years in the tax records of some counties. For more information, see the wiki page Minnesota Taxation.


Vital Records[edit | edit source]

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents.

A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Minnesota State Registrar of Vital Records, the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred], order electronically online ($) or download an application for Minnesota Birth Certificate and Death Certificates Applications to mail.

See also Minnesota Vital Records or How to order Minnesota Vital Records. For information about restrictions and costs for certificates, see the CDC Where to Write for Vital Records site.


Birth[edit | edit source]
Marriage[edit | edit source]
Death[edit | edit source]

Societies and Libraries[edit | edit source]

  • Dakota County Historical Society
    130 3rd Ave N
    South St. Paul, MN 55075-2002
    Phone: 651-552-7548
    Website
  • Dakota County Genealogical Society
    130 3rd Ave N
    South St. Paul, MN 55075-2002
    Facebook
  • Dakota City Heritage Village Museum
    PO Box 73
    4008 220th Street West
    Farmington, MN 55024-0073
    Phone: 651-460-8050
    Website
  • Farmington Area Historical Society
    2890 Pilot Knob Rd
    Eagan, MN 55121-1146
    Phone: 651-454-4056
  • Lakeville Area Historical Society
    20195 Holyoke Ave
    City Hall
    Lakeville, MN 55044
    Phone: 952-469-0373
    Website
  • Dakota County Libraries

Family History Centers[edit | edit source]

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes.

FamilySearch Affiliate Libraries[edit | edit source]

Minnesota Genealogical Society
1385 Mendota Heights Rd.
Suite 100
Mendota Heights, MN 55120


Websites[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Wikipedia contributors, "Dakota County, Minnesota" in https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Dakota_County,_Minnesota accessed 12 Nov 2018
  2. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Dakota County, Minnesota. Page 362-370 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 362-365.
  3. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Dakota County, Minnesota page 363, At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  4. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  5. Wikipedia contributors, "Dakota County, Minnesota," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Dakota_County,_Minnesota, accessed 24 January 2020.
  6. 6.0 6.1 "Evangelical Lutheran Church in America: An Inventory of Selected Congregational Records of the American Lutheran Church in Minnesota at the Minnesota Historical Society," Collection Finding Aids, Minnesota Historical Society, http://www.mnhs.org/library/findaids/01009.xml, accessed 10 June 2013.