Dacre, Yorkshire Genealogy
Guide to Dacre, Yorkshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Poor Law Union||Pateley Bridge|
|Registration District||Pateley Bridge|
|Parish registers: 1838|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1840|
|Diocese||Pre-1836 - York; Post-1835 - Ripon|
|Probate Court||Exchequer and Prerogative Courts of the Archbishop of York|
|Location of Archive|
|Yorkshire Record Office|
DACRE, a township, in the parish of Ripon, union of Pateley-Bridge, Lower division of the wapentake of Claro, W. riding of York, 4 miles (S. E.) from Pateley-Bridge; containing 695 inhabitants. There is a place of worship for Independents.
DACRE, a township-chapelry and a sub-district, in Pateley-Bridge district, W. R. Yorkshire. The chapelry is in Ripon parish; lies on the river Nidd and the Nidd Valley railway, 4 miles SE by S of Pateley-Bridge and contains the hamlets of Hayshaw and the Heights. The church was built in 1837. There is a Wesleyan chapel. The sub-district bears the name of Dacre-Banks; and includes a township of Kirkby-Malzeard parish.
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Online data content from chapelry registers of Dacre exists at some of the following websites and for the specified ranges of years:
|IARC = Internet Archive - free|
|FS = FamilySearch.org|
|ANC = ancestry.co.uk (£)|
|HATH = HathiTrust.org - free|
|JOIN = JoinerMarriageIndex.co.uk - (£)|
|DACRE CHAPELRY (1729) Online Records|
For a full list of all those chapels surrounding Warrington-Padgate Christ Church and comprising the whole ancient parish of Ripon to which it was attached, be certain to see "Church Records" on the RIPON PARISH page.
To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.
This ancient parish (AP) was created before 1813. Church of England records began in date.
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Yorkshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.