Custer County, Oklahoma Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
United States
Oklahoma
Custer County
 

Guide to Custer County, Oklahoma ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

{{{link}}}
County Facts
County seat: Arapaho
Organized: 1892
Parent County(s): Cheyenne-Arapaho Lands[1]
Neighboring Counties
Beckham  • Blaine  • Caddo  • Dewey  • Roger Mills  • Washita
See County Maps
Courthouse
Custer County Courthouse Arapaho, Oklahoma.jpg
Location Map
Ok-custer.png
Adoption


County Information

Description

Custer County, Oklahoma was formed on 8 November 1892. It was originally called G County. It was named "Custer" after General George Armstrong Custer.[2] Its county seat is Arapaho.[3]

County Courthouse

Custer County Courthouse
65 West B Street
Arapaho, Oklahoma 73620-0000
Phone: 580.323-1221
Custer County Website

County Clerk has marriage, divorce, and probate records from 1899, court records from 1894, land records, military records from 1892, school and census records from 1913 and county registry of electors from 1916;
Cemetery Association has burial records for each city. Custer County Genealogy Links have projects and searchable data bases.

Custer County, Oklahoma Record Dates

Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.

Known Beginning Dates for Major County Records
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1908 1894 1899 1855 1900

Record Loss

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Boundary Changes

Populated Places

The following are locations in Custer County, Oklahoma:[4]

  • Arapaho (county seat)
  • Butler
  • Carpenter (part)
  • Clinton (part)
  • Custer City
  • Dead Women Crossing
  • Hammon (part)
  • Thomas
  • Weatherford

History Timeline

Resources

Bible Records

Biographies

Business, Commerce, and Occupations

Cemeteries

Cemeteries of Custer County, Oklahoma online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
Tombstone Transcriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See Oklahoma Cemeteries for more information

 

Census Records

Historical populations
Census Pop.  %±
1900 12,264
1910 23,231 89.4%
1920 18,736 −19.3%
1930 27,517 46.9%
1940 23,068 −16.2%
1950 21,097 −8.5%
1960 21,040 −0.3%
1970 22,665 7.7%
1980 25,995 14.7%
1990 26,897 3.5%
2000 26,142 −2.8%
2010 27,469 5.1%
Source: "Wikipedia.org".

For tips on accessing Custer County, Oklahoma Genealogy census records online, see: Oklahoma Census.

Federal Census Records

Federal Censuses were taken for Oklahoma starting in 1860. For links to Federal census indexes, see Oklahoma Census.

State Census Records

Church Records

Church records vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Oklahoma denominations, view the Oklahoma Church Records Wiki page.

Lutheran

  • Records of Trinity Lutheran Church, Clinton, in Evangelical Lutheran Church in America database at Archives.com ($).

Court Records

Directories

Emigration and Immigration

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups

American Indians

Census

Land and Property

Funeral Homes

Genealogies

Guardianship

Land and Property Records

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Oklahoma Land and Property for additional information about early Oklahoma land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse, where records are currently housed.

Online Land Records

For more information see Oklahoma Land and Property

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Custer County, Oklahoma Genealogy. County and town histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Oklahoma Local Histories.

Maps and Gazetteers

Ellis CountyDewey CountyBlaine CountyCaddo CountyWashita CountyBeckham CountyRoger Mills CountyOK CUSTER.PNG
About this image
Click a neighboring county
for more resources


Migration

Military Records

Revolutionary War

Civil War

World War I

World War II

Naturalization and Citizenship

Newspapers

Oklahoma Newspapers Online

Oklahoma Newspaper Catalogs

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Custer County, Oklahoma Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:

Obituaries

Other Records

Periodicals

Probate Records

In most counties in Oklahoma, probate records have been kept by the county judge. They include wills, fee books, claim registers, legacy records, inheritance records, probate ticklers, and dockets. The records are available at the county courthouse.

The FamilySearch Catalog lists films of probate records. To find the records for this county, use the Place Search for Oklahoma - Custer - Probate records.

Online Records

School Records

Tax Records

Oklahoma tax records complement land records and can be used to supplement the years between censuses. There may be gaps of several years in the records.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. See the CDC Where to Write website for information on acquiring copies of these records.

Birth

Online Birth Records Indexes and Images

Marriage

Online Marriage Records Indexes and Images

Death

Online Death Records Indexes and Images

Divorce

Online Divorce Records Indexes and Images

Research Facilities

Archives

Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes.

Libraries

Museums

Societies

Southwest Oklahoma Genealogical Society
PO Box 148
Lawton, OK 73502-0148
Website

Western Oklahoma Historical Center
520 W Main St
Weatherford, OK 73096
Telephone: 580-772-7283
E-mail:WPWGS@Htswireless.com
Website

Websites

  • USGenWeb project May have maps, name indexes, history or other information for this county. Select the state, then the county.
  • FamilySearch Catalog - The FamilySearch catalog contains descriptions and access information for all genealogical materials (including books, online materials, microfilm, microfiche, and publications) in their collection.  Use Historical Records to search for specific individuals in genealogical records

Research Guides

References

  1. 1.0 1.1 Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Oklahoma. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. http://genealogytrails.com/oka/custer/ accessed 09/29/2016
  3. https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Custer_County,_Oklahoma accessed 09/29/2016
  4. Wikipedia contributors, "Custer County, Oklahoma," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Custer_County,_Oklahoma, accessed 5 August 2016.