Currituck County, North Carolina Genealogy
Guide to Currituck County, North Carolina ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
|Currituck County, North Carolina|
Location in the state of North Carolina
Location of North Carolina in the U.S.
- 1 County Information
- 2 History
- 3 Places/Localities
- 4 Resources
- 4.1 Bibles
- 4.2 Bonds
- 4.3 Cemeteries
- 4.4 Census and Tax Records
- 4.5 Church Records
- 4.6 County Records
- 4.7 Court
- 4.8 Families
- 4.9 History
- 4.10 Land
- 4.11 Maps
- 4.12 Military
- 4.13 Miscellaneous
- 4.14 Newspapers & Obituaries
- 4.15 Organizations & Links
- 4.16 Photographs & Biographies
- 4.17 Probate
- 4.18 Queries
- 4.19 Surnames
- 4.20 Taxation
- 4.21 Vital Records
- 5 Societies and Libraries
- 6 Websites
- 7 References
Currituck County is located in the Eastern portion of North Carolina and shares a border with Virginia. Its name was taken from an Indian word meaning "land of the wild geese".
Currituck County Courthouse
Currituck, NC 27929
1820 Census Missing
Court house burned 1842
Registrar of Deeds has birth, marriage, death records
Clerk Superior Court has divorce and probate records
Register of Deeds
153 Caratoke Hwy., Suite 600
Currituck, NC 27929
Clerk of Superior Court
PO Box 175
Currituck, NC 27929
Telephone: (252) 232-6200
Currituck was formed in 1668 as a precinct in Albemarle County. It was named in honor of an Indian tribe. It is in the northeastern section of the State and is bounded by the Atlantic Ocean, Albemarle Sound, Camden County, and the state of Virginia. The present area is 273 square miles and the population is 6,709. Currituck Court House, mentioned as early as 1755, is the county seat.
For animated maps illustrating North Carolina county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation North Carolina County Boundary Maps" (1664-1965) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.
- 1842 Fire burned courthouse
- Guide to Research at the North Carolina Archives [list of original & microfilm records]
- Currituck Co., NC Bonds [Administrators, Bastardy, Constables, & Guardian]
|Tombstone Transcriptions Online||Tombstone Transcriptions in Print||List of Cemeteries in the county|
|Findagrave.com||Family History Library||Findagrave.com|
|North Carolina Cemeteries|
|See North Carolina Cemeteries for more information.|
- North Carolina, Historical Records Survey, Cemetery Inscription Card Index at FamilySearch — index and images
Census and Tax Records
For tips on accessing Currituck County, North Carolina Genealogy census records online, see: North Carolina Census.
Church of England
- Currituck Parish. Established by 1710.
- Various Currituck Co., NC family pages
- Ballance Pierce, Alycon Trubey. "The Ballance Family of Virginia," The Virginia Genealogist, Vol. 38, No. 1 (Jan.-Mar. 1994):3-20; Vol. 38, No. 2 (Apr.-Jun. 1994):105-114. Digital version at American Ancestors ($). FHL Book 975.5 B2vg v. 38 (1994).
- Currituck Co., NC in the Military
- 1666 - 1831 - Jones, Gordon C.: .Abstracts of land-grants, tax lists, orphans dockets, inventories and other records, : Currituck and Dare counties, North Carolina, 1666-1831 Chesapeak, Virginia, G.C.Jones c1982) pages 91 FHL Book 976.6132 P28
- 1779 - 1782 - North Carolina Revolutionary Pay Vouchers 1779-1782 at FamilySearch — index and images
- 1861 - 1865 - North Carolina, Civil War Service Records of Confederate Soldiers, 1861-1865 at FamilySearch.org — index and images
- 1861 - 1865 - North Carolina, Civil War Service Records of Union Soldiers, 1861-1865 at FamilySearch.org — index and images
- 1861 - 1865 - U.S., Confederate Soldiers Compiled Service Records, 1861-1865 at Ancestry — index (free)
- 1861 - 1865 - U.S., Union Soldiers Compiled Service Records, 1861-1865 at Ancestry — index (free)
- 1885 - 1953 - North Carolina, Confederate Soldiers and Widows Pension Applications, 1885-1953 at FamilySearch — index and images
Regiments. Service men in Currituck County, North Carolina Genealogy served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Currituck County, North Carolina Genealogy:
- -8th Regiment, North Carolina Infantry
- - 17th Regiment, North Carolina Infantry (1st Organization), Company E
- - 4th Regiment, North Carolina Cavalry (59th North Carolina State Troops), Company G
- - 8th Regiment, North Carolina Infantry, Company B
World War I
- 1917 - 1919 - North Carolina, World War I Service Cards, 1917-1919 at FamilySearch — index and images
World War II
- 1940 - 1948 - North Carolina, Discharge and Statement of Service Records, 1940-1948 at FamilySearch — index and images
Newspapers & Obituaries
Organizations & Links
Photographs & Biographies
Online Probate Records
- 1660 - 1790 - North Carolina Will Abstracts 1660-1790 at Ancestry.com — index and images $
- 1663 - 1979 - North Carolina Estate Files, 1663-1979 at FamilySearch — index and images
- 1665 - 1998 - North Carolina Wills and Probate Records 1665-1998 at Ancestry.com — index and images $
- 1735 - 1970 - North Carolina Probate Records 1735-1970 at FamilySearch.org — images
- 1760 - 1800 - North Carolina Will Abstracts 1760-1800 at Ancestry.com — index and ima
- Pre - 1790 - Pre-1790 Currituck County, North Carolina Genealogy Wills stored at the North Carolina State Archives are online - free. Website tips.
- 1761 - 1960 - Currituck County North Carolina list of will book testators SAMPUBCO - Browsable index of testators of wills. - Free
- 1761 - 1960 - Will Books 1 to 8 (1761-1960) have been digitized by FamilySearch - free.
- Currituck Co., NC Wills & Estates (NCGenWeb Project)
- Images of Wills and Estates, Vol. I, 1701-1792; Vol. 2, 1792-1810; Vol. 3, 1810-1834. North Carolina Pioneers ($)
- 1715 - Tax Lists, Currituck County, 1715 (index) in NC Taxpayers vol. 2, online at Ancestry ($)
- 1755 - Tax Lists, Currituck County, 1755 (index) in NC Taxpayers vol. 2, online at Ancestry ($)
- 1755 - Tax Lists, Currituck County, 1755 (images) online at North Carolina Digital Collections
- 1755 - Tax Lists, Currituck County, 1755 (images) online at FamilySearch
- 1779 - Tax Lists, Currituck County, 1779 (index) in NC Taxpayers vol. 2, online at Ancestry ($)
- 1779 - Tax Lists, Currituck County, 1779 (images) online at North Carolina Digital Collections
- Currituck Co., NC Vital Records (Births, Marriages & Deaths)
- 1800 - 2000 - North Carolina Birth Index 1800-2000 at FamilySearch.org — index
- 1830 - 1871 - Currituck Co., NC Bastardy Bonds 1830-1871 at USGenWeb - free.
- 1866 - 1964 - North Carolina Births and Christenings 1866-1964 at FamilySearch.org — index
- 1898 - 1994 - North Carolina Deaths and Burials, 1898-1994 at FamilySearch.org — index
- 1906 - 1930 - North Carolina Deaths 1906-1930 at FamilySearch.org — index and images
- 1908 - 2004 - North Carolina Death Indexes 1908-2004 at Ancestry.com — index $
- 1909 - 1975 - North Carolina Death Certificates 1909-1975 at Ancestry.com — index and images $
- 1931 - 1994 - North Carolina Deaths 1931-1994 at FamilySearch.org — index
- 1926 - 1975 - North Carolina, County Divorce Records, 1926-1975 at FamilySearch — index and images
- 1958 - 2004 - North Carolina Divorce Index 1958-2004 at Ancestry.com — index $
- 1741 - 2004 - North Carolina, United States Marriages at FindMyPast — index $
- 1867 - 1952 - Currituck County Marriage Books B and 2 Index 1867-1952 in International Genealogical Index at FamilySearch - free.
- 1741 - 2004 - North Carolina Marriage Index 1741-2004 at Ancestry.com — index $
- 1759 - 1979 - North Carolina Marriages 1759-1979 at FamilySearch.org — index
- 1762 - 1979 - North Carolina, County Marriages, 1762-1979 at FamilySearch — index and images
- 1763 - 1868 - North Carolina, Civil Marriages, 1763-1868 at FamilySearch — index and images
Societies and Libraries
Albemarle Genealogical Society
142 Waterlily Road
Coinjock, NC 27923
Family History Centers
Family history centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See family history center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.
- Currituck County, NC History, Records, Facts and Genealogy (Genealogy Inc)
- Currituck County NCGenWeb
- USGenWeb project. May have maps, name indexes, history or other information for this county. Select the state, then the county.
- FamilySearch Catalog
- Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Currituck County, North Carolina. Page 508 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
- George Washington Paschal, History of North Carolina Baptists, 2 vols. (1930; reprint, Gallatin, Tenn.: Church History Research and Archives, 1990), 1:490, 2:563. FHL Book 975.6 K2p 1990.
- Robert J. Cain, ed., The Church of England in North Carolina: Documents, 1699-1741 (Raleigh, N.C.: Division of Archives and History, North Carolina Department of Cultural Resources, 1999), 497. FHL Book 975.6 K2cr.
- Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/4/4d/Iginorthcarolinaa.pdf.