Cundall, Yorkshire Genealogy
Guide to Cundall, Yorkshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Poor Law Union||Ripon|
|Registration District||Ripon; Thirsk|
|Parish registers: 1582|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1674|
|Diocese||Pre-1836 - York; Post-1835 - Ripon|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop (Consistory) of the Commissary of the Archdeaconry of Richmond Eastern Deaneries - Boroughbridge|
|Location of Archive|
|Yorkshire Record Office|
Cundall is an Ancient Parish in the county of Yorkshire.
CUNDALL (St. Mary and All Saints), a parish, comprising the townships of Cundall with Leckby, and Norton-le-Clay, in the wapentake of Hallikeld, and the township of Fawdington in that of Birdforth, N. riding of York; and containing 387 inhabitants, of whom 188 are in Cundall with Leckby, 5 miles (N. N. E.) from Boroughbridge. 
CUNDALL, a township in Ripon district, and a parish in Ripon and Thirsk districts, N. R. Yorkshire. The township bears the name of Cundall-with-Leckby; and lies on the river Swale, 2 miles NNW of Brafferton r. station, and 4¼ NNE of Boroughbridge. The parish contains also the townships of Norton-le-Clay and Fawdington; and its post town is Topcliffe, under Thirsk. There are two churches.
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Cundall parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|Cundall Online Parish Records|
|FS Catalog PRs||
|FS Catalog BTs||
To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.
Records are also available at the North Yorkshire County Record Office.
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Yorkshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.