Cumberworth, Yorkshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Cumberworth, Yorkshire)
Jump to: navigation, search
England
Yorkshire
Yorkshire Parishes A-I
West Riding of Yorkshire
Cumberworth

Guide to Cumberworth, Yorkshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Cumberworth, Yorkshire
Type Chapelry
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Staincross
County Yorkshire
Poor Law Union Huddersfield
Registration District Huddersfield
Records begin
Parish registers: 1653; For more records see High Hoyland and also Silkstone
Bishop's Transcripts: 1700
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Pontefract
Diocese Pre-1836 - York; Post-1835 - Ripon
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Exchequer and Prerogative Courts of the Archbishop of York
Location of Archive
Yorkshire Record Office

Parish History

Cumberworth is a chapelry of High Holand ancient parish and Silkstone ancient parish.

CUMBERWORTH, a chapelry, partly in the parish of High Hoyland, and partly in that of Silkstone, wapentake of Staincross, W. riding of York, 8 miles (W.) from Barnsley; containing 1867 inhabitants. [1] CUMBERWORTH, a township-chapelry in Silkstone and High Hoyland parishes, W. R. Yorkshire; on the Huddersfield and Sheffield railway, near Denby-Dale r. station, and 8 miles SE of Huddersfield. It includes parts of the hamlets of Skelmanthorpe and Scissett; the former of which has a post office under Huddersfield. The church is Norman. There are two Wesleyan chapels, a P. Methodist chapel,  and a free Methodist chapel.[2]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Cumberworth parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FS = FamilySearch - free
FMP = Yorkshire Baptisms, Marriages, Burials (FindMyPast) - ($)
FMP BTs = Yorkshire Bishop's Transcripts of Baptisms, Marriages, Burials (FindMyPast) - ($)
FMP Banns = Yorkshire Banns (FindMyPast) - ($)
FMP Marr = Yorkshire, Archbishop Of York Marriage Licences Index, 1613-1839 (FindMyPast) - ($)
ANC 1 = West Yorkshire, England, Church of England Baptisms, Marriages and Burials, 1512-1812 (Ancestry) - ($)
ANC 2 = West Yorkshire, England, Church of England Records (Ancestry) - ($)
BOYD = England, Boyd's Marriage Indexes, 1538-1850 (FindMyPast) - free
NBI = National Burial Index (FindMyPast) - free
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[3]
FS Catalog PRs = FamilySearch Catalog Parish registers - free
FS Catalog BTs = FamilySearch Catalog Bishop's transcripts - free
Cumberworth Online Parish Records
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS 1538-1975
1538-1973
1538-1991
FMP 1538-2000
1534-1942
1537-2016
FMP BTs 1558-1914
1558-1899
1560-1919
FMP Banns

1600-1932


FMP Marr

1613-1839


ANC 1 1512-1812
1512-1812
1512-1812
ANC 2 1813-1910
1813-1935
1813-1985
BOYD

1538-1850


NBI



1541-1995
IGI



FS Catalog PRs


FS Catalog BTs


To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Records are also available at the West Yorkshire Archive Service.

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Yorkshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites


References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., , A Topographical Dictionary of England(1848), pp. 751-755. Date accessed: 14 November 2013.
  2. John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72) Adapted 23 April 2013.
  3. ArcherSoftware.co.uk