Cumberland, England Genealogy
|Cumberland Wiki Topics|
|Local Research Resources|
Guide to Cumberland ancestry, family history and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, parish registers, and military records.
County Information[edit | edit source]
"CUMBERLAND, a maritime and border county bounded on the N by the Solway frith and Scotland, on the E by Northumberland and Durham, on the SE and S by Westmoreland and Lancashire, and on the W by the Irish sea...
"The county contains 106 parishes and 5 extra-parochial places... eighteen towns are market-towns; and there are upwards of 340 smaller towns, villages, and hamlets... in the diocese of Carlisle. The assizes and the quarter sessions are held at Carlisle...
"The places of worship in 1851 were 161 of the Church of England, 2 of the Church of Scotland, 5 of the English Presbyterian church, 10 of the United Presbyterian church, 24 of Independents, 9 of Baptists, 20 of Quakers, 1 of Unitarians, 96 of Wesleyan Methodists, 23 of Primitive Methodists, 17 of the Wesleyan Association, 2 of Brethren, 7 of isolated congregations, 4 of Latter Day Saints, and 8 of Roman Catholics... (John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72). For the full account, go to Vision of Britain.)
Parishes[edit | edit source]
A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z
- Use an interactive map to find jurisdictions for each parish in Cumberland.
Civil Registration Districts[edit | edit source]
Websites[edit | edit source]
- Cumberland Resources and help pages on RootsChat Cumberland Resources and help pages. (Free).
- Certificates and Online Documents 1837
- Cumberland & Westmorland Online Parish Clerks
- 1930 - England and Wales National Register, 1939 at FamilySearch — index
|Solway Firth||Dumfriesshire, Scotland||Northumberland|