To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Culworth, Northamptonshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search


Guide to Culworth, Northamptonshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Culworth, Northamptonshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred King's-Sutton
County Northamptonshire
Poor Law Union Brackley
Registration District Brackley
Records begin
Parish registers: 1563
Bishop's Transcripts: 1706
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Brackley
Diocese Peterborough
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Northampton
Location of Archive
Northamptonshire Record Office

Parish History[edit | edit source]

CULWORTH (St. Mary), a parish, in the union of Brackley, hundred of King's Sutton, S. division of the county of Northampton, 7¾ miles (N. E.) from Banbury. [1]

Resources[edit | edit source]

Civil Registration[edit | edit source]

Culworth parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FS = FamilySearch - free
FREG = FreeREG - free
ANC 1 = Northamptonshire, England, Church of England Baptisms, Marriages and Burials, 1532-1812 (Ancestry) - ($)
ANC 2 = Northamptonshire, England, Church of England Records (Ancestry) - ($)
FMP = Northamptonshire Marriages and Burials (FindMyPast) - ($)
JOIN = The Joiner Marriage Index - ($)
NBI = National Burial Index (FindMyPast) - free
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[2]
FS Catalog PRs = FamilySearch Catalog Parish registers - free
FS Catalog BTs = FamilySearch Catalog Bishop's transcripts - free
Culworth Online Parish Records
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS 1538-1975
1538–1973
1538-1991
FREG 1538-1900s
1538-1900s
1538-1900s
ANC 1 1532-1812
1532-1812
1532-1812
ANC 2 1813-1912
1754-1912
1813-1912
FMP

1538-1921
1525-2006
JOIN

1538-1837


NBI



1561-2001
IGI



FS Catalog PRs


FS Catalog BTs


Church records[edit | edit source]

Culworth, Northamptonshire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

AC BTs = Northamptonshire, England, Baptisms (Ancestry) - (£)[3][4]
AC PRs = Northamptonshire, England, Baptisms (Ancestry) - (£)[3][4]
FREG = FreeREG - free[5]
Culworth, Northamptonshire Genealogy Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
AC BTs 1813-1897 1813-1897
AC PRs 1813-1852 1813-1852
FREG 1563-1852 1645-1838 1708-1872

Census records[edit | edit source]

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.


Probate records[edit | edit source]

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Northamptonshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England(1848), pp. 746-751.Date accessed 10 December 2013.
  2. ArcherSoftware.co.uk
  3. 3.0 3.1 'Northamptonshire, England, Baptisms, 1813-1912', Ancestry, accessed 7 April 2015.
  4. 4.0 4.1 'Northamptonshire, England, Burials, 1813-1912', Ancestry, accessed 7 April 2015.
  5. 'Northamptonshire Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 29 November 2014.