Culberson County, Texas Genealogy
Guide to Culberson County Texas ancestry, family history, and genealogy research page. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
|Culberson County, Texas|
Location in the state of Texas
Location of Texas in the U.S.
|Founded||10 March, 1911|
|County Seat||Van Horn|
|Address||Culberson County Courthouse|
P. O. Box 158
Van Horn, TX 79855
- 1 County Information
- 2 History
- 3 Places/Localities
- 4 Resources
- 4.1 Cemeteries
- 4.2 Census
- 4.3 Church
- 4.4 Court
- 4.5 Land
- 4.6 Naturalization and Citizenship
- 4.7 Local Histories
- 4.8 Maps
- 4.9 Military
- 4.10 Newspapers
- 4.11 Probate
- 4.12 Taxation
- 4.13 Vital Records
- 5 Societies and Libraries
- 6 Websites
- 7 References
County Information[edit | edit source]
Description[edit | edit source]
The county was named for David B. Culberson, a lawyer and Confederate soldier in the American Civil War. The County is located in the west area of the state.
County Courthouse[edit | edit source]
P.O. Box 158
Van Horn 79855
Culberson County has had three courthouses. The county offices were first located in the Clark Hotel, the only permanent structure in Van Horn when the county was created in 1911. This temporary courthouse served the county until 1912 when a grand two-story brick courthouse was erected. The brick courthouse was torn down in the 1960s after the opening of the 1964 courthouse.
Culberson County Courthouse
P. O. Box 158
Van Horn, TX 79855
Culberson County Government Website
Culberson County, Texas Record Dates[edit | edit source]
History[edit | edit source]
1882--The first settlers arrived in 1882.
Parent County[edit | edit source]
1911--Culberson County was created 10 March 1911 from El Paso County.
- County seat: Van Horn 
Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]
Record Loss[edit | edit source]
There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.
Places/Localities[edit | edit source]
Populated Places[edit | edit source]
For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit Hometown Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:
Ghost Towns[edit | edit source]
Grisham Pumping Station | Levinson | Lobo | Old Christian Place | Ort | Pezuna del Caballo
Neighboring Counties[edit | edit source]
Resources[edit | edit source]
Cemeteries[edit | edit source]
Cemetery records often reveal birth, marriage, death, relationship, military, and religious information.
|Tombstone Transcriptions Online||Tombstone Transcriptions in Print||List of Cemeteries in the county|
|FindAGrave||Family History Library||FindAGrave|
|BillionGraves (name)||Cemeteries of TX|
|GenWeb Archives||Texas Cemeteries|
|BillionGraves||Names in Stone|
|See Texas Cemeteries for more information.|
Census[edit | edit source]
Church[edit | edit source]
Churches in Van Horn, Texas
- Assembly of God Church
605 La Caverna, P.O. Box 579
Van Horn, TX 79855, (432) 283-2736
- Church of Christ
Maple Street, P.O. Box 26
Van Horn, TX 79855, (432) 283-2163
- First Baptist Church
2nd & Houston, P.O. Box 777
Van Horn, TX 79855, (432) 283-2010 website
- First United Methodist Church
206 W. 4th, P.O. Box 67
Van Horn, TX 79855, (432) 283-2181
- Freeway Church of Christ
607 Desert, P.O. Box 25
Van Horn, TX 79855, (432) 283-2925
- Highway 54 Church of Christ
Highway 54 & 6th Street, P.O. Box 733
Van Horn, TX 79855, (432) 283-9016
- Our Lady of Fatima Catholic Church
P.O. Box 398
Van Horn, TX 79855, (432) 283-2042
- Primera Iglesia Bautista
W. 2nd & Crockett, P.O. Box 1417
Van Horn, TX 79855, (432) 283-2850
- Seventh Day Adventist Church
West Desert & Elm
Van Horn, TX 79855
List of Churches and Church Parishes
Court[edit | edit source]
Land[edit | edit source]
After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions, including deeds and mortgages, have been recorded by the county. You can obtain copies of these land records by writing to the county clerk at the county courthouse. For more information, see Texas Land and Property.
The FamilySearch Catalog lists microfilm copies of deeds, trust deeds, and mortgages of many counties.
Naturalization and Citizenship[edit | edit source]
- 1906 - 1989 Texas, Naturalization Records, 1906-1989 — index and images
Local Histories[edit | edit source]
Local histories are available for Culberson County, Texas Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Texas Local Histories.
- History of Van Horn and Culberson County, 1973, by Rosa Lee Wylie.
- Culberson County History from the Handbook of Texas Online.
- Historic Photographs of Culberson County from the Clark Hotel Museum and the Portal to Texas History.
- Culberson County Pioneers from the Culberson County TXGenWeb site
Maps[edit | edit source]
- 1881 El Paso County (shows the portion that later became Culberson County), from the Culberson County TXGenWeb site
- 1900 El Paso County (shows the portion that later became Culberson County), from the Culberson County TXGenWeb site
Military[edit | edit source]
Mexican-American War[edit | edit source]
- 1845 - 1848 - US American Volunteer Soldiers Mexican War 1845-1848 at Ancestry.com — index $
Civil War[edit | edit source]
- 1861 - 1865 - Texas, Civil War Service Records of Confederate Soldiers, 1861-1865 at FamilySearch — index
- 1861 - 1865 - Texas, Civil War Service Records of Union Soldiers, 1861-1865 at FamilySearch — index
World War I[edit | edit source]
Newspapers[edit | edit source]
- Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Culberson County, Texas Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:
- TX Newspaper Abstracts (For instructions see WorldCat Online Catalog).
Probate[edit | edit source]
Probate records of Texas have been kept by the probate clerk in each county courthouse. You can obtain copies of the records from the clerk's office. In most counties, all information pertaining to a probate case is recorded in the "probate minutes."
Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their places of residence.
Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, marriage, adoption, and birth and death records.
See the Wiki page Texas Probate Records for information about how to use probate records.
Online Probate Records
- 1800 – 1990 Texas Probate Records 1800-1990 at FamilySearch — images
- 1800 – 2000 Texas Wills and Probate Records 1800-2000 at Ancestry.com — index and images $
Taxation[edit | edit source]
Texas tax records complement land records and can be used in place of censuses or to supplement the years between censuses. Because only persons who owned taxable property were listed, many residents were not included in tax lists. There may also be gaps of several years in the tax records of some counties. For more information, see the wiki page Texas Taxation.
1846-1910 Texas County Tax Rolls lists FHL films with county tax lists. The lists vary by county and year. Most records are between the years of 1846 - 1910.
Vital Records[edit | edit source]
Certified birth and death certificates or birth and death verifications can be ordered online or by mail at the Texas Vital Records State Department of Health. Copies can also be obtained from the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred and are often less expensive. You can also order them online through a third party company.
See Texas Vital Records for more information about Vital records in Texas.
Birth[edit | edit source]
Online Birth Indexes and Records
- 1903 - 1935 Texas, Birth Certificates, 1903-1935 (images and index) - FamilySearch
- 1903 - 1997 Texas Birth Index, 1903-1997 (index)- FamilySearch
Marriage[edit | edit source]
Online Marriage Indexes and Records
- 1802 - 2010 Texas, United States Marriages at FindMyPast — index $
- 1814 - 1909 and 1966 - 2011 Texas Marriage Collection 1814-1909 and 1966-2011 at Ancestry.com — index $
- 1837 - 1965 Texas, County Marriage Records, 1837-1965 at FamilySearch — index and images
- 1837 - 1973 Texas, Marriages, 1837-1973 at FamilySearch — index
- 1837 - 1977 Texas, County Marriage Index, 1837-1977 at FamilySearch — index
- 1837 - 1977 Texas Select County Marriage Index 1837-1977 at Ancestry.com — index $
- 1966 - 2010 Texas, Marriages, 1966-2010 FamilySearch record collection
Death[edit | edit source]
Online Death Indexes and Records
- 1890 - 1976 Texas Death Records 1890 – 1976 [with images]
Name index and images of statewide death certificates, 1890-1976. Few certificates are available prior to 1903
- 1903 - 1973 Texas Deaths and Burials 1903 - 1973 (index) FamilySearch
- 1903 - 1982 Texas Death Certificates 1903-1982 at Ancestry.com — index and images $
- 1964 - 1998 Texas Death Index 1964 to 1998 Texas, Death Index, 1964-1998 - FamilySearch Historical Records
- 1977 - 1986 Texas Deaths 1977-1986 at FamilySearch.org — index
Divorce[edit | edit source]
- 1968-2010 Texas Divorce Index 1968-2010 at FamilySearch.org — index
- 1968 - 2011 Texas Divorces 1968-2011 at Ancestry.com — index $
- 1900 1900 Census for Van Horn for Culberson County TXGenWeb site.
Societies and Libraries[edit | edit source]
Family History Centers[edit | edit source]
Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes.
- For current information about a center near you, go to the Family History Center Map
Websites[edit | edit source]
- Culberson County TXGenWeb site. History, vital records and other information.
- Lobo, Texas website
- FamilySearch Catalog The catalog is genealogical materials (including books, online materials, microfilm, microfiche, and publications) This catalog is different than the indexed Historical Records.
References[edit | edit source]
- Wikipedia contributors, "Culberson County, Texas," in https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Culberson_County,_Texas. accessed 07/30/2019
- Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Culberson County, Texas. Page 662 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Culberson County, Texas . Page 658-677 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 655-665.
- The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
- Wikipedia contributors, "Culberson County, Texas," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Culberson_County,_Texas, accessed 31 March 2019.