Cuby with Tregony, Cornwall Genealogy
Guide to Cuby with Tregony, Cornwall ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Cuby with Tregony, Cornwall|
|Poor Law Union||Truro|
|Parish registers: None; For records see St Cuby|
|Bishop's Transcripts: None; For records see St Cuby|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop (Consistory) of the Archdeaconry of Cornwall|
|Location of Archive|
|Cornwall Record Office|
Parish History[edit | edit source]
CUBY (St. Keby), a parish, in the union of Truro, W division of the hundred of Powder and of the county of Cornwall; adjoining the town of Tregony. 
Cuby St Cuby was originally a chapelry of the Ancient parish of Tregony.
The church of Cuby is dedicated to Saint Cuby, a Welsh saint: since the parish church of Tregony was lost to the River Fal ca. 1540 Cuby Parish Church has been in fact the parish church of Tregony also. The church was rebuilt in 1828 though some of the medieval masonry still exists on the north side and the tower (of two stages) is of the 14th century. In the south aisle is an inscribed stone of the 6th or 7th century (Nonnita Ercilini Rigati [...]tris Fili Ercilini). The church in Norman times belonged to the alien priory at Tregony but in 1278 ownership passed to Merton Priory in Surrey.
Resources[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Births, marriages and deaths were kept by the government from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Church records[edit | edit source]
Cuby with Tregony parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|Cuby with Tregony Online Parish Records|
|COPC||1780-1847, 1850-1913||1661-1891||1661-1684, 1764-1876|
|FS PRs||1661-1696, 1780-1901||1661-1696, 1754-1912||1661-1696, 1780-1900|
Images of parish registers are available online at FamilySearch Images refer to Cornwall Record Office reference: P 44
The early registers reflect that Tregony was the parish and Cuby the chapel and are extremely faded and tightly bound with damage. Volume P44/1/1
There is an error in the waypoint years for baptisms which should read 1812-1878 which awaits correction in future by engineers.
Cornwall Online Parish Clerks[edit | edit source]
An extremely useful resource is the Cornwall Online Parish Clerks page for the parish.
The history, registers and much more have been contributed by the Online Parish clerk for Cuby with Tregony.
Census records[edit | edit source]
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]
Probate records[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cornwall Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in this article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
There are many maps and gazetteers showing English places. Valuable web sites are:
- England Jurisdictions 1851
- Vision of Britain
Websites[edit | edit source]
Cuby with Tregony in GENUKI
References[edit | edit source]
- Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 742-746.Date accessed: 11 March 2013.
- 'Coverage by Parish,' Cornwall Online Parish Clerks, accessed 2 December 2013.
- 'Cornwall Baptisms', Find My Past, accessed 25 November 2013.
- 'Cornwall Marriages', Find My Past, accessed 25 November 2013.
- 'Cornwall Burials', Find My Past, accessed 25 November 2013.
- 'Cornwall Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 18 November 2013.
- 'England, Cornwall and Devon Parish Registers, 1538-2010', FamilySearch, accessed 26 November 2013.
- Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Cornwall, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 22 November 2013.