Crow Wing County, Minnesota Genealogy
Guide to Crow Wing County, Minnesota ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
|Crow Wing County, Minnesota|
Location in the state of Minnesota
Location of Minnesota in the U.S.
|Founded||May 23, 1857|
|Address||Crow Wing County Courthouse|
326 Laurel Street
Brainerd, MN 56401
Crow Wing County Website
- 1 County Information
- 2 County Courthouse
- 3 History
- 4 Places/Localities
- 5 Resources
- 5.1 Cemeteries
- 5.2 Census
- 5.3 Church
- 5.4 Court
- 5.5 Emigration and Immigration
- 5.6 Land
- 5.7 Local Histories
- 5.8 Maps
- 5.9 Military
- 5.10 Naturalization and Citizenship
- 5.11 Newspapers
- 5.12 Obituaries
- 5.13 Probate
- 5.14 Taxation
- 5.15 Vital Records
- 6 Societies and Libraries
- 7 Websites
- 8 References
County Information[edit | edit source]
Description[edit | edit source]
The County was named for the Crow Wing River. The County is located in the central area of the state.
Crow Wing County, Minnesota Record Dates[edit | edit source]
County Courthouse[edit | edit source]
County Treasurer has birth records from 1873, marriage records from 1871 and death records from 1874.
Court Administrator has divorce, probate and court records.
County Recorder has land records from 1867 and military discharge records from 1919. 
History[edit | edit source]
Parent County[edit | edit source]
Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]
Record Loss[edit | edit source]
There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.
Places/Localities[edit | edit source]
Populated Places[edit | edit source]
Cities[edit | edit source]
Baxter | Brainerd | Breezy Point | Crosby | Crosslake | Cuyuna | Deerwood | Emily | Fifty Lakes | Fort Ripley | Garrison | Ironton | Jenkins | Manhattan Beach | Nisswa | Pequot Lakes | Riverton | Trommald
Townships[edit | edit source]
Bay Lake Township | Center Township | Crow Wing Township | Daggett Brook Township | Deerwood Township | Fairfield Township | Fort Ripley Township | Gail Lake Township | Garrison Township | Ideal Township | Irondale Township | Jenkins Township | Lake Edwards Township | Little Pine Township | Long Lake Township | Maple Grove Township | Mission Township \ Nokay Lake Township | Oak Lawn Township | Pelican Township | Perry Lake Township | Platte Lake Township | Rabbit Lake Township | Roosevelt Township | Ross Lake Township | Sibley Township | St. Mathias Township | Timothy Township | Wolford Township
Unorganized[edit | edit source]
Dean Lake | West Crow Wing
Ghost Town[edit | edit source]
Old Crow Wing
Neighboring Counties[edit | edit source]
Resources[edit | edit source]
Cemeteries[edit | edit source]
|Tombstone Transcriptions Online||Tombstone Transcriptions in Print||List of Cemeteries in the county|
|Findagrave.com||Family History Library||Findagrave.com|
|See Minnesota Cemeteries for more information.|
Census[edit | edit source]
- 1865 - Minnesota State Census, 1865 at FamilySearch — index and images
- 1885 - Minnesota State Census, 1885 at FamilySearch — index and images
- 1905 - Minnesota State Census, 1905 at FamilySearch — index and images
Church[edit | edit source]
Most church records are held by individual churches. For contact information, check a phone directory, such as SearchBug or Dex Knows. Some denominations are gathering their records into a central repository. For more information about these major repositories, see Minnesota Church Records.
Court[edit | edit source]
Emigration and Immigration[edit | edit source]
Land[edit | edit source]
The county register of deeds keeps land records once the land was transferred to private ownership. Abstracts and indexes for these records are generally available at the county courthouse.
Land records for Minnesota are listed in the Place Search of the FamilySearch Catalog under:
MINNESOTA, Crow Wing – LAND AND PROPERTY
Local Histories[edit | edit source]
Local histories are available for Crow Wing County, Minnesota Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Minnesota Local Histories.
Maps[edit | edit source]
Military[edit | edit source]
Civil War[edit | edit source]
- Civil War veteran burials in Crow Wing County. Click here.
Regiments. Service men in Crow Wing County, Minnesota Genealogy served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Crow Wing County, Minnesota Genealogy:
- - 2nd Regiment, Minnesota Infantry, Company I
World War II[edit | edit source]
- 1940-1945 - Minnesota, World War II Draft Registration Cards,1940-1947 at FamilySearch — index and images
Naturalization and Citizenship[edit | edit source]
- 1872-1962 - Minnesota Naturalization Records and Indexes, 1872-1962 at FamilySearch — index
Newspapers[edit | edit source]
Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Crow Wing County, Minnesota Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:
Obituaries[edit | edit source]
Probate[edit | edit source]
Probate records may include, wills, bonds, petitions, accounts, inventories, administrations, orders, decrees, and distributions. They may include the decedent’s date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, etc. See Minnesota Probate Records for additional information.
Online Probate Records
Taxation[edit | edit source]
Minnesota tax records complement land records and can be used in place of censuses before 1820 or to supplement the years between censuses. Because only persons who owned taxable property were listed, many residents were not included in tax lists. There may also be gaps of several years in the tax records of some counties. For more information, see the wiki page Minnesota Taxation.
Vital Records[edit | edit source]
A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Minnesota State Registrar of Vital Records, the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred], order electronically online ($) or download an application for Minnesota Birth Certificate and Death Certificates Applications to mail.
Birth[edit | edit source]
Marriage[edit | edit source]
Death[edit | edit source]
- 1850-2001 - Minnesota, County Deaths, 1850-2001 at FamilySearch — index and images
- 1887-2001 - Minnesota Deaths, 1887-2001 at FamilySearch — index and images
Societies and Libraries[edit | edit source]
- Crow Wing County Historical Society and Museum
PO Box 722
320 Laurel Street
Brainerd, MN 56401-0722
- Crow Wing County Genealogical Society
2103 Graydon Ave
Brainerd, MN 56401-4516
- Crosslake Area Historical Society
PO Box 134
Crosslake, MN 56442-0134
Phone: 218 692-4836
- Cuyuna Iron Range Heritage Network and Soo Line Depot Museum
PO Box 272
Crosby, MN 56441
- Cuyuna Range Historical Society
PO Box 128
101 1st Street NE
Crosby, MN 56441
- Central Minnesota Historical Center
St. Cloud State University
720 4th Avenue South
St. Cloud, MN 56301-4498
Family History Centers[edit | edit source]
Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes.
- For current information about a center near you, go to the Family History Center Map
Websites[edit | edit source]
References[edit | edit source]
- Wikipedia contributors, "Crow Wing County, Minnesota" in https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Crow_Wing_County,_Minnesota accessed 8 Nov 2018
- Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Crow Wing County, Minnesota. Page 362-370 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 362-365.
- Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Crow Wing County, Minnesota page 363, At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
To access available information, first log into FamilySearch.