Cross Stone, Yorkshire Genealogy
Guide to Cross Stone, Yorkshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Cross Stone, Yorkshire|
|Poor Law Union||Halifax|
|Parish registers: 1678|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1813|
|Diocese||Pre-1836 - York; Post-1835 - Ripon|
|Probate Court||Exchequer and Prerogative Courts of the Archbishop of York|
|Location of Archive|
|Yorkshire Record Office|
Parish History[edit | edit source]
CROSSTONE,a chapelry, in the parish and union of Halifax, wapentake of Morley, W. riding of York, 11½ miles (W.) from Halifax; containing 11,685 inhabitants. 
CROSSTONE, Cross-Stone, or Croston, a village, and a chapelry in Halifax parish, W. R. Yorkshire. The village is in Stansfield township, on the west border of the county; stands near Eastwood r. station, and 8½ miles W of Halifax; and had anciently a stone cross. The chapelry includes the village, and is more extensive than the township. There are three dissenting chapels.
Resources[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Registration District Todmorden
Church records[edit | edit source]
Online data content from chapelry registers of Cross Stone exists at some of the following websites and for the specified ranges of years:
|AC = Ancestry - (£)|
|FS = FamilySearch.org|
|JOIN = JoinerMarriageIndex.co.uk - (£)|
|CROSS STONE PARISH (1675) Online Records|
|HALIFAX ST JOHN THE BAPTIST PARISH (1538) Online Records|
For a full list of all those chapels surrounding Croos Stone and comprising the whole ancient parish of Halifax to which it was attached, be certain to see "Church Records" on the HALIFAX page.
The original Chapel (parish) registers are found at the West Yorkshire Record Office, Wakefield, Yorkshire, commencing in the year 1675. The FHL does not possess copies of these prior to 1813 (BTs).
To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.
Parish registers for Heptonstall, 1593-1909 see Heptonstall, Yorkshire The chapelry of Cross Stone is included in Heptonstall registers.
There is a known issue England Vital Records Index (FamilySearch Historical Records) England Marriages 1538-1973 England EASy incorrect source information which has "West Yorkshire" marriage place entry and should contain parish or chapelry place Indexing batch numbers M10907-5 and M10907-6 are affected for this parish and Heptonstall, Yorkshire Baptisms, 1851-1904; Marriages, 1754-1820; Marriage banns, 1754-1765. FHL BRITISH Film 1450490 & Marriages, 1820-1872. FHL BRITISH Film 1450491
Census records[edit | edit source]
| This section requires expansion with:
any unique information, such as the census for X year was destroyed.
Poor Law Unions
[edit | edit source]
Probate records[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Yorkshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Websites[edit | edit source]
References[edit | edit source]
- Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 733-737. Date accessed: 14 November 2013.
- John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72) Adapted; Date accessed: 23 April 2013.
- 'West Yorkshire, England, Baptisms, Marriages and Burials, 1512-1812,' Ancestry, accessed 12 May 2014.