Cropredy, Oxfordshire Genealogy
Guide to Cropredy, Oxfordshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Hundred||Banbury; Bloxham; Kington|
|Poor Law Union||Banbury|
|Parish registers: 1538|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1605-1617; 1660|
|Probate Court||Court of the Peculiar of Banbury; Court of the Peculiar of Aylesbury|
|Location of Archive|
|Oxfordshire Record Office|
CROPREDY (St. Mary), a parish, in the union, and chiefly in the hundred, of Banbury, but partly in the hundred of Bloxham, county of Oxford, and partly in the Burton-Dasset division of the hundred of Kington, S. division of the county of Warwick, 4 miles (N. by E.) from Banbury; comprising the chapelries of Claydon, Wardington, and Mollington, and the township of Bourton. There are chapels of ease at Claydon, Mollington, and Wardington; and places of worship for Independents and Wesleyans. 
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Cropredy, Oxfordshire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|OFHS = Oxfordshire Family History Society - (£). Results delivered by email.|
|Cropredy, Oxfordshire Genealogy Online Parish Records|
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Oxfordshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.