Crook, Durham Genealogy
Guide to Crook, Durham family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
Crook Co Durham St Catherine
|Poor Law Union||Auckland|
|Parish registers: 1843|
|Bishop's Transcripts: None|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop of Durham (Episcopal Consistory)|
|Location of Archive|
|Durham Record Office|
Parish History[edit | edit source]
CROOK, with Billy-Row, a township, in the parish of Brancepeth, union of Auckland, NW division of Darlington ward, S division of the county of Durham.
Additional information: Crook St. Catherine was created in 1845 from the parish of Brancepeth, Durham St. Brandon. Parts of this parish became part of these parishes: Stanley [near Crook] St. Thomas Apostle and Martyr (1872); Sunnybrow St. John (1889) St. Catherine’s Church was built in 1841–3. In 1845 Crook was set up as a separate parish (originally as a parochial chapelry within the parish of Brancepeth, but by 1859 as a completely separate parish). .
Resources[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Church records[edit | edit source]
Crook parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|Crook Online Parish Records|
|FS Marr Img||1594-1815|
|FS Catalog PRs|
To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.
Records are also available at the Durham County Record Office.
Non Conformist Churches[edit | edit source]
- Methodist New Connexion
- Primitive Methodist
- The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints
- Wesleyan Methodist
Crook Our Lady Immaculate and St. Cuthbert Roman Catholic Church Parish Registers for the period 1853-1981 are deposited at Durham County Record Office, County Hall. Durham, DH1 5UL (EP/Cro 1).
Census records[edit | edit source]
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]
Probate records[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Durham Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Websites[edit | edit source]
Crook (see Brancepeth) on GENUKI
References[edit | edit source]
- Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848), pp. 729-733. Adapted. Date accessed: 12 December 2013.
- Searching Parish Records online (Durham) - The Following Parishes are Available at TheGenealogist, ParishRegister.co.uk, accessed 23 April 2019.
Add any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above.