Cromwell, Nottinghamshire Genealogy
Guide to Cromwell, Nottinghamshire ancestry, family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census, birth, marriage and death records.
Cromwell St+Giles Nottinghamshire
|Poor Law Union||Southwell|
|Parish registers: 1650|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1626|
|Probate Court||Exchequer and Prerogative Courts of the Archbishop of York|
|Location of Archive|
|Nottinghamshire Record Office|
CROMWELL (St. Giles), a parish, in the union of Southwell, N. division of the wapentake of Thurgarton, S. division of the county of Nottingham, 5¼ miles (N.) from Newark. 
Cromwell St Giles is an Ancient Parish; the church dates from the 13th century and was partly restored by Ewan Christian 1873-1876 and has been designated a grade I listed building by English Heritage . British listed building
Cromwell is one of only 4 Thankful Villages in Nottinghamshire with no fatalities in the 1914-1918 conflict.
The rectory and former Dower House is now home to the Vina Cooke Doll Museum and access to the church is via key held at the Museum.Doll Museum
Cromwell is adjacent to the A1 and five miles north of Newark Wikipedia
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Cromwell, Nottinghamshire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|FMP = Nottinghamshire Parish Records (findmypast) - (£)|
|PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) - (£)|
|CROMWELL PARISH Online Records|
Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Cromwell
Transcribed by Bailey, Brian. Cromwell Church Warden Accounts 1729-1771. Only entries containing names have been transcribed, and they are in date order. The original available at Nottinghamshire Archives Ref. PR 1785, and also in the Nottinghamshire Family History Soc. Magazine, vol. 121, pages 62-72. FHL Ref 942.52 D25n
Cromwell Monumental Inscriptions. An alphabetical listing by surname, given name, date of death, and sometimes showing relationship, and age - transcription of the Cromwell Gravestones, both inside and outside the Church, dated from 1717. Transcription in the Nottinghamshire Family History Society Magazine, vol. 18, pages 23-28, Family History Library Ref. 942.52 D25n
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Transcribed by Bailey, Bryan, Certificates for Using Hair Powder Issued 1795-1978. For each Nottinghamshire Parish, gives the Cerificate no. date, surname, given name, and description. Article in the Nottinghamshire Family History Society Magazine, vol.127, page 1-38, Family History Library Ref. 942.52 D25n - the original is at Nottinghamshire Archives Ref QDT 1/1-4.
Poor Law Unions
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Nottinghamshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
| This section requires expansion with:
any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above..